Chevron Left
Back to Six Sigma Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Six Sigma Principles by University System of Georgia

4.7
stars
5,853 ratings
1,406 reviews

About the Course

This course is for you if you are looking to learn more about Six Sigma or refresh your knowledge of the basic components of Six Sigma and Lean. Six Sigma skills are widely sought by employers both nationally and internationally. These skills have been proven to help improve business processes and performance. This course will introduce you to the purpose of Six Sigma and its value to an organization. You will learn about the basic principles of Six Sigma and Lean. Your instructors will introduce you to, and have you apply, some of the tools and metrics that are critical components of Six Sigma. This course will provide you with the basic knowledge of the principles, roles, and responsibilities of Six Sigma and Lean. Every module will include readings, videos, and a quiz to help make sure you understand the material and concepts that are studied. You will also have the opportunity to participate in discussions and peer review exercises to give you the opportunity to apply the material to your daily life. Our applied curriculum is built around the latest handbook The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition) and students will develop /learn the fundamentals of Six Sigma. Registration includes online access to course content, projects, and resources but does not include the companion text The Certified Six Sigma Handbook (2nd edition). The companion text is not required to complete the assignments. However, the text is a recognized handbook used by professionals in the field. Also, it is a highly recommended text for those wishing to move forward in Six Sigma and eventually gain certification from professional agencies such as American Society for Quality (ASQ)....

Top reviews

PS
Sep 10, 2020

Great course for begineers!! I suggest this course to those who are new to industry and dont know anything! Concepts are very well explained! Thanks Coursera! Thanks NOVARTIS FOR SPONSORING THE COURSE

KS
May 29, 2020

This course gives you a good overview of why six sigma and lean are necessary. It also gives you an understanding of how team dynamics play important roles and how brainstorming is an effective tool.

Filter by:

1051 - 1075 of 1,423 Reviews for Six Sigma Principles

By Craig E

Jan 30, 2019

G

By David S

Oct 23, 2018

G

By SAMUEL B

Oct 22, 2018

G

By Quan L

Aug 29, 2018

H

By mike s

Jul 21, 2018

v

By Aaron W

Jul 16, 2018

U

By Saulius P

Mar 3, 2018

V

By Wéry S

Jan 26, 2018

T

By Guhapranav

Jun 14, 2020

I personally feel that it is really a good course (4) to grab the fundamentals on the subject matter. I would have given a 5 star if there were more case studies. For instance, you need to decide what to do as a project manager. Decide what is your approach to be followed to generate ideas. Do brainstorming or affinity diagram or something else and justify your strand why you prefer to do so? I expected some real time company experts giving some lectures on some strategies / approaches and narrate their experiences in implementing the strategy / approaches. May be my expectation was quite high but still I felt that DMAIC approach was also missing. But for beginners it is an excellent course.

By Aromal R

Feb 27, 2020

Pretty okay. Can be completed quickly. The video lectures are not very indepth but a repetetion of the same content from the text book. So if more analysed content with deeper info is shared then that would be ideal. Questions asked also at times dont reflect any material covered. Overall its okay. A guided program imo would be more effective with real trainers and learners. Group participation is an effective thing but with lack of teaching assitants and professors it again becomes less effective.

By Tristan J P

Apr 20, 2020

The course was on point covered all the necessary things that the yellow belt should learn. However, there are lectures that needs more dynamics and image examples. terms discussed on week 1 such as Juran, TQM and deming's. I am not sure though if they will be thoroughly discussed on green belt but for this case, I had to search for them individually to understand and keep on track. If it is a pre-requisite of six sigma though, then it makes sense.

By Chris

Apr 14, 2020

Course was good - but since the book is not required, answers that are not in the videos and can only be found in the book should not be included.

But the course is a good overview and I am glad I completed it.

Some of the captions are messed up, and can be confusing because the speaker states something as a negative, but the caption marks it as a positive, e.g., the caption does not include the work "not."

By GLENNA A

Apr 25, 2021

This is a long course but it made me aware of the importance of team work in improving any function used at a company or office. Everyone has important input on processes and making a process better for internal employees and customers. It was a little hard to understand the process of making different charts. The only thing that would help would have been clearer instructions on how to set up the charts.

By Muhammad S

Nov 26, 2019

first thank you for giving me the opportunity to go through this course, but you just need to add more examples and explanation because many times I have to search on google to completely , try to provide the handbook material specially for who applied to take this course by financial aid, they are not able to pay for this course so how they can buy the book

By Kishore R

Jun 20, 2020

This course has taught me a the fundaments techniques in management methodology which allows an organisation to use data at different levels to eliminate defects in any process. I would suggest it is mandatory for any mechanical engineer to have a basic knowledge of six sigma principles which would be helpful for their career or academic researches.

By Vamshidhar R

Jul 7, 2018

I have always been a fan of coursera! Regarding this course in specific, pls do not be dependent on other sources for references - pls put in the text that you think is important. People come to coursera for a reason - they do not want to go to 10 other sources. All in all - the course I most enjoyed so far. Simple yet effective. Thanks coursera! <3

By Deborah L

Jul 13, 2018

It is a good introduction, easy to understand and the videos are not overwhelming. I regret that I felt compelled to buy the book, because all the information for the quizzes and the knowledge is not given in the videos. That's an additional fees to the Coursera course itself, and it should be clearly mentioned before applying to the course.

By María B M N

Sep 6, 2020

The course is short and focus on the tools. If you are looking for a guide to implement six sigma, you need to get advice elsewhere. I would recommend to have translation or at least subtitles in different languages, because if your English is not fluent enough, you may struggle understanding it because of the technical vocabulary.

By Abdelrahman A F

Feb 3, 2020

a very basic six sigma introduction, waiting to see more details in the upcoming courses.

also important to mention that it's very related to engineering, not to service providers or call centers. i thing some of the examples in the course could have been related to those which would make it more beneficial.

By George W

Aug 16, 2020

A good course with clear lecture videos, but I wish the videos can be more detailed so that I can answer some questions in exercises and quizzes better even though I know they might intend to let us find answers in the book. In addition, more practical examples can be given.

By Wesley P

Jul 7, 2019

I enjoyed very much the content learned and I feel it has contributed to my journey. I pretend to use the book and the content covered to seek an ASQ certification in the next month. Although I feel it could have more exercises and increase a little bit the difficult of it.

By Gabriel G M

Nov 1, 2019

Some of the information for the course is not correct, also the need of a textbook that is quite expensive makes the experience a bit limited. They say is not mandatory, but some questions from the quiz are from the book content. Good course, but can be improved.

By Fernando C

Jul 17, 2020

At the beginning there's a lot of information and definitions, also the presentations should show more visual information, not only text, I really liked the 2nd module because there were practical activities where you could practice what you have learned

By Karan B

Jun 16, 2020

A better approach is possible by taking an approach which involves use of diagrams and charts which would make the user sit in front gof the device til they have finished learning but I think the presentations used are a bit obsolete

By Stefanie S

Apr 17, 2021

The course is structured well and easy to understand. The recommended book is helpful reading. I think the first two assignments require rework. The course did not prepare properly for them. But after that, everything makes sense.