Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
42,278 ratings
7,715 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content

(256 Reviews)

Practical assignments

(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

DA

Apr 23, 2020

Great course. The lectures are clear and thorough. The assignments are challenging yet doable. The only thing I would like is to see more assignments to get more practice with the techniques learned.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 7,609 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By HAN L

Nov 1, 2016

I love the course soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much! Just get a little confused when doing assignment 5, the sample seems from week 6. Maybe this can be fixed to enable a better understanding.

By amar c

Aug 10, 2016

Very tidy and step by step course. Dr. Chuck has a great sense of humour, it wants you to keep wanting more. The bonus videos with all the great inventors of the languages is like cherry on cake.

By kyle

Feb 9, 2016

In this course you really start using what you learned in the first courses. Dr. Chuck gives you just enough to get you started, but leaves enough out that the homework can still be a challenge.

By Brady R

Jan 2, 2016

I had a little bit of knowledge about Python coding before taking these courses, but it was very insightful and helpful in my quest to learn more and helped instill the things I did already know.

By alexander n

Apr 28, 2020

Just one criticism: not a word about classes nor modules. «Just use this magic». Anyway it's really good course, thank you Dr. Chuck! Waiting for Office Hours in Moscow, Russia, you are welcome!

By Jonathan S

Jun 11, 2016

Dr. Chuck seems really passionate about both teaching Python and giving students a understanding of the role Python fills in the world of computer science. Great course for beginner programmers.

By abhisek

Jan 16, 2016

This course is awesome. Dr. Chuck's "super" explanation and lectures make it easier to understand stuff. Initially, I wanted to review a couple of videos but ended up completing all assignments.

By Shraddha S

Apr 24, 2020

Simply amazing. The instructor is just superb. He starts from the basics and goes in depth. Learnt a lot through these course. I would recommend everyone to take this course ! Happy learning ☺️

By Rohit K

Jun 2, 2018

this is the best course to access webpage gave us some brief information on xml and json that is the beauty of this course. thanks coursera and thanks dr. chuck for giving me this opportunities

By Penmetsa S D

Jan 28, 2017

To know more about the wonders of Python Language and its related concepts in the web world, this is the course that one can take. Thanks to all who made this specialization available to us :-)

By Daniel L V F

Nov 27, 2016

Very good explained I enjoyed the lessons and the exercises, I ran into some issues but i was able to finish all my assignments by reading the comments at the forum. Dr Chuck is a great teacher

By Dana M

Dec 5, 2015

This is the third course I have taken from Dr. Chuck, and I have loved them all. His teaching style matches my learning style and I find Python to be an easy to learn and easy to use language.

By Musab A

Dec 29, 2021

Greetings,

thank you very much, the courcse was useful and exiteing, easy to learn and useful projects.

Appreciate the instructor and thank you coursera for this course.

Best regards.

Musab O.Agha

By Siddharth B

Sep 30, 2020

I did not know anything about XML or JSON but feel amazing after this course. I would recommend this all dummies like me to take this course and remove the fear of programming out of yourself.

By Shubham K

Jun 25, 2020

One of the best python course out there. This course has helped me immensely in building up concepts of python which I can use in real life. Thank you so much Dr.Chuck for this amazing course.

By Hemanth S

Apr 11, 2020

Dr Chuck is awesome, I am an FCCA (chartered accountant in England) and I managed to complete this by following his video lessons you can imagine how powerful and user friendly this course is.

By sarish b

Jul 24, 2018

This is a good course I have Learned a lot of new thing like API json ets etc..Overall this is a great course the videos are awesome and instructor is friendly so the magic of learning is here

By Natália M S d C

Apr 11, 2018

The dynamic of this course helps to keep one motivated. The lectures are very well explained and most of the exercises are challenging for those that are learning the topic for the first time.

By Aminur R A

Jul 12, 2020

Alhamdulillah, I'm lucky to be introduced to it. I'm really curious to do some interesting work, particularly on web access strategy.

One can say, it's a handicraft with web access strategies.

By Margarita M

May 25, 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course. Assignments are very useful and practical. E.g. I know how to import data from WEB (html, xml, JSON) and know how to use regular expression in Python code.

By Sumanth L

Mar 23, 2019

I will only able to accurately grasp/thank the entirety of Dr Chuck n co's help in my journey of becoming a Data Scientist a few months/years from now as I mature in my thinking and learning.

By Taha R

Dec 28, 2017

Thank you Dr. Chuck! I have always wanted to learn Python well, but never had the chance. You make learning Python accessible yet also challenging. Its the perfect level of difficulty for me!

By Eike K

Dec 29, 2016

I have had little experience writing code, but wanted to write a little program to interface with a Web API. This course was really good to teach me the basics of API interfacing with python.

By Pratik K

Jun 10, 2016

This is one of the Best intermediate python course you would find out there. Being taught by a professor from a reputed University, you could blindly enroll. It mainly focuses on Web scraping

By Pertti T

Jan 4, 2016

Dr. Chuck makes learning and using Python to 'non-trivial' Web -access tasks so easy I would not have believed is possible. This course gives kick-start for your own attempts to conquer Web.