Chevron Left
Back to Six Sigma Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Six Sigma Principles by University System of Georgia

4.7
stars
5,881 ratings
1,413 reviews

About the Course

This course is for you if you are looking to learn more about Six Sigma or refresh your knowledge of the basic components of Six Sigma and Lean. Six Sigma skills are widely sought by employers both nationally and internationally. These skills have been proven to help improve business processes and performance. This course will introduce you to the purpose of Six Sigma and its value to an organization. You will learn about the basic principles of Six Sigma and Lean. Your instructors will introduce you to, and have you apply, some of the tools and metrics that are critical components of Six Sigma. This course will provide you with the basic knowledge of the principles, roles, and responsibilities of Six Sigma and Lean. Every module will include readings, videos, and a quiz to help make sure you understand the material and concepts that are studied. You will also have the opportunity to participate in discussions and peer review exercises to give you the opportunity to apply the material to your daily life. Our applied curriculum is built around the latest handbook The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition) and students will develop /learn the fundamentals of Six Sigma. Registration includes online access to course content, projects, and resources but does not include the companion text The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition). The companion text is not required to complete the assignments. However, the text is a recognized handbook used by professionals in the field. Also, it is a highly recommended text for those wishing to move forward in Six Sigma and eventually gain certification from professional agencies such as American Society for Quality (ASQ)....

Top reviews

PS
Sep 10, 2020

Great course for begineers!! I suggest this course to those who are new to industry and dont know anything! Concepts are very well explained! Thanks Coursera! Thanks NOVARTIS FOR SPONSORING THE COURSE

KS
May 29, 2020

This course gives you a good overview of why six sigma and lean are necessary. It also gives you an understanding of how team dynamics play important roles and how brainstorming is an effective tool.

Filter by:

1126 - 1150 of 1,425 Reviews for Six Sigma Principles

By John W

Apr 4, 2021

Great beginner level course. Its really a pain that you can not obtain the text on Amazon. Look for an e-version somewhere.

By joseph c w

Jun 8, 2020

This book only touched on 1/3 of the book. I'll read the rest on my own time, but it seems too easy from that perspective.

By Anna B

Oct 26, 2020

Good course, happy that I participated. I took out 1 star as for readings. Book + subscription and this course is golden.

By Jahid H

May 18, 2020

This course is good to understand six sigma and lean processes but I think sometimes I missed information to concentrate.

By Malika A

Apr 13, 2020

Information repeats and too generic. Questions in the quiz are based on the material, which is not covered on the videos.

By Nikita Y

Jul 14, 2018

They expect you to purchase the course material. Although, if you follow the videos carefully, it can be extremely useful

By Deepak U

Aug 2, 2021

Some of the topics does not have slides.

But overall, the course is good to understand the basics of Six Sigma and Lean

By Carlos E R R

May 24, 2021

I would like to see more graphic elements or talks between professors, not only text and presentations with more text

By Brandon B

Oct 9, 2018

The first presentations were full of typos and had material not covered in the lectures. Subsequent weeks were good.

By Martin A T M

Sep 2, 2020

You see all the bases of six sigma, very good content .

I highly recommend it if you want to learn about six sigma

By Hannah H

Jan 21, 2019

Enjoyed the course, good content and well delivered. Text book is required to pass and add value to the commentary.

By Álvaro B D S

Feb 16, 2019

Some sort of text resources should be available, instead of a external source that forces us to pay a second time.

By LUIS Z

May 21, 2021

Went through lots of lead on my pencil, well worth taking notes. The quiz tests are challenging and well thought.

By tanmay r

Mar 28, 2020

A quite helpful course for a beginner to learn about the values that will be helpful to work in an organization.

By RAOUGUI J

Aug 3, 2020

I now understand the lean principles and the benifits of its implementation, the way of explaining is very nice

By Anuj S

May 6, 2020

Being able to look at the instructor while the lesson goes on, helps in better focus and retention of learning.

By Aathi V

Apr 12, 2019

Good course and the videos provided are very clear from basic for beginners who likes to learn about six sigma.

By Bhanu P

May 6, 2020

This course usefull to know the importance basic six segma principles and it will driving me to go for further

By Pablo V

Jan 31, 2021

I think it is a really good course. The only thing I would say is the video could be meade more eye catching.

By Nana G

Sep 22, 2019

The course was very informational overall. But for some reason I could not download the videos on my computer

By Rochelle A

Sep 11, 2019

The classes are excellent. I'm an accounting professional and I am ready to utilize the knowledge I learned.

By Akshay G

Mar 22, 2020

Would generally recommend this to me a person having no prior knowledge, though the basics were taught good.

By Sergio E A M

Nov 4, 2019

Very good course, only their presentations are to static and this can drive that they feel a little boring.

By Andrew E

Sep 24, 2020

I think Bill Bailey was an excellent instructor who explained the concepts in a clear and concise manner.

By NIRJHAR N

May 19, 2019

Instead of referring to the book, a reading material could have been updated in the course itself online.