Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,189 ratings
4,574 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

JM
Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

WH
Feb 2, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

3851 - 3875 of 4,483 Reviews for R Programming

By Duncan P

Feb 15, 2016

Good course overall but assignments have too little guidance in how they should be completed and can its easier to use material from future lessons to solve the problems

By Thomas D

May 30, 2020

Lectures were a little disappointing but I learned a lot with the programming assignments. The assignments were difficult and quite time consuming but worth the effort.

By Anmol B K

Dec 14, 2018

The course is not for absolute starters, i recommend having some background of R prior to taking this up. The assignments and exercises are good to gain some knowledge

By Daniel G S M

Mar 21, 2021

The course lectures and swirl lessons are quite well structured but the assignments are out of proportion. It is quite hard to get them done. For me, sometimes weeks.

By Gabriela K

Dec 2, 2020

Hay mucha diferencia entre la teoria y ejemplos presentados y las actividades que debemos realizar en R por nuestra cuenta. Falta explicación de estos ejercicios.

By Sourav R

Nov 27, 2016

I could not complete it as 100% because of a bug, in week 3 quiz and week 1 quiz. in week 1 2questions will never get a correct answer. Same case with week3 quiz.

By Daniel J R

Jul 11, 2018

Video lectures were not very engaging. Assignment No. 2 causes student frustration unnecessarily. There's other and better ways to encourage a hacker mentality.

By Diego C

Dec 20, 2020

The lectures were good but the assignments were just too hard for me, I was really lost... I think there is a great difference between lectures and assignments

By Paul J

May 30, 2018

Don't get me wrong, I did learn R programming from this course. But it was not well designed and the assignments didn't always mesh with what was being taught.

By Timothy K A

Sep 7, 2020

For whatever reason, my biggest complaint is that the coursework did prepare me very well for the assignments. This was frustrating and somewhat inefficient.

By Marcos G A

Jul 31, 2020

The programming assignments are way over the level for this course. Is nice to make it hard but too many things I never fully understood from the assignments.

By V. V

Jun 27, 2020

Very very tough for the beginners. Without high background knowledge of statistics, only having the programming skills are not enough to complete the course.

By Derek P

Feb 2, 2016

The course had too much stuff crunched (and poorly explained) in too short a time period. That said, I got something out of it using a self-directed approach.

By Apivat H

Mar 29, 2018

There's a gap between what's covered in the lesson and the assignments. I had to go elsewhere to fill in those gaps. Otherwise, this is a very useful course.

By Diksha J

Jul 27, 2020

Assignments were way harder than what was taught in the videos, did not pay attention on various objects used in R and also on how to correctly write codes.

By Aishwarya K

Dec 31, 2020

The course is too old to be relevant for current environment. There were certain functions that were used in the early weeks, but explained in later weeks.

By Luis P I S

Jul 16, 2020

Huge gap between difficulty in assignments and lectures leads to frustration at times., but overall the course is good. The swirl exercises are excellent.

By H. A E

Apr 17, 2018

For an introductory level class, the progression of the classes could have been more gradual. Classes and assignments seemed a bit disconnected at times.

By Brian P

Jan 4, 2017

There is a large gap between the course material and the assignments. Requires A LOT of extra research to complete if you do not have prior R experience.

By Guillem P O

Jan 2, 2017

Nice course, but the gap between video lessons and programming assignments was too wide for me. Would have loved more guidance towards the assignments.

By Sadhana C

Dec 30, 2020

Course content was good, but assignments were way too hard and not related to course content. I have to spend long hours online to do the assignments.

By John P L

May 20, 2018

more programming assignments and long course duration to introduce a step-by-step learning about the features of R can be done to facilitate learning.

By Andre S

Nov 3, 2017

Overall good, but some major information missing for completing assignments, + very hard to understand the speech of the lecturer Peng in some cases.

By Matthew C

Jun 30, 2017

I think this course could have been twice as long with all the material that was covered in it, especially compared to the Data Scientist's Toolbox.

By Chenqi Z

Jun 24, 2017

To less MP to understand what's the core processing method in R, but over all a nice language course for someone who has learned CS courses before.