Chevron Left
Back to Robotics: Perception

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Robotics: Perception by University of Pennsylvania

4.4
stars
601 ratings
166 reviews

About the Course

How can robots perceive the world and their own movements so that they accomplish navigation and manipulation tasks? In this module, we will study how images and videos acquired by cameras mounted on robots are transformed into representations like features and optical flow. Such 2D representations allow us then to extract 3D information about where the camera is and in which direction the robot moves. You will come to understand how grasping objects is facilitated by the computation of 3D posing of objects and navigation can be accomplished by visual odometry and landmark-based localization....

Top reviews

DA
Jan 31, 2021

This course was truly amazing. It was challenging and I learned a lot of cool stuff. It would have been better if more animations were included in explaining complex concepts and equations.

SK
Mar 31, 2018

Outstanding Course! I could always count on Prof.Jianbo to crunch some of the most complex and confusing parts of the course into a much easier understandable language.

Filter by:

151 - 162 of 162 Reviews for Robotics: Perception

By Yingxuan Z

Mar 24, 2020

I took this course as I wanted to develop more skills in computer vision. To me the course seems to be an abridged upper-year college course. The course presumes a strong linear algebra understanding, as the instructors didn't spare much time on explaining the linear algebra concepts. Therefore a refresher for linear algebra as a course handout would be very helpful. The first half of the course are really good - instructions are clear and assignments and quizes are instrumental to understanding. However, progressing to the second half of the course, the instructors rushed to different concepts without properly linking them. And you can tell the disorganization from the way they present - they tend to pause intermittently, repeat the same content, speak grammatically incorrectly. There are significantly more typos in the course notes as well. I would give a 5-star if the course is of consistent good quality, but unfortunately it is not.

By Chris F

May 8, 2016

Professors very hard to understand, and videos don't have the best editing.

Also extremely math heavy, lectures being just math formulas, without a lot of real life applicability (ex. the assignments where you have to project a logo, or cube, when the program gives you the location corners in a file, which will NEVER happen when you use your camera; finding that position is a pre-requisite of the entire program)

By Kyle Z

Sep 4, 2016

Lots of cutting edge mathematical and computer vision concepts, but a serious lack of support. No technical staff around to help, only one or two examples of how the math works, and a general poor explanation of the concepts.

This course is not for beginners, and I recommend you steer clear if you do not posses at minimum a bachelors in mathematics.

By Hasan T

Sep 17, 2016

The videos should be completely reconsidered. Instructors pointing at virtual points on screen does not help at all. The course creators tried to squeeze in many concepts in 4 weeks. More examples should be provided in lectures, not just abstract math (e.g. lectures on projective transformation).

By Fengwen S

Apr 27, 2020

Lack of derivation on most of the mathematics. Poor explanation on half of the topics. Lack of diagrams or animations as s supplementary for some complicated subjects. Poor-designed programming assignments which fail to cover some of the topics mentioned in the slides

By David L

May 19, 2016

This course should have been very good. Lots of detail. But the material is not presented very clearly. The Assignments are also not setup so that it is easy to fix your work. It either passes, or you get minimal feedback.

By Guney K

Jan 22, 2020

Compared to other courses I've taken on Coursera (15+) this was very poor quality - both the content and presentation. I wish there were better a better course on this topic on Coursera.

By Dení S

Sep 8, 2019

To difficult to follow.

By Celso L B d M

Jan 13, 2021

The English of the teachers is god awful and the explanations are even worse. Honestly do not recommend this course. Try instead the perception course at the U of Toronto self-driving car specialization.

By Eli K

May 10, 2021

The material in this course is explained very poorly.

By Akash S

May 3, 2020

Very bad communication pronunciation and grammar

By Matthias K

Sep 5, 2020

I need help