Chevron Left
Back to Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
178,786 ratings
42,825 reviews

About the Course

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality instructor
(1484 Reviews)
Introductory course
(4203 Reviews)

Top reviews

CN
Sep 25, 2020

Extremely basic but Dr. Chuck is so interesting that you never get bored. You can pass the course in a few days with minimum or even no programming knowledge. It's a good starting point for beginners.

KK
Jun 26, 2020

Great introduction to Python and programming as a whole. Everything is broken down making it easy to understand. Had zero programming experience before and this class made it easy and fun to get into.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 10,000 Reviews for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

By Alfredo H

Nov 18, 2017

Amazing and easy to understand. I really enjoyed the methodology and even laughed at some classes. The professor explains everything in a thorough manner, and the teaching staff is always out there to help you as well. It gets even easier to learn if you also try to answer your questions through other means: google, the Python website, the course textbook, etc. I did not have any previous knoledge on any programming language and I surely reccomend this course to anyone willing to learn their way through computer programming.

By Priya s k

Jul 11, 2019

For me the best thing about the course was Professor Chuck's approach towards teaching programming. Although, I have an engineering background, I had always avoided programming related jobs because my computer science teachers had instilled a fear of programming in me. On the contrary, Professor Chuck made learning python a fun experience which really helped me overcome my fear of programming. Thanks to this course, my confidence grew significantly and I was able to delve deeper into more advanced python programming topics.

By Mengdi Z

Apr 10, 2020

Excellent introductory course! The lecturer delivers the course in a progressive way and covers diverse content including the software development background. Some beginners (like me) tend to be easily intimidated by hardcore difficult-to-understand programming languages and lose interest and confidence before even start to write the first line of code. But the ideas proposed by Dr. Severance in the first lesson make me stick to it for a little longer when I am frustrated by having written the wrong code in the assignment.

By jaideep c

Jan 31, 2019

This course was the first actual course for Programming that I understood.

In my college, I had taken classes for C, C++, but never understood.

But in this online course, the way Dr. chuck (Charles Severance) explained and maintained a beautiful connectivity , i never felt i was learning a Programming language.

Infact, he did not just helped to learn the Python basic, but removed my fear about a programming language by clearing the basics/ concepts that any language would use.

Hats off to him for his beautiful, beautiful work.

By Punartha

Dec 8, 2016

Learnt basics of Python programming. This is a fantastic course for anyone who comes from a non programming or non computer science background like me. And Dr Charles is an awesome teacher. He makes learning easy by keeping the course interactive and constantly motivating and encouraging students. I, who was always scared of coding, thoroughly enjoyed this course and would love to continue the next courses by Dr Charles. Thankyou so much Professor for teaching us the easiest and the best way to approach problems/questions.

By Vaishnavi R G

Jul 25, 2020

While registering to curse after recommended by my college I actually thought it could be a typical

course with lectures and tests.. but I was completely wrong! The course was so interesting that I

completed it within a week! Dr. Chuck sure knows how to engage students. It has not only engaging

lectures but also interesting quiz, assignments and office hour videos in which Dr. Chuck lets us

meet our peers. This is a course where learning meets fun :) I highly recommend it to everyone who

wants to learn coding!!

By KARTAVYA Z

Jun 12, 2020

One of the best course I ever had,I have started this course ti boost my knowledge in programming add mainly I want to do ai as my career so I do this course of python and it is the best course for me ,I found many different thing which are very useful in thi ,and as we all know this is a course from the most reputable university and so there professor are remarkably nice and I love teaching with them and get this knowledge, I am satisfied by doing course and it is more good then I expected so no words for this as well

By Adan B

Feb 8, 2016

Hello i am Adan Bae. I am from korea. How are you today!?

This class is very very awesome and useful for me!!!

Because i wanted to learn the Python, but it is not famous language in korea.

So i looked up the class in the MOOC and Coursera

Finally i could meet the Dr. Chuck's class. then i tried to hard to understand his class.

Because i don't have good English skill.

But i did it!! I got it!

Thank you Dr. Chuck and Everyone who made this class alot!!

I really hope to meet you wherever Korea or America.

See you in next class!!

By Herb R

Dec 12, 2018

Dr. Chuck presents the subject matter in an easy to understand way. The overall course design is very well thought out. The video lectures have excellent graphics; the lectures follow the outline of the text book. I particularly valued the ability to reschedule my class; if my job and other activities in life get super demanding, it was very nice to know I had flexibility with this course (although I did not exercise it). I could not be happier with this course. Well Done Dr. Severance and University of Michigan!

By Tanmoy B

Jul 11, 2020

I have always wanted to learn Python and get started towards a new journey in my career. And being a Mechanical Engineer by profession and degree, I always feared whether I would understand programming or not, and I was very confused about where I can start. I am really glad that I chose this particular course, to begin with, and Dr. Chuck Severance is an excellent instructor, and he sort of guided me through all the tiny and granular details of Python in this basic course! I am super excited to start the next phase!

By Thanakrit L

Jul 3, 2020

I personally have no background information about programming. For me, this a great introduction to python. I recommend downloading 'pycharm' to run the script without saving numerous time and try to run it on Terminal (Mac). Or you can use ATOM writer to edit the script but to run it you can either tun it in terminal like what the instructor do to practice or by installing terminal package but for me it doesn't work. In long term it is super annoying to do that. PyCharm is free and also tell you what you did wrong.

By Ken R

Feb 14, 2016

This introductory course to the Python programming language boosted my confidence in my ability to learn programming for data analysis. Without any prior background in programming and just a bit of algebra several years ago in college, I was able to make it through this course fairly easily. The time estimate for each week accurately reflected the amount of time required for me to complete an assignment. After completing this first course in the Specialization, I decided to sign-up for the entire five-course series.

By Iordanis L

Apr 17, 2020

Clear and to the point introduction to Python. I am glad i took this course. It set solid foundations for continuing on the Python path. I must stress out though the fact that one needs to do the exercises to fully appreciate the work the instructor has put in. During the exercises I would recollect on the lecture and that made it easier to complete the work. For me reading a book alone would not have cut it. I needed Dr. Chuck to explain it the way he did. Looking forward to the second class of the specialization.

By Yogi H C

Oct 28, 2020

Dr Chuck is one of the best lecturer you could get to teach you Python. He truly understands what beginners need to help them understand the subject better. The class material is so easy to access and easy to understand. Every explanation needed is on the book they curated for this course. And that is one of the signs that they are really put a lot of effort to ease our learning experience. Certainly will taking the next course for Python. Thank you Michigan University, dr. Chuck and teams who curated this course.

By Abhishek T

Jun 27, 2020

This is the first ever programming course for me .It is my good fortune that I started with Python, that many regard as good language to begin with and most importantly the instructor and content of this course, is top class. The way Dr. Charles Severance takes you through this course as to how someone will teach you to walk for the first time, holding your fingers. Some may like this approach, some may not , but for a person like myself who is totally alien to the world of programming, this was the best approach.

By Patricia Z

Jan 23, 2019

Loved the pace and how the lessons were broken down. The buildup from one lesson to another was really good and super great for beginners. I also love how the professor explains a lot of things in a very friendly manner (i.e. not condescending, not too advanced, etc.). The last exercise challenged me quite a bit, but looking through forums really helped. At the end of the day, it at least prepares you on how to deal with getting frustrated with code that doesn't work. Can't wait to get started on the next courses!

By Daria K

Jun 3, 2020

Very very good explonation about everything. I liked a lot, that in the first section there is an explanation about hard parts of computer. I think for everyone, who starts coding, it is very important to have this understanding.

Charles explaines everything so good and so easy to understand, I could not wish for something better. For me, as a beginner, this course was very helpful and gave me the feeling, what is it like to code with Python. Looking forward to other parts of Python for Everybody Specialization.

By Alejandro M

Oct 3, 2015

Best course of Python I've taken so far. Tried with MITx's Intro to Computer Science and learnpythonthehardway.org, without success. The learning curve was too steep. This one, on the other hand, progresses slowly and easily, but in the end, after a month or two you find yourself writing short programs in Python, which actually work. Won't make you an expert, but it will help you to understand the general logic of the language, and start coding for real. Took me about a month to finish it. I highly recommend it.

By Karan S

Jan 9, 2020

I have to say, this is the best course that is available(according to my research) in any of the online platforms. It has a well-defined structure and everything is so beginner-friendly. The teacher, Professor Charles Severance, amazing guy. When he is teaching, it's like he is talking to you directly and not to a camera. The introduction is so good that it makes you comfortable with the course easily. So, if you are looking to learn Python language and are confused about where to start from, this is the place.

By Katarzyna S

Dec 6, 2015

This course is my first encouter with programming and I really enjoy it. The lecturer's way of explanation is very clear and simple. I did not expect to become so interested in it, however, learning Python turned out to be a fresh and great experience. Thanks to Dr Chuck it is real fun to learn Python. You can get through this course even if you think you are not very good at mathemathics (personal experience). I recommend this course to everybody who is interested in beginning their adventure with programming.

By Aakriti S

Aug 26, 2017

A great introduction to basic programming concepts and Python language. The instructor, Dr Chuck, is really good and explains the concepts in a manner easy to understand even for beginners. For me, personally, the bonus material was the most interesting with the expert interviews (look out for the talk with the inventor of Python). The short videos of other Coursera students meeting Dr Chuck helped me feel connected to the student community. Overall, a must-do course if you want to learn programming in Python.

By 刘见微

Dec 13, 2020

The coure is friendly to any person who wants to step in the python study and the teacher always make me laugh at class for his vivid metaphors which stimulates my interest in programming learning. Also, for a Chinese student who tries her first time to listen to a whole-English and professional course, it's challenging but fruitful. I will keep studying the following course after i finish my final exam. At last, thanks to the teacher and every assitant teacher for preparing such amazing class for everybody.

By SOURAV S

Oct 30, 2019

This course is an excellent course for those who know a little bit of programming and also a very good course for those who are just starting to learn programming. The instructor of the course Sir Charles Severance has explained the concepts in a very easy way and the assignments and review questions makes them more clearer. I think that if anyone is looking for a course in Python from scratch he can go with this course and further with the specialization to get all the basic and advanced concepts of Python.

By Keith M

Dec 10, 2015

Wonderfully composed and paced course. Dr. Severance does a fantastic job of scaling technical descriptions from basic terminology up to the specific programming jargon. The assignments are well detailed, explained, and the technology in the course works well. The book is free and also a treat because it ties so nicely back into the course materials making is probably the best learning Python book available today based on what I've seen. Thank you for continuing to support this program. It is FANTASTIC.

By wivai

Dec 4, 2019

this course is wonderful! It includes so many details that usually a beginner won't notice or understand why can and why can't.This course has helped me to save the time for trial mistakes and taught me to keep a good coding behaviour.After each chapter,there is one or two coding assignments. Every time, I watch the explanation video and compare my codes in my assignment. While there are some codes I don't understand very well during the course video, I'll stop and try the codes.That makes me learned a lot.