Chevron Left
Back to Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
177,992 ratings
42,659 reviews

About the Course

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality instructor
(1484 Reviews)
Introductory course
(4203 Reviews)

Top reviews

YN
Oct 14, 2017

This course is organized and explained very well. It is moderately challenging, and I recommend it to get interested in Python. The teacher and the assistant staff are very good. I enjoyed the course.

PG
Sep 10, 2020

I really liked the course. I just wish it was more practice heavy and the lectures were broken up more and there were quizzes during the lectures to keep you engaged more and make it more interactive.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 10,000 Reviews for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

By Harry E J J

Oct 26, 2018

Great course. Very approachable, well taught, well paced. Well suited to people completely new to computer programming and for those with computer experience looking to learn Python. The professor is great! He does an excellent job of explaining the what, why, and how of basic computer programming concepts. Which will serve you well no matter what language you learn going forward, as the concepts apply across software languages.

By Heinrich A

Apr 10, 2017

Interesting introduction course for people who want to learn Python. You don't need programming skills (though they always come in handy), because the course starts at the very beginning. I guess this helps everybody to easily adapt to the language, which itself in my opinion is pretty straight forward and quite easy to learn. I'm really looking forward to the more tricky and complex parts in the other courses of this specialization.

By Xiong S

Jan 11, 2021

This course is awwwwwesome! Professor Charles makes very good examples in the course and puts them in a really humorous way.

I have learned a little bit of programming back in college (Visual Basic was the language I learned), so most of the knowledge taught in this course is pretty basic and easy for me. But as the course flows, it gets manageably harder and I love the challenges it offers!

Feels great to solve puzzle after puzzle!

By Akshith G

Jun 18, 2020

Very very well taught from the very basics, beautifully explained with fun bonus sections as well, would definitely recommend enthusiast learners to begin with this course if you want to begin with programming in python. Fairly easy and good number of assignments which at times really tests what you have learnt to make one learn the concepts in depth and understand it well. Thank you coursera and Dr. Chuck for this wonderful course

By Waqas U R

May 21, 2018

Before this course I always thought of programming as a frightening monster. But enrolling in this course was on of the best things to happen as the instructor taught and carried out this course in a very elegant way. The course was well paced and I never felt throughout this course that It couldn't be completed successfully as it happened before in other programming courses at my institute. Thank you Charles and thank you coursera

By Sherry A

Sep 13, 2017

Great course. For me it was a refresher of the basic programming skills that I learned in undergrad but have rarely put to use. I needed to know very basic things like what editor to use, how to run python files, and the syntax / structure of loops, etc. I got all that and more! I appreciate the instructors enthusiasm, and I think this course could be a good introduction to programming for students who have never programmed before.

By Gregorio A A P

Jul 9, 2017

Excelente, un gran curso con un enfoque de calidad al 100%, solo que es lamentable no poder disfrutar el curso al 100% en el idioma español ya que no todo el contenido esta traducido, si fuera posible seria muy bueno que lo traduzcan todo al español ya que existe gran demanda por parte de los estudiantes de latino america el querer aprender cursos de gran calidad como este.

Nuevamente felicitaciones por la calidad del curso. Saludos

By Wilman M R C

Feb 10, 2016

I have see many courses of computer programing in courser, some are not really good and some are not really for beginners (even if they say it). So I follow this course ones before and I din not finish but I really like it, because is for beginners, is clear and slow in the way to show the topic, is fun, but also and most importan I feel like I'm learning a lot. Almost finish course 1 and really optimistic to do all specialization.

By Jessie

Aug 13, 2020

This is the first online course I have ever completed. It has been an amazing journey. With limited knowledge in computer science, I never truly imagined myself being able to write lines of codes. Dr. Chuck is an excellent teacher. I adore him for making this intimidating course accessible and enjoyable. I also truly appreciate Coursera for granting me a scholarship to take this course free. I cannot wait to start the next course.

By B V R

May 6, 2020

i am sure about my research in "structural optimization of high rise buildings" it is helpful to write some sub programmes to find maximum displacements, story stiffness, fundamental frequencies, story drift, time period etc. from software (like ETABS, STAAD, etc.,) output. i observed while learning my courses all the speakers are given very inspired sessions. i thank to god give me opportunity to learn in this online coursera.

By Wesley P

Jan 25, 2020

This course is an excellent and detailed introduction into how to code the basics of python. The examples in the free book provided are a very helpful companion to the assignments in the course. They don't give the whole answer, which makes you think critically and logically about the code you need to write. Stick with it and you will get the rewards, I've already started the 2nd course in this specialization. Thank you Dr. Chuck!

By _ a

Sep 5, 2017

This course is really helpful for people who are planning to try hands in the field of computation. Python I feel is a good platform to gain some coding experience because:

a) It is easy to comprehend with simple syntax.

b) It is very flexible.

c)It adds good value to your CV.

And I feel Professor Charles Severance has done a good job. I think maybe it will be better for the beginners to use the book along as they progress.

Thank you.

By Yusuf N S

Jul 6, 2020

For me this course with very easy as I had previous knowledge of Computer programming with C++, The course instructor is more than awesome, he makes it seem so simple and force you to love the course. Python is a very important language that is interfering with almost every field in the tech industry. This course gives you a great introduction to a language of a great importance and also introduce the computer science through it.

By Janet P d R

Oct 4, 2019

I recommend this course for all those who have not been previously linked to the programming as it shows you the basics to get started. It is made for the public in general.

For those who speak Spanish as mother tongue, I recommend to use the English subtitles option so you can more easily follow the teacher and notice small details, which are often necessary in programming.

Thanks to the teacher for his pleasant way of teaching.

By Yurshanva K

Sep 3, 2019

As the name itself says " Programming for Everybody" is indeed for all, i thought i would lose interest from week 1 but i did not and here I am, finally i have completed course 1. Now I'am definitely going to continue course 2, and thank you so much for the understandable teaching, it was like a story, not confusing at all. Also, because of this course, I'am going to pursue a career in programming. Really inspired by this course.

By Duha

Aug 18, 2020

The way the course has been made and taught is amazing! It introduces is a course TRULY designed for absolute beginners. I enjoyed the course and Dr. Chuck is simply amazing. If you have a background in any other coding language, the concepts of this course feel like a summer breeze, with a few python specific syntax here and there. Overall I enjoyed the course and managed to finish it way ahead of schedule. Thank you Dr. Chuck!

By Manasa C

Jul 5, 2020

It is the best course for the python beginner to learn the syntax...

If the student is aware of other programming languages like c, c++ and java. you can complete this course in 2 days.

if you are not aware of other courses then you need to see the textbook that was suggested and I would suggest another text book for python that is Python crash course by Eric Matthes. This is one of the good book for python to learn......basics...

By Jesús A M G

Jun 19, 2020

Este curso es una excelente herramienta para comprender las bases de la programación en Python. La forma en la que se presentan los contenidos en muy buena y fácil de seguir, y los ejercicios realmente te hacen comprender este lenguaje de programación. Recomiendo a los que lleven este curso que utilicen la herramienta Atom, así como el Command Prompt (mencionados en el curso) para la programación y las pruebas de los ejercicios.

By Deleted A

Oct 3, 2017

In my opinion this was an excellent course. All the information was available, and well explained. The professor Dr. Chuck it's a great teacher, he made me laugh a couple of times, so I really enjoy all the videos and excercises. I found very interesting all the interviews to famous people, such as Guido Van Rossum, Massimo Banzi and Daphne Koller. Thanks so much to everyone who makes this course possible and thanks to Coursera.

By Miska J

Aug 17, 2017

Like the title states, 'Getting started..'. So if you have prior programming experience this might feel a bit elementary, but if you're completely new to Python there's still plenty of things to get you going faster with Python. And if you're completely new to programming... This course is definitely bang for the buck! Very easy to follow, great examples to get things sinking in fast and in overall, very well constructed course.

By Mehta S

Nov 14, 2020

This course experience was on par with in-person lectures I have had in my university, maybe even better. Professor Charles Russell Severance is an exceptional teacher and makes the course content quite easy to grasp by delivering the lectures sequentially, systematically, and keeping the audience in mind.Like all the other reviewers, I am quite satisfied and would highly recommend anyone aspiring to learn Python to start here.

By NURUL A B J A N

Jul 14, 2020

Its easy to understand! You've got a plenty of time to complete all courses. Don't give up, your almost there :)

The instructor explains the code in such a simplest way you could imagine, you always can pause and rewind if anything falls behind. The courses are split to 2 which you still can continue to learn after completed the part 1. Overall its a great experience to learn python with coursera! You should give it a try too.

By Alif A

Apr 30, 2020

This course was a lot of fun. If you're completely new to programming, this is a very basic and easy course so you won't likely have any trouble understanding. However, if you have prior knowledge in programming in a different language and taking this course just to learn Python syntax, you should complete the course very fast and move to the next one to get more in depth knowledge in Python because this will be a bit too easy.

By Aaron L

Apr 12, 2020

This course is helpful for being introduced to Python. The only comments I have is to maybe increase the amount of exercises to really drill the concepts in. Also, to include all current chapter components learned into the current chapter exercise. For example, try and except wasn't applied until the next chapter or two. Not a real problem, but would be helpful while it is still fresh and able to work a few different exercises.

By Sarvesh

Sep 29, 2020

Really good course . I have learnt a lot in this course's graded assignments and quizzes and also from the video lectures . I do recommend this great course for everyone who is just beginning to learn python. Great course . Thank you Dr . Charles Severance . I am really grateful to coursera and to Dr.Chuck for this wonderful course. I sincerely thank my instructor, University of Michigan and Coursera for this wonderful course.