Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,464 ratings
7,554 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

ML
Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn to access Web Data from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of using Python to Access Web Data.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 7,443 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Petrov A Y

Jul 29, 2016

I've learnt a lot of new. I've discovered such things as XML and JSON for myself. I hope this course become a great beginning for my further studying of computer science. Thanks to Dr. Chuck and his comtades.

By Raunaq K

Dec 5, 2015

Great course!

I mainly loved it because it does leave some things for the learner to be figured out and does not spoon feed the answers to the assignments!

The videos are really fun to watch as well!

Thank you!

By Freddy R

Dec 3, 2015

I am glad.. this is a second Python course with Dr. Chuck and University of Michigan. The courses has been very useful and i have applied it in another programs that use python for to develop scripts.

Thanks..

By Hari T

Sep 23, 2021

I love this course. I did some coding before from YouTube. Every chapter has bonus videos which connects us to the programmers who did real stuff. It is important to know people behind who built those stuff.

By Jennifer Z

Feb 26, 2021

Again, another outstanding, easy to understand and memorable course in this series. I even took a 9 month break before finishing the final week and was amazed at how much I remembered. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

By César A P C

Jul 21, 2020

It's a very great course and Dr. Chuck is a terrific profesor! He explains the content of the course in a very clear way and the assignments really help to completely understand what he teaches in the class.

By Yogyata R

May 15, 2020

This was an interesting course , although I took lot of time to understand the things but later found them really usefull. Adding this to I came across API's and JSON which was bonus for me.

Thanks Coursera!

By Шарипов М М

Apr 2, 2020

Another great course from Dr.Chuck, which explains things with great detailing and in interesting way. Thanks a lot for this great lessons, got some useful knowledge about using Python in Web Data accessing.

By Hiew Y L

Dec 22, 2019

The UM online course ‘’Using Python to Access Web Data' is awesome and valuable. Thus I aspire to complete the course, titled: “Using Databases with Python” - “(4 of 5) Python for Everybody Specialization” .

By fedebenavides

Sep 25, 2019

I would've loved some assignment that had to do with the use of OAuth and a popular API such as Twitter or Spotify or whatever. Still a great course thanks a lot to Professor Severance he is a GREAT teacher.

By James L

Jan 12, 2018

"Using Python to Access Web Data" required more time and study than the previous two Python courses taught by Dr. Chuck, but it was worth it to see some more complex, real-world applications of the language.

By 柴杭莹

Aug 16, 2016

Excellent course and excellent teacher.

The course is well organized that though it's a bit rough at the beginning , once you get into the mindset the video lectures and assignments come together very easily.

By Rodrigo F

Jun 28, 2016

Simplemente me encanta como está diseñado el curso. Tiene una mezcla perfecta entre contenido, dinamismo, evaluación y videos extras que el Dr. Chuck entrevista a personalidades relevantes de todo el mundo!!

By Markus N

Nov 18, 2015

I liked the course a lot! What I could wish for is additional smaller assignments that test parts of the learnt theory as well as the current assignments. This would make the learning process more intuitive.

By Gamze M

Dec 29, 2020

Dr. Chuck is a great teacher. He makes it really easy to understand the complicated parts. He loves what he does and you can feel it while you are taking his courses.

I will continue to attend his courses.

By Prakhar k

Aug 29, 2020

Thanks for availing this course.

This course really helped me to learn new things and as a studying engineer it really helped my academics to learn web information exchange , retrieval and analyse new stuff.

By Makarand D

May 15, 2020

This is an excellent course. it teaches you and shows you how easily one can access data from the web using Python. The code samples and exercises show how you can retrieve web data in xml and json formats.

By Disha V K

Apr 25, 2020

The couse content was somewhat new to me like the JSON that I enjoyed much with simplicity of Python.

The topic like XML and XML schema were already known but there was a new touch given to them with Python.

By ASHWINI A

Jan 28, 2019

I learn't many things from this course, this course is for those people who want to know the real world application of python and how easy python makes everything and thus python increases your productivity

By Craig K

Oct 24, 2016

Getting a little more difficult but you have the tools to do it. Make sure to reference previous classes/chapters. Class is good in that it makes you use what you've already learned to solve new problems.

By Luis A G

Aug 26, 2016

Great course, especially for those already knowing some coding, to get a full dive into accessing the most common web data formats. Dr. Chuck's lectures are funny and really out of the usual coding classes.

By Hamsa G

Jul 5, 2020

There were few assignments i had to struggle with, but thanks to the staff for helping me out with cues, which pushes you to think through and find out solutions by watching the videos over and over again.

By Richard Y C

May 11, 2020

a lot of effort made to learn from this course to excess the data outside the computer. Socket, HTTP, XML and JSON are all new to me before, but now they already become my knowledge basis for data science.

By Rohan S

Mar 1, 2019

I am really happy after completing this course. Now I have Three Python course certificates from coursera in my CV. This course is an advance course in Python and tell you particularly about web scrapping.

By Nicolai L v d L

Oct 12, 2018

Extremely well taught course with great assignments that are also set-up and explained in detail. Learned so much in this course and am very excited to continue with the next course in this specialisation.