Chevron Left
Back to Troubleshooting and Debugging Techniques

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Troubleshooting and Debugging Techniques by Google

4.6
stars
2,890 ratings

About the Course

In this course, we'll give you the tools to quickly identify and solve real-world problems that you might come across in your IT role. We'll look at a bunch of different strategies and approaches for tackling the most common pitfalls of your code and IT infrastructure. You'll learn strategies for approaching almost any technical problem and then see how those apply to solving different real-world scenarios. We picked examples that include general system issues, issues with software that someone else wrote, and issues with programs that we wrote. We'll talk about problems that can affect any operating system, and we'll also look at challenges specific to certain platforms and scripting languages. We strongly recommend that you’ve taken the prior courses in this program, or already have knowledge of Python and Linux so that you can follow along with our troubleshooting examples....

Top reviews

JB

Invalid date

I didn't learn more about troubleshooting, but I did learn a bit. Also, I really like the animations in the videos. My brother thought that some of them were hilarious!

IB

Invalid date

This is my best course and I also like how immersive and passionate the instructor was. I thank her for all the skills she imparted and would to her on more courses in the future.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 565 Reviews for Troubleshooting and Debugging Techniques

By Moulay A E T

Dec 23, 2023

ok

By Roberto

Mar 11, 2021

ok

By Md. T H

Jul 20, 2020

gg

By Nishonov X A o

Dec 2, 2022

5

By Michael E

Nov 4, 2020

This was a great course and the instructor came across as really well prepared and very knowledgable. Unfortunately a big chunk of the content was top be consumed in 'listen only' mode because there was no way how one could replicate the examples on one's own computer.

I am not an expert enough to know how this could be done technically but I am sure there is a way, perhaps starting with giving students the opportunity to download all the scripts used in this course o0n their computer.

And once again, the tasks in the Qwiklabs lab fluctuated from ridiculously easy to far too complex. I think you urgently need to think about the connection between what is being learned in a given segment of a course and what you ask for in a task. It is frustrating if one experiences to be totally stuck because unable to recall knowledge that was being taught three courses ago.

By Joanna S

Feb 7, 2021

One of Google's better courses, with the usual inscrutable fails seemingly endemic to these Google IT cert programs. While the content tails off a bit at the end in terms of complexity, it is an excellent overview of troubleshooting and debugging. Amanda is an engaging and focused instructor, and the vast majority of video tasks put you right into the problem-solving mindset you'll need to succeed in IT. The course does suffer from the same sort of Qwiklab bitrot I've seen in other Google IT courses -- the last assignment's Google-hosted .csv file was missing when I completed this course. Perhaps Google should troubleshoot and fix that?

By Shreeharsha G

Apr 18, 2020

This is a good course on troubleshooting and debugging. I think the subject is so vast that the deeper aspects of performance may not be covered at the hardware level or application level. Scenarios with cloud and on-premise examples would have been great. If there is a broader course covering these concepts of performance in on-premise and cloud would be great.

By Aputsiak N J

Mar 4, 2021

The course itself was very informative, and you learn really to use cool methods, tools, and get a solid explanation of how to approach troubleshooting and debugging techniques. A downside: Qwiklabs assessments was either too easy, or as in week 4 disconnected material and therefore way too hard for me. Learned a lot, 4 out of 5!

By Joseph A L

May 2, 2021

Good class. Take notes and record the commands used in the online exams. Instead of trying to duplicate the programs, debug your own to explore the commands discussed. The section on Linux Performance Observability and Performance Tuning Tools is most useful. I wrote a program to process the video text for important items.

By Regis N

May 12, 2020

Great course! The only reason im giving 4 stars is because there were many times I wished I could play around with the scripts Amanda was using but I couldn't download it on my pc. Other than that, it was a very informative course, loved learning about the different troubleshooting and debugging techniques.

By Dominik B

Feb 10, 2022

The course provides a good overview on debugging and troubleshooting and in some cases deeper insights into Linux commands that help to pinpoint the root cause of a problem. However, some of the quizzes and especially the labs are too easy and in some cases don't match the course content well.

By Preston M

Sep 13, 2020

The content was good and it was presented well. There is very little Python in this course and some is above the specialization (so far) and some is much more approachable. While troubleshooting and debugging are very important, this course seemed focused on such a wide set of potential issues.

By Cameron W

Jul 6, 2023

Good course, though not a ton of technical material. It's more focused on general, abstract ways to think through how to solve problems. You get to practice with Python which is nice, but otherwise do not receive a ton of new technical knowledge.

By Cristian A L V

Jul 21, 2020

The structure of the course is very good, many subjects are treated in a didactic and striking way. There is confusion in the practice exercises, it is recommended to improve them. Otherwise, I think it is a very good course.

By Paulo C

Jan 21, 2021

there were some elements in the code where based on information given and research asked the praticals required an advanced understanding. Am still deciding if that was a good or bad thing. Otherwise it was brilliant

By Hafsa A

Jun 17, 2020

It is very interesting course, I like the course material, the organisation and the way it was presented.

However, the last lab assessment had some issues and took me more than a week for the issues to be resolved.

By Alejandro A S

Sep 11, 2020

A lot of information and tools to fix typical problems in IT environments. The course goes not deep because some subjects would take entire courses, so it's a good big picture course.

By Roberto E M P

Sep 20, 2023

All the contents are very relevant to troubleshooting and debugging. However, I felt there could have been more elaboration to address the knowledge needed to pass the Qwiklabs.

By Harshit G

May 27, 2020

Knowledgeable content, but they should show more practical exercises and after taking 2-3 test of students on practical knowledge, they should give him the graded assessment.

By Joseph B

Jan 6, 2024

I didn't learn more about troubleshooting, but I did learn a bit. Also, I really like the animations in the videos. My brother thought that some of them were hilarious!

By Karl J

Aug 6, 2020

All but the last lab were cut and paste, but the last lab was great, getting a hint but having to think about the solution using the tools learned in the course.

By Mcvean S

Jul 4, 2020

It is a helpful course to learn how to debug possible issues in your computer. A must do for a person looking for improving their troubleshooting skills in IT!

By Evan B

Aug 28, 2020

Super fun and very interesting. The lessons at the end were very dry, but I could see how they would help those who have trouble managing their time.

By Mindaugas Š

Nov 4, 2020

This course is interesting and covers a lot of things. The only thing that would be beneficial is to have more homework assignments or quizzes.

By Stefano O

May 21, 2023

Extremely important knowledge in this course. Unfortunately half of the labs were bugged, but in a 10 days time the support fixed them all.