Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
40,808 ratings
7,422 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

ML
Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn to access Web Data from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of using Python to Access Web Data.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 7,284 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Daniel B

Dec 16, 2015

Excellent introduction to accesing and manipulating data from the web or other sources. Light load of lectures and easy assignments it can be completed in a few hours and allows you to wrestle further complexities on your own.

By Nikhil C

May 7, 2020

The web scraping algorithms and coding explanation is really good and helped me with my college course work. The way Dr. chuck explains everything so effortlessly is very commendable. I have understood his lectures very well.

By David A S S

Sep 5, 2016

Great course to get involved in how Python can resolve web problems like accessing data, logging and other stuff, it's a very complete course that teaches you the essentials of managing web browsering and service with python.

By Ronald L

Dec 17, 2015

this course is really hands-on and immediately usable in (beginners) projects. Dr. Chuck's enthousiasm and 'simple but effective' way of teaching made me feel a bit like a programmer after 3 courses. Currently doing course 4!

By Utkarsh P

Aug 9, 2020

An amazing step into the intermediate python world. The adrenaline filled submission by the end of this course makes me want to keep coming back for more.

Excellent instructor, Insightful bonus content and a complete package.

By Ravi K V

Mar 28, 2020

All the fundamentals of using Python to Access Web Data is well explained with great examples. With additional reading and research, this course is really best for basic students of Python. Thank you for the class, Dr Chuck.

By Abhijeet G

Dec 14, 2019

It has been an amazing learning experience in this course with Dr. Chuck. Learnt a lot about writing programs using socket, api's, reading json, xml file. Very nicely taught and very curated content and simple to understand.

By Siyuan F

May 10, 2019

For me, the sample code given in each assignment discloses too much information. It is quite easy to twist just a little bit of the code in order to complete the assignment. I would prefer to have more difficult assignments.

By Chao Z

Jan 11, 2016

Great course. The instructor is very senior, and makes the knowledge very clear and ready to understand. Further than that, he also shares a lot of hints that you can follow to dig deeper. I love this kind of teaching style.

By Oscar F

Jan 25, 2021

Me gustó ya que cuando me inscribí no pensé que fuera a familiarizarme tanto con los formatos que usan las páginas web para comunicarse como lo son JSON y XML y como usar Python para extraer información de dichos lenguajes.

By Abhishek P

Jul 1, 2020

this is one of the best course available the coursera, sir Charles Russell was amazing on teaching all the stuff, if you want get the magical power to access data with the help of python, then go for it through this course.

By Juan L M

Jan 11, 2021

Realemente muito bom o conteúdo, eu estou começando com programação agora e essa parte de acessar dados web não é tão natural, mas com toda a explicação, ficou bem mais fácil entender como a funciona trasferência de dados.

By Siddharth T S

Nov 27, 2020

Beautiful course, Dr. Charles explains web files and web services and APIs really well, and the assignments are challenging enough to provide course-takers with a sense of achievement at having completed them successfully,

By Saptashwa B

May 16, 2020

Fantastic course to review some of the basic/intermediate python syntax to access web data. The concepts discussed regarding serialization tools like XML, JSON and API are very important and as always Dr. Chuck is awesome.

By Geeth S

May 11, 2020

It was the most challenging course that i have faced until now.Especially the week 6.The assignments were pretty tough and demanded my full attention and concentration.Passing this course is a real accomplishment for me :)

By Shlok S A

Apr 23, 2020

Great Course for introduction to using python to access web data. Although the course gets a little heavier here for non-computer science backgrounds, the assignments can be completed with a little effort and understanding

By Alvaro A

Dec 4, 2015

So far i haven't found a professor such as Dr Chuck who via his videos makes it both entertaining and engaging to learn about programming as well as technology in general, i highly recommend his courses for any beginner!

By Tatiana B

Nov 20, 2018

Really liked the course and Dr. Chuck - he is amazing ! cool to know a bit about how google is built up and how googlemaps work. I liked it a lot ! Super glad i signed up, only one course left - data visualization!

=^.^=

By Stefano G

Aug 15, 2018

Thank you, prof. Charles Severance.

You have made complex concepts simple and easy to understand. You have the great merit of presenting the essential parts of the subject, as Douglas Crockford teaches: "The Good Parts".

By Natalia L

Jan 20, 2017

Easy to understand yet very useful course. Each module starts with the basics making it look easy. The assignments are very useful and lets you play with the code to do more than what is asked. Really enjoyed this course!

By Marjan A

Dec 28, 2016

The best instructor I had my entire life. I have taken numerous Python courses BUT Dr. Chuck just blows away any other courses available anywhere with his quality, simplicity and clarity of teaching. His style is UNIQUE.

By Akshay L A

Nov 3, 2015

Really amazing Teacher. Breaks down the concept so well even noobs can understand it.

Loved the course :) If you are an intermediate programmer still doing command line input output, you should definitely take this course.

By Giannis M

Jan 11, 2021

It is much more confusing than the previous courses, the asignments are a bit messy and I had to turn for help in the forums. But overall I learned a lot and I definetely recommend it, as dr Chuck is an excellent teacher

By Michael D

Dec 12, 2020

This class was excellent, but I had to take it two times to feel like I was approaching understanding what was going on. Maybe a few more lessons to break the information up a bit more. Overall, great. Thanks, Dr. Chuck.

By Shivam K

Jul 14, 2020

Great Course for clearing the basics of web scrapping. Its a must for beginners course. After completing this course you can clear your basics and can go for some other more detailed course on Web scrapping using python.