Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
42,408 ratings

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content

(256 Reviews)

Practical assignments

(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB

Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 7,630 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Zisis V

Nov 22, 2016

The course is generally great and Dr. Charles' explanations of the taught material are plaint and understandable. Hope some day to see all the specialization teaching Python 3.x version.

By Moshe E

Apr 17, 2016

This course was very interesting to see the connection between Python and web applications. Learning about Browser,HTML, XML Json & API is very practical. Great Course and very useful.

By Mauro R

Jul 13, 2021

​It is an excellent course, with very practical exercises, that make me understand all the possibilities that we have with Python and this motivates me to continue. Thank you very much!

By Joe

Oct 10, 2016

Another excellent course, not so much hand holding as previous courses but more than enough guidance to get you through it with minimal pain. Genuinely impressed with the course overall!

By Mario D

Mar 2, 2016

Excellent way to step into the Python world!! Don't esitate join this course. But be aware that this is the third and you have to start from the first course (Programming for everybody).

By Lyle D

Nov 1, 2015

Excellent overview of the how to use the web as your data source for Python scripts rather than files on your computer. Very understandable! Thanks Dr. Chuck you deserve a shrubbery!

By Uday S

Jan 27, 2020

Best course, Professor will pick you from bottom to top and now i realize that why 1st two course of this specialization are important, i can easily correlate my past knowledge with it.

By Darío A A

Nov 1, 2016

Excelente curso. Lo recomiendo a todo aquel con conocimientos básicos de Python que quiera profundizar en los conceptos fundamentales del desarrollo de aplicaciones web y web scraping.

By Calvin H

Nov 2, 2015

Very well done. Examples and explanations were clear. Assignments were focused and achieved their intended goals. Highly recommended for those who want to use Python to access web data.

By Julieta F

Mar 21, 2021

This is a great course. Dr. Chuck is a great instructor. He gives clear and engaging explanations. His classes are fun and easy to understand. Many examples and exercises are provided.

By Pablo V M

Jan 26, 2021

it was really important the worked excersices examples to better understand, however in the exercises it included some stuff wasnt well explained, like the "parms" in the last exercise

By venu g g

Sep 22, 2020

simple and easy to know about the topic of Regular Expressions to json and GeoJSON API and other things in the course. the way of teaching the things in a simpler way, I liked the most

By Karri A

Jun 24, 2020

This course is somewhat difficult with respect to course 1 and course 2

But after taking this course my view on data transmission and data representation in Web has completely changed.

I

By Luis T

Jan 25, 2020

Well organised and comprehensive coverage. The slides and explications are kept as simple as possible, but yet do not spare out important details - a balance that is hard to achieve.

By Arnab M

Dec 21, 2019

Excellent course. Interesting contents. Good instructor, intuitive design, fun interviews. Overall interesting. But people should complete the previous two courses before starting this

By Nancy M

Jan 14, 2019

I like this course--with the video lectures and the text book, it feels like a real class! The forums are pretty useful too, especially when having the same troubles as other students.

By Kalob T

Oct 1, 2018

What an amazing course. This teaches you more than "just a website", it teaches you the tech behind it all, where it came from, how it works, how it relates to python and so much more.

By Ying R

Nov 22, 2015

This is the second class I have taken with professor Charles Severance on Coursera. Love the flexible schedule and clear lectures/assignments. Thanks a lot professor Charles Severance.

By Luiz B

Jun 23, 2022

Great course, I love the practical examples with python within the videos and also how coding has been taught in a simple and understandable way throughout this entire course. Thanks

By Louis M A A

Jan 15, 2021

This is a very great course. Dr. Chuch has demystified a lot of python concepts that I have spent a lot of time trying to figure out. It is the greatest course that I have ever taken.

By Anuj K

Nov 4, 2020

The Course really helped me understanding networking and how can we use the web services to create our own services and applications. Best programming course ever. Thank you Charles!

By CESAR A L C

Oct 5, 2020

Requieres dedicarle tiempo y total atención, pues hay algunas partes que no son tan triviales. Fuera de eso, recomiendo este curso al 100 para introducirte al uso de Python en la web.

By KANDULA K R

Jul 13, 2020

Its an amazing course to learn how to access web data using python. I learned things which were difficult to me before but now i am able to think and solve it. thanks for this course.

By Arman H

Oct 16, 2021

Another great course in the PY4E specialization. It gave me the confidence to use python to access data over the network. On a side note, I choose JSON over XML any day of the week!!

By Seth J

Sep 23, 2020

It begins to become a little challenging, but the information is very easy to digest and the professor is great. Could use maybe a tad more practice projects, but no real complaints.