Chevron Left
Back to Six Sigma Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Six Sigma Principles by University System of Georgia

4.7
stars
6,149 ratings
1,449 reviews

About the Course

This course is for you if you are looking to learn more about Six Sigma or refresh your knowledge of the basic components of Six Sigma and Lean. Six Sigma skills are widely sought by employers both nationally and internationally. These skills have been proven to help improve business processes and performance. This course will introduce you to the purpose of Six Sigma and its value to an organization. You will learn about the basic principles of Six Sigma and Lean. Your instructors will introduce you to, and have you apply, some of the tools and metrics that are critical components of Six Sigma. This course will provide you with the basic knowledge of the principles, roles, and responsibilities of Six Sigma and Lean. Every module will include readings, videos, and a quiz to help make sure you understand the material and concepts that are studied. You will also have the opportunity to participate in discussions and peer review exercises to give you the opportunity to apply the material to your daily life. Our applied curriculum is built around the latest handbook The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition) and students will develop /learn the fundamentals of Six Sigma. Registration includes online access to course content, projects, and resources but does not include the companion text The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition). The companion text is not required to complete the assignments. However, the text is a recognized handbook used by professionals in the field. Also, it is a highly recommended text for those wishing to move forward in Six Sigma and eventually gain certification from professional agencies such as American Society for Quality (ASQ)....

Top reviews

PS
Sep 10, 2020

Great course for begineers!! I suggest this course to those who are new to industry and dont know anything! Concepts are very well explained! Thanks Coursera! Thanks NOVARTIS FOR SPONSORING THE COURSE

KS
May 29, 2020

This course gives you a good overview of why six sigma and lean are necessary. It also gives you an understanding of how team dynamics play important roles and how brainstorming is an effective tool.

Filter by:

1426 - 1450 of 1,462 Reviews for Six Sigma Principles

By JOSEPH S

Mar 31, 2021

Pretty good stuff

By Julio A

Oct 24, 2019

Good course!!

By suraj p

Aug 6, 2020

Its nice.

By BINDU V G (

Apr 22, 2020

GOOD

By Joel S

Jul 28, 2021

Course is very outdated, dry and really boring. Course material, slides etc. would benefit from an update/refresh to bring it up to today's look and feel and make it more dynamic. The course narrator is desperate for a glass of water. He's so parched, you could hear his tongue sticking to his lips and the roof of his mouth throughout the entire course. That was really off-putting and dare I say - gross! The whole course looks and sounds like a lost remnant from a 1990s corporate training video - right down to the brown and yellow color. Come on, it's 2021 - update with more timely examples and modern digital content.

By Moataz A

Jun 13, 2021

The course relies too much on reading the book. Which is not why we took the course. If we wanted to read the book we could've.

The instructors' presentations are very vague and all they do is just read what's written there... There is no practical assignments or hands-on training.

Overall, the course and the specialization is very weak.

By Aviral P

Apr 10, 2020

The course is designed around the need to buy a book for the course which is currently unavailable in my country. Like all other courses on coursera, the author should have made available the excerpts required to be read online without the requirement of buying a book for the same

By ERIK M

May 7, 2021

I find some of the principles included in this course to be interesting, however, the fact that 75% of the examples relate to manufacturing make it difficult to picture how these principles can be applied to my current position and the duties I perform daily.

By David M

Oct 8, 2020

I think the course is ok but relies too heavily on the book which is not supplied and the quiz also relies heavily on the book and if you do not have it you cannot get answers for incorrect remarks

By Gürkan B

Nov 4, 2020

The slides and the trainer do not add a lot of value. Reading the recommended handbook provides the same benefit. Slides are difficult to follow. Presentations are not engaging.

By Jessilyn K

Sep 14, 2020

The instructor for this course was very monotone and showed no excitement for this. Additionally, none of the items spoken about on the lectures were given on the quiz.

By Pavel V

Oct 20, 2020

Course quizzes include content from the book that is marketed on every step, but the actual information that the quiz is asking you is not provided.

By Omar M

Jun 16, 2020

Didnt find it that helpful. A lot of theory and definitions/terminology. Very heavily based on the book. Can just buy it and read it

By Alex G

Jun 3, 2020

Basic concepts that are over-elaborated in a boring way. Lectures are basically reading slides; readings are not supplied.

By Muhamad A B A B

Jul 23, 2020

Course are not regularly supervised, explanation & content doesn't really match. no notes provided

By Suraj P

Apr 3, 2021

You will never get to download the certificate. Useless course.

By Anton M

Oct 11, 2020

You will have to buy extra books to complete the course

By Marek

Jul 30, 2020

to much text, That text has used difficult english

By Fan Z

May 27, 2021

a​ lot of theories, useless in practise.

By Muneeb K

Jul 14, 2021

some improvements require in 1st week

By Bence N

Sep 25, 2021

feels a little all over the place

By Karen P

Jun 18, 2021

No comment

By Lara E

Dec 29, 2021

Heads up! You can't pass the quizzes without purchasing a $100 book and waiting for it to be shipped to you. The first page of the course lists it as "recommended text" then in bold lettering says it's not required to pass the assignments YET ABSOLUTELY NO MENTION YOU WON'T PASS THE QUIZ WITHOUT IT!!!!!

I'm also finding out there is no way to unenroll from this Speciallization which is complete garbage. The Help Center is no help as the steps it tells you to take aren't even options. The best I could do was rate this course and warn other people against it. If I find this out the first dang day, just imagine what other hidden gems there are in this course. Students beware.

By Kristie W

Apr 21, 2020

Course is poorly put together. Power point videos are walls of text that the narrator talks over (doesn’t address any text on the page), and doesn’t give you a chance to read. At the same time, the course is severely lacking in information. Information provided by the narrator doesn’t remotely cover information in the quizzes.

Also, I’m disappointed by how heavily the course relies on an outside text that costs $105 and is not included with the cost of the course. Save your money on this course and just buy the text. The course is useless.

The juxtaposition of the topic being covered vs. the quality at which they are providing the information is humorous.

By George Z

Apr 29, 2020

The course is overly simplistic. It should only be recommended for students or people with no manufacturing experience. The text is out of print. Copies can be obtained via eBay but they are very expensive. I had better luck using "Six Sigma for Dummies." Last but not least, the videos are terrible. The slides are little more than bulleted outlines of what the speaker is saying. On top of that, the video streaming is buggy. I had constant problems. ( I am on a gigabit fiber connection and have no problem running other streaming services).