Chevron Left
Back to Regression Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Regression Models by Johns Hopkins University

4.4
stars
3,203 ratings
540 reviews

About the Course

Linear models, as their name implies, relates an outcome to a set of predictors of interest using linear assumptions. Regression models, a subset of linear models, are the most important statistical analysis tool in a data scientist’s toolkit. This course covers regression analysis, least squares and inference using regression models. Special cases of the regression model, ANOVA and ANCOVA will be covered as well. Analysis of residuals and variability will be investigated. The course will cover modern thinking on model selection and novel uses of regression models including scatterplot smoothing....

Top reviews

KA
Dec 16, 2017

Excellent course that is jam-packed with useful material! It is quite challenging and gives a thorough grounding in how to approach the process of selecting a linear regression model for a data set.

BA
Jan 31, 2017

It really helped me to have a better understanding of these Regression Models. However, I've noticed that there is a video recording repeated: Week 3, Model Selection. Part 3 is included in Part 2.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 520 Reviews for Regression Models

By Raul M

Jan 16, 2019

This course should be targeted for Data Scientists, in my opinion it is more for statisticians.

Too much about the insight of statistics and some but not enough about how to use the statistic tools.

By benjamin s

Jun 20, 2018

A good (although slightly frustrating) course, attempted once but had to come back after studying the material in class, quite a heavy course if you've not been taught regression before

By Guilherme B D J

Aug 21, 2016

Given the importance of this subject, this course should have been split in two or more or have a longer duration to properly address subjects as GLM or model selection techniques.

By Marco A M A

May 9, 2016

This course is better than Statistical Inference, and I think it is as useful. Non credit excersise are still very good at helping with understanding in practice what is going on.

By Rok B

Jun 28, 2019

Useful class, but the content often simple in nature was explained in a confusing/complicated way. But the material is important and there is purchase for taking the class

By Jesse K

Nov 2, 2018

The material was a little disjointed and not always explained with examples. Passing this course required a significant amount of outside study and research.

By Jason M C

Mar 29, 2016

This is a decent class, covering linear regression and a few of its variants in good detail. It's a challenging subject, but presented acceptably here.

By Anamaria A

Mar 12, 2017

Lots of material needs additional study (from different sources) as it's only summarily explained. Much math without the link to the praxis :-(

By Manuel M M

Feb 10, 2020

The content was exposed in a very confused manner. I did not like how the teacher explained. It seemed more difficult than it really is

By LU Z

Sep 26, 2018

Starting from the first week swirl practice, course content is poorly organized making even simple concept difficult to understand.

By Hendrik F

Jan 17, 2016

I find it very tough to understand everything. Buying the course book helps to overcome this. You have to dedicate a lot of time.

By Mark S

Apr 24, 2018

Lots of math, but it would be more productive to focus more on the output of R and better understand the results

By Mertz

Mar 20, 2018

Bad audio and video quality. Too fast on some complex ideas and too slow when come repetitions between videos...

By Andres C S

Mar 1, 2016

I think this course needs more emphasis on practical applications and less mathematical background.

By Erwin V

Dec 20, 2016

Very interesting course, yet course content could be spread more evenly (week 4 is really a lot)

By Prabeeti B

Sep 17, 2019

Course has more theoretical concept than application.. It has to be more application based

By Praveen J

Apr 22, 2020

I think a revamping of the concepts in a more ellabroate way is required in the course

By Suleman W

Nov 9, 2017

I did find it difficult to follow and understand some of the materials.

By Rafal K

Feb 28, 2017

Many things are not clear enough in multivariable regression part.

By Eric L

Feb 2, 2016

good quick overview, could have more actual R examples in lectures

By Ansh T

Mar 22, 2020

Topics like logistic regression were not explained clearly

By Angela W

Nov 27, 2017

I learned a lot, but it was so much content for 4 weeks!

By Gareth S

Jul 16, 2017

Expects a level of statistical knowledge already.

By David S

Nov 4, 2018

needed to consult external resources extensively

By Lei M

Aug 23, 2017

Some of the materials are too much math for me.