Chevron Left
Back to Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
4,367 ratings

About the Course

Finding and hiring the right people is often cited as the number one concern of businesses today. It seems we are all competing for the best and brightest workers. As you will see in our time together in the second course, a critical component of the People Manager Value Proposition is to hire talented people who enable the organization to achieve its strategic goals. This course is an introduction into the topic of recruitment, selection and onboarding. At the outset of the course we will explore the importance of linking recruitment goals with overall company strategy. We then look at a number of options to recruit and select employees both effectively and legally. Throughout the course we will examine current issues in talent acquisition, such as how companies are now leveraging social media and hiring analytics to ensure better quality hires. At the conclusion of the course, we look at how to onboard employees to promote employee commitment and engagement....

Top reviews

AB

Invalid date

I enjoyed a lot this course because is very well done and very specific, clear and the teachers explain very well and with examples for each situation with a higher degree of complexity.

JL

Invalid date

A very engaging lecturer and well paced lessons. She put obviously spent decent time putting together her presentations and it helped me learn and think about the topics she brought up.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,071 Reviews for Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees

By WEE F C

Aug 15, 2022

This course is strongly recommended for those who are in the Human Resource Department. The materials delivered are practical and relevant to the tasks of recruiting, hiring and onboarding new hires for the company with the intention of building a career path for them to stay on with your company.

By Haresh M

Mar 23, 2017

Being away from family, loved ones or friends during their video doesn't mean that you can't send them . Creating a sentimental and well thought of present will help them to connect back to you. If you are planning out a special presentation, then considering a video is a simple way to send them.

By RAHUL J

Dec 3, 2018

very interesting and amazing course provided by coursera. I love the way all the instructor were teaching. I have learnt a lot of things through online videos and the assignment i have done as a homework. It increased my productivity as well as change my way of thinking towards Hiring process.

By harish n

Aug 1, 2022

Amy Falink & Stacy Doepner-Hove have shown immense expertise in teaching the recruitment, hiring & onboarding processes in the most simplest manner. Pursuing this course was equivalent to completing a full time MBA in HR. Kudos to Coursera & University of Minnesota for such a useful course.

By 23 D P

Jun 24, 2024

I wholeheartedly thank all the instructors for their utmost dedication and engagement throughout this course. If you are willing to kickstart your career in HR field, this is basically gold. Invest your time in this course, especially with Miss Falink, you'll gain some valuable insights.

By Khan S U

May 12, 2022

The course was really informative, as I am a learner from Pakistan, studying in the European Union, it gave me information about how to recruit, hire and onboard employees, and about the criterias. So the course was very useful for me, as I am able to share it on my LinkedIn profile too.

By Meghana k

Jun 23, 2020

I have learnt so many unknown facts through this course.I feel that I have gained enough knowledge to take better in my career. Explanation by Amy was crisp,content and very clear. The concepts were easily understandable and tests made me where I stand and what aspects to take care of.

By Maria F

Jan 4, 2018

It was a great course to learn from, very informative, especially for me when I'm self-learning, without anyone in the senior level's assistance. Looking forward to putting what i've learned in the course into practice. Then i'll look for the other course with University of Minesotta!!

By HASHIF K P

Jan 9, 2022

Very Good course for gaining knowledge about the Human resource Management. it gave me special ideas and knowledge about the Recruiting, Hiring and Onboarding. Course system and lectures video class are very easy and helpful to understand. Thank you Coursera and Team for this course.

By Gordon W

Mar 20, 2023

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and the insights the instructors provided. I thought having two different instructors add additional perspective to the course material. I found the course a bit long as I struggled with a regular study schedule, but I powered through the material.

By Belinda B

Dec 4, 2021

Very thorough and well delivered. I enjoyed the breakdown of each section with highlights of scenarios and action steps that can be instituted immediately within my own organization. I feel more and more equipped to being knowledgeable during senior management meetings. Thank you!

By Jawad I M

Jun 9, 2020

Such a great course. Thank you so much to the instructors. I came here to learn interviewing skills and I am leaving with learning a lot more than that. I wish I had more time to complete other courses from this module. But, nevertheless, it as a great learning opportunity.

By Noufal A K

Jul 18, 2022

“Good to be updated on the changes that have taken place. Top marks for the Recruitment.” “Overall the course is going to be very useful in my day to day job.” “Really well done; made a dry subject really interesting, and clearly has a passion for HRM that shone through!

By Candice T

Dec 13, 2021

By far my favorite course! Enjoyed the lectures and the insight which Amy Simon had, really helped me to understand the course work better. Great practical real life examples added to the value of this course. Looking forwarding to applying my knowledge in the workplace.

By Bhanupriya A

Jul 1, 2019

I loved this course and the presenters had very good knowledge of the concepts. I loved the peer assignments and the verification of work by peers. Overall a very satisfying time spent on the course and this has made me more insightful and engaged at my job. Thanks all!!

By Pamela O

Jul 27, 2020

it was a great course...A lot was topic was thoroughly and extensively touched. I definitely learnt from this class especially the employee satisfaction and engagement. This will go a long way to help me in my job and career. Thank you Amy Falink and Stacy Doepner-Hove

By Sharon R B

Oct 5, 2018

I have learnt so much from this course it was a learning experience it open my eye to the recruiting, Hiring and Onboarding employees from an employer perspective and I really enjoy and loved this course. Thank both the tutor for doing an excellent job in the videos..

By Charmis T

Aug 30, 2020

The lessons are very informative and engaging. It explore topics of diversity and inclusion and conversations surrounding new trends in recruiting and on boarding processes. Making the learners equip before taking a dive into challenges of Human Resource Management.

By Piroska P

Mar 27, 2022

The generic part of the course is needed to understand the basics, it might look basics, yet important to define the pace of the course. For me the most exciting part was Onboarding employees, and how employee engagement is built! Thank you for UM and the trainers!

By RIA D

Jan 11, 2022

It was an amazing experience I had while learning from coursera . Looking forward to start my career in Human Resource Management and so, the first step of learning something new is completed successfully looking forward to learn more. Thank You Coursera .

By Jeremy T

May 7, 2024

I loved this course; it helped me. I learned new things about Recruiting and Hiring; the tools were great. The onboarding reinforced my human relationship approach to building teams is essential to long term success for the employees and then the company

By Eleftheria C

Sep 13, 2019

I found this course very useful either for experienced people or people with a little working experience. Very structured, enjoyed the instructors and I' ve learned some tips on attracting and selecting new hires that I didn't know. Thank you very much!

By Jo A V

Jul 5, 2018

Great teachers on onbarding. Amy was such a great person to listen to, and understanding how hiring and onboarding works. And her partner that did onboarding, did a great job. So much incite of how hiring and onboarding really should work. Thank you!!

By Muhammad I M

Oct 28, 2020

A well articulated syllabus of the course. Define and explain every aspect of the functions. I found it very help to enhance my skills.

The way of communication of the instructors was impressive and easy to understand by the individual ob basic level.

By Tahira U N

Jul 26, 2020

Thank You to both the instructors and guest speakers. This course was an amazing experience with which I got to experience both the theoretical and practical aspects of recruitment, selection and on boarding. I will be forever grateful to everyone.