Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
42,408 ratings

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content

(256 Reviews)

Practical assignments

(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB

Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 7,630 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Yifan H

Jul 5, 2020

This course is amazing in general and I've learned a lot of useful skills. The content is a bit difficult so that you need to work really hard on reading the supplementary documents.

By Arnold A

Mar 20, 2016

It was an opening-mind course for me. I rated 5 stars because it helped me in my work place. So it is not just a good-to-know course, but actually it also built up your competencies.

By 陈泽远

May 28, 2021

The coursera is a little difficult for me, My English is not good. I learned a lot from this course,and I used the forum to get teaching staff's help,Thanks for those who helped me!

By Anupam B

Aug 15, 2020

Immensely useful course. It's kind of engrossing for me as I proceed with every course on Python that is being offered by UM and especially when you have Dr.Chuck as your professor.

By Mert D

Jan 20, 2019

Awesome course! I have learned very useful information about how to use python with web technologies, and how to use XML, JSON technologies. I got a good knowledge of API s also!

By Deniz C

Feb 7, 2017

I enjoyed the course very much. One can start the course before the formal date, which is a very good option for the people, who does not have much time. Thanks a lot for your work.

By Itai S

Nov 17, 2015

The Course is excellent. It gives a good overall view on many important aspects. The Assignments are too easy while giving the correct building blocks for writing your own programs.

By Daniil T

May 11, 2022

T​his course is a part of "Python Specialization" from Michigan State University with Dr.Chuck. As always, it's very well structed and delivered in clear and understandable manner.

By Karan B

Jun 19, 2019

I found this course very informative and practical. As a beginner level programmer, it truly expanded my knowledge about web services, APIs, and how to access web data using python

By runner l

Mar 11, 2017

nice course for intermediate user. It would be better if there is some assignment (maybe only a few) have more challenging questions which cannot found much hints in lecture notes.

By Konstantin G

Jun 30, 2020

Not bad for understanding how to receive data from different datasets. Just for understanding, without deep learning. But you can get feed for your brain for continuous education

By Eduardo R

May 16, 2020

Another excellent course in the Python for Everybody series, strongly recommended! Instructor Dr. Prof. Charles Severance is great and I plan on doing more courses on the subject.

By kiran v

May 31, 2019

Instructor was very good in his presentation. After taking this i can safely say i have really learnt something about accessing web data in python. I got a new rush of confidence.

By Knut J

Jan 31, 2016

Like all the courses by Dr. Chuck this course is very successful at explaining complicated concepts in understandable language and help you to use your new knowledge in real life.

By Sebastian J

May 30, 2020

Awesome course especially for those who have completed the first two courses in the specialization and have fully understood it. The instructor is really good at what he's doing.

By Oluwapelumi S

Apr 29, 2020

The course is a good course. The assignments were very challenging and the instructor is also a very good one. I hope to take more MOOCs from him as I progress. Thanks Dr. Chuck!

By Gregory C

Jul 2, 2017

Instructional videos very clear and helpful. Course is well thought through, well organized, and well maintained. I will definitely be taking more courses from this instructor.

By Sophia S

Mar 31, 2016

This is a very good course. It is very well-explained and you feel that you finally start programming FOR REAL. I recommend it 100% for anyone who is trying to start programming!

By Yilin L

Mar 4, 2016

Very helpful if you want to learn how to deal with web data using Python. Dr. Chuck explains really well. Homeworks keep simple and focuses on the important concepts. Five stars!

By praveen

Dec 10, 2015

Awesome Course. Learnt a lot on how to use Google API's. Dont have knowledge on the JSON or XML but this gave me a brief intro of everything i need. Big Thanks to Professorrrr!!!

By nasreddine H

Dec 5, 2015

Fantastic Dr. Chuck course - by far the most motivating course I went thru on coursera.

Well do to Chuck and Congratulation to your (behind the curtains) team for their work too.

By João G

Apr 20, 2021

Nice content!

I have experience with others languages so I didn't find difficult but I think completely beginners will have a hard time to complete these assessments. Good luck.

By Gabriel M

Sep 14, 2020

Un excelente curso para familiarizarse con la forma de interactuar con datos desde la web, de una manera simple pero poderosa para lograr manejar datos desde un ambiente externo

By Ramakrishnan P V

Jul 23, 2020

This is definitely a very good course,but as the course gets into JSON,API ,it gets little difficult to totally understand these topics,though the course as a whole is very good

By Aleatha F

Mar 16, 2019

Really enjoyed this course. I found the 'worked' example videos to be excellent. They were thoroughly explained, so I was able to understand what every line of code was doing.