Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,760 ratings
1,012 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

AS
Apr 12, 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

BG
Aug 3, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 998 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By F A

Aug 7, 2018

Very well structured and easy to follow classes.

All Designers should learn this bases.

By D.S. L

Mar 27, 2021

This course is great for beginners and self taught intermediates! Easy to understand!

By Alejandro B

Jul 4, 2020

Excelente curso básico en conocimientos de tipografía, armado de texto y composición.

By Денис

Mar 31, 2017

Great course! Thank you for wide and deep introduction in the world of typograph.

.

By Patel C M

Mar 17, 2021

additional learning and also by the assignment subject have practical implementation

By Hibah D

Apr 24, 2020

Really great course and informative! I enjoyed it and was a bit sad that it's short!

By Dana L

Sep 9, 2018

Very interesting and important course to those who wish to become a graphic designer

By Khadijah A

Oct 6, 2016

Great and organized material in a very step by step building of skills. Great class!

By Joe C

May 13, 2016

this was a quick but engaging introduction to typography and typographical concepts.

By Tanja S

Jan 20, 2021

The course have all the pieces that we need to have a complete learning experience.

By Mohammad W M S

Oct 12, 2020

Great course. I learned a lot of things that was unknown to me as graphic designer.

By Oyin Z

Apr 15, 2020

If your looking to improve your knowledge about typography, your in the right place

By Sergio A G R

Mar 5, 2020

I think the whole course was very good in terms of content and general was amazing.

By �SAGNIK K

Jun 28, 2020

I'm very much grateful to coursera for organizing this type of informative course.

By John M

Sep 13, 2019

Anther does a great job introducing and opening you up to the world of typography.

By Jose A G R

Aug 16, 2019

Great course, easy to understand, a teacher with a lot of knoledge on the topic...

By Ken M

Jul 9, 2017

Wonderfully informative intro to typography, its history and creative application.

By Olena T

Jun 5, 2017

Great course that covers basics you need to know in order to move in GD direction!

By Magdalena S

Mar 2, 2017

You will never look at any text/page/book/poster the same way again. Great course!

By Ashley K

Dec 16, 2016

I learned quite a bit for it just being introductory. Would definitely recommend.

By Monika R

Apr 13, 2021

Excelente curso, só a plataforma que deixou a desejar na hora de avaliar colegas.

By Herath M S U H

Dec 21, 2020

Well organized lessons. Professional lecture. Good inspirations and course tools.

By Smith B

Aug 25, 2020

Thank you so much for the interesting curriculum. It helps broaden my creativity.

By Sandhya S

Jun 1, 2020

This was an interesting course and I have gained a new perspective on typography.

By SUVRA D

Feb 5, 2020

The course is really exciting and fun. I got to learn many new things. Thank you!