Chevron Left
Back to Quantum Optics 1 : Single Photons

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Quantum Optics 1 : Single Photons by École Polytechnique

4.8
stars
236 ratings
59 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you access to basic tools and concepts to understand research articles and books on modern quantum optics. You will learn about quantization of light, formalism to describe quantum states of light without any classical analogue, and observables allowing one to demonstrate typical quantum properties of these states. These tools will be applied to the emblematic case of a one-photon wave packet, which behaves both as a particle and a wave. Wave-particle duality is a great quantum mystery in the words of Richard Feynman. You will be able to fully appreciate real experiments demonstrating wave-particle duality for a single photon, and applications to quantum technologies based on single photon sources, which are now commercially available. The tools presented in this course will be widely used in our second quantum optics course, which will present more advanced topics such as entanglement, interaction of quantized light with matter, squeezed light, etc... So if you have a good knowledge in basic quantum mechanics and classical electromagnetism, but always wanted to know: • how to go from classical electromagnetism to quantized radiation, • how the concept of photon emerges, • how a unified formalism is able to describe apparently contradictory behaviors observed in quantum optics labs, • how creative physicists and engineers have invented totally new technologies based on quantum properties of light, then this course is for you....

Top reviews

CW
Nov 10, 2020

This was an awesome course. I recommend it to all who are working with Quantum physics, Quantum mechanics, Quantum Optics, Quantum Computing and Information Science, Quantum Communication

SS
Nov 20, 2019

Very clear and informative. The courses are short respectively and they are very exciting. The quizzes are a very good review to keep you concentrated.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 58 Reviews for Quantum Optics 1 : Single Photons

By Happy A

Jan 17, 2019

A good course that helps us have a further understanding of quantum optic.

By Raghav C

Jul 13, 2017

A course worth taking for those seeking an introduction to Quantum Optics.

By Jatin N

Sep 25, 2020

Great course! Homework problems are superb, I learnt so much from them.

By jadoul m

Nov 2, 2018

Can't wait any longer for the second course. Wonderful. Stimulating.

By Binod J

Dec 7, 2019

Great Course! Thinking about taking the second part of this series.

By Greg B

Sep 21, 2017

A. Aspect is clear methodical and precise. It makes learning eas

By Benassi A

Dec 12, 2019

Enseignement très pédagogique et très intéressant: Efficace

By Adan A

Jul 6, 2020

a great introduction to the quantum optics field

By Timothy R

Mar 30, 2017

A challenging course but well worth the effort.

By Chandra K

Nov 7, 2019

Very Well helped me to understand the concept

By Nidhi P

Apr 30, 2020

Wonderful course to learn Quantum Optics

By Yerassyl B

Jan 20, 2021

The instructor, Professor is the best!

By Vishnu R V K

Mar 27, 2019

i learned so much from this subject

By David A I T

Jan 4, 2021

Instructor is really good!

By Stefano V

Mar 13, 2021

Extremely interesting

By Shrinivas J

Aug 2, 2020

Brilliant course!

By Thiago V

Jun 5, 2020

GREAT COURSE!!!!

By Felipe V

Jun 28, 2019

Incredible alain

By simon s

Oct 21, 2020

Fantastique!!!

By Rahul B

Apr 30, 2020

Nice Teaching

By Daniel V d R J

Nov 9, 2020

Ótimo curso.

By MARAKA D R 1

Mar 27, 2019

nice

By Jing H

Jul 23, 2020

A very good introductory course for quantum optics. But there are two things I am not so satisfied: first, there is some typo in the video, and it would be better if the professors can add a part for the correction, just like in the last video section of the week 1. Second, for some attached documents (papers), I couldn’t get the access to them since I don’t have an account for those scientific paper websites. So even though the prof highly recommended me to read them, I couldn’t.

All in all, it’s a good introductory course.

By Bas A

Aug 20, 2017

More exact usage of English language would help. Also written course material would be great. I ended up buying Mr. Aspect's book because I like the topic so much. A final exam would give a more satisfying feeling. I have the feeling I muddled through on lots of the questions. I am redoing the course now to get "perfect" understanding an memorizing things. Alternatively, a final test could be to write a reaction about a resent article.

By JOSE M A E

Dec 12, 2020

The course is really very good. Prof. Aspect exceeds his pedagogic skill and makes the lecture listening delightful. The course focuses in a few concepts that develops step by step to reach a deepper insight.

In my opinion the homework part can be improved. In some cases the statements in the homework are confusing and it is not clear the goal and what the questions ask for