Chevron Left
Back to Quantitative Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Quantitative Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,747 ratings
625 reviews

About the Course

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Top reviews

LG
Jan 4, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

GM
Nov 15, 2020

Excellent course! Well narrated, even entertaining, VERY well structured, with supporting material, and a great mix of theory and examples or discussions. Perhaps the best MOOC I've ever encountered.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 619 Reviews for Quantitative Methods

By Kate G

Aug 11, 2017

The videos were very well done. I also really liked the exercises they were challenging and very relevant. I highly recommend.

By Krishna B

Mar 20, 2016

Well structured course with the best assignments. Would totally recommend for beginners in the Social science research domain.

By joseph t

Dec 14, 2020

Very useful and very well organised. I needed this course for my PhD and it gave me very good basics on Quantitative Methods.

By Clare G

Jul 29, 2019

Really simply explained and some interesting examples. I feel much more confident reviewing quantitative research papers now.

By Petko N M

Apr 28, 2017

The course is good, though a glossary of the terms will make it great. The lectures' language is clear and easy to understand

By Sue L

Mar 11, 2017

I highly recommend this course for those who want to brush up on the high-level basics of the quantitative research methods.

By Ali H

Jul 15, 2020

i can't say how much i am thankful for this course, the way things are explained it's just like magic! thank you coursera.

By Naomi K

Feb 3, 2019

I enjoyed this course and felt the examples used to explain particular information made the material very clear. Well done!

By Maria L

Sep 27, 2016

Great course with great content!! I learnt a lot! But it takes much more time than 4-5h a week as is stated at course info.

By Yee C

Jan 5, 2021

Course materials are systematically organised. Contents are very informative and provide a lot of rooms for self learning!

By Laura S

Aug 31, 2020

great course with a clear and nice setup. good mix of instructional videos, assignments, check-up questions. I enjoyed it.

By Azara E N

Sep 27, 2016

so educating and fascinating. It has really expanded my intellectual horizons and research venn diagram into more circles.

By Alex S

May 2, 2020

Very well put together course. The lecturer is very engaging, and really tackles the subject matter in an accessible way.

By Mario S D F

Oct 2, 2016

I keep coming back whenever a concept in my actual Medical Education Master classes seems vague. Thank you Prof. Scholten

By Maria F

Nov 8, 2015

Unexpectedly, I am really enjoying this course!

The course is very well organized, easy to follow and engaging.

Great job!

By Tiffany L

Mar 7, 2019

Very helpful and gives a great overview. Feels as if one is in a class learning, but has the benefit of their own time.

By Md S H

Jun 10, 2018

Its a great course what they have designed for us. I loved and enjoyed that a lot. It helped to learn new things indeed.

By Parvathy S

May 3, 2020

Intelligently structured, easily understandable, as rigorous as a university course would be. Learned a lot. Loved it!

By Simon M W

Jan 21, 2018

This course is quite interesting. I have learned a lot and has exposed me to many things I don't know about research.

By George H B J

Jan 6, 2016

Very well organized and executed! The assignments are both challenging and present excellent learning opportunities.

By P E C

Oct 9, 2015

Excellent course. Instructive, informative and useful, with the best instructor I have ever had. Best course, by far.

By Ehsan A

Jan 4, 2021

This course is an amazing introduction for those who are stepping into the realm of research, I highly recommend it!

By Esteban R

Apr 3, 2019

Muy buen curso, de muy buena calidad. La implementación de evaluación por pares mejora mucho la exigencia del mismo.

By Dale P

Oct 24, 2016

Not even through the first week, which I started ahead, and I am feeling very logically enlightened by the material.

By Daniel K

Mar 17, 2016

Excellent material. The weeks on measurement and sampling went a bit too fast but otherwise the course is fantastic.