Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
20,766 ratings
4,462 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

JM
Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

WH
Feb 2, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 4,348 Reviews for R Programming

By Martijn B

Mar 31, 2017

This is a crash course into R-Programming. If you have never did any programming this course will be a challenge! But it is a good way to get going with R-programming.

By Joonas S

Oct 7, 2016

This is a very good introduction to R. The material is good and this works well as a introduction to R if you have either high interest or some programming experience.

By Raja V

May 3, 2020

This is a very well organized course. Thanks to Dr. Peng, Dr. Leek and Dr. Caffo for organizing such a useful course. These lessons will stay with me for a long time.

By George R M d C

Apr 28, 2020

Worth it. The final assignment was a great challenge, the course seems to cover some good concepts of R, and provide a good base for those looking to learn even more.

By Shashank S N K

Jan 18, 2018

Learnt a lot in R especially Lexical Scoping, Datatypes, vector operations, loops and apply commands. I would recommend this course to all my friends and colleagues.

By S R V

Feb 12, 2017

Good course to start off your R Journey. It is guided and has enough validation mechanisms to reinforce your learning. Thanks John Hopkins Team to put this together.

By chaitanya r

Jan 22, 2017

The course provides a good explanation on important concepts of R and the assignments are designed well to hone the Programming Skills needed to tread Datascience.

By En-Sun P

Jan 9, 2021

Very good introduction to programming in the R language. Programming assignments were fun and structured very well to reflect the concepts learnt from the lessons.

By DONALD J M H

Sep 27, 2020

I really liked the course, I learned new things that I did not know.

I will continue with the rest of the courses in this series

Thank you Johns Hopkins University

By SHALOM P

Aug 21, 2020

This course was exceptionally informational and it did upskill and that's saying something because I had applied to a lot of courses but this gave me what I needed

By manuel s g

Mar 23, 2020

Really useful course. I strongly recommend to spend time on the programming exercises, specially is is long time since your last programming task (e.g. > 10 years)

By Thomas G

May 19, 2020

I had experience with R in a class at my university, and I learned a lot in this course that my class didn't cover. The assignments were more challenging as well.

By Sachin K J

Apr 15, 2020

It was a great course for understanding and using R for basic package. I would like to thank builders of swirl package for such and awesome module for teaching R.

By Erica R

Jul 12, 2019

The lectures, swirl modules, and assignments had very high synergy for a multi-faceted learning experience. The pinned posts in the forums were extremely helpful.

By Max M

Aug 9, 2018

The level increases very very fast. For people starting from scratch (as me) will take the to complete the assignments. Challenging, but overall of great quality!

By Syed J P

Jul 23, 2019

Very good course. It helped to understand the basics and good practice, and helped me in doing research experiments in R using UCI dataset for my research paper.

By Jung O L

Jan 17, 2017

Exellent for beginner.

I literally didn't know anything about R, and was not familiar with programming.

This course gave me a step for advanced data programming.

By Vasileios K

Nov 20, 2016

Professor is very well rounded and is quite enjoyable to hear his voice! Keep up the great work, looking forward to the next sections of the data science series.

By Lauren B

Mar 7, 2016

This was a very challenging class for someone who had no prior programming experience. However, with enough time and effort, I was able to succeed in the course.

By Taisekwa C

Nov 12, 2020

Very hard course but very useful, I think, lecture videos totally disconnected from the assignments. One will have to dig deep to understand the basic concepts.

By Rizki J I

Aug 28, 2019

Great course to get to know inside and out R programming and not just for quantitative analysis (for me) but also getting to know how R used across other users.

By Akash V

Mar 2, 2019

The course was very well taught, and I got to learn a lot of things from this course about R Programming. As this course developed keen interest in me about R.

By Manuel E

Feb 20, 2019

Excellent basic course, although I understand that people with no previous programming experience might struggle with it (and even some old programmers like me)

By Ankit S

Jan 20, 2019

It's great to learn it from here. However, for beginner like me, it was a pretty complicated while doing the assignments. But, thanks anyways for the teachings.

By Waleed A

Apr 8, 2017

An excellent course to get to know the basics of R programming. The practice material and the assignments really instill the material being taught in your mind.