Chevron Left
Back to Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments by Duke University

4.6
stars
2,521 ratings
684 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Top reviews

FY
Jul 5, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM
Jun 10, 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 675 Reviews for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

By Berren D

Oct 26, 2020

I learned a lot about arguments and reasoning, and the Professor does a good job explaining things. The lectures, too, are (for the most part) not too long and not too short.

By Thảo Q N

May 10, 2020

This course helps me improve knowledge about arguments a lot. I studied many interesting things with a friendly professor. But I found hard to apply it to practice.

By Bridgette F

Jul 15, 2019

The Instructor Is Fun,I Really Enjoyed The Entire Course Up Until The Awful FInal Quiz.I Have Not Encountered Another Final Test/Quiz Quite As Annoying As This One.

By Andrew C

Nov 16, 2016

An excellent course, but it is hard going (took me 3 attempts to get through the final quiz!). Recommend for anyone interested in how people present arguments.

By Guillermo P

Aug 4, 2017

Very well explained every aspect of an argument with examples explained in great detail. Clearly lot of work has put into this and I thank everyone for it.

By Ricky S S

Oct 18, 2017

Interesting view on how to construct and deconstruct arguments. Not enough focus on more complex issues though. The examples, in general, were too simple.

By Gregory R

Sep 8, 2020

Professor was fun and entertaining. This course provided information on how to break down an argument and actually get more out of what you are reading.

By Nargis l

Jul 28, 2017

It was interesting working through this course and though I had to repeat my assignments I understood that I need to enhance my skills in argumentation.

By Will M

Dec 28, 2016

Weekly quizzes instead of just the final (that actually counts for a grade) would be very helpful to me, but it was a great course and I learned a lot!

By Vincent A

Aug 6, 2020

Really enjoyed the course, although some of the videos did give me grief because of the length. Loved learning all the content throughout though.

By David B

Nov 3, 2020

Algunas veces, los subtítulos, tanto en español como en inglés, tienen desfase conforme corre el video. Fuera de eso, es un excelente curso >o<

By Mario A P G

Oct 30, 2020

The course is unusual but great, as a student at University, having a course about thinking it helps to check what I'm saying before to do it.

By Win K K

Jul 15, 2020

I do enjoy it but this course is mainly focused on theory. Sometimes, it is hard to understand and I still think it should be more practical.

By wai c c

Sep 24, 2016

I do enjoy the course through interaction with other participants and like to express my sincere gratitude to Coursera and Duke University.

By Darryl C

Apr 3, 2017

No complaints. This course revealed im more interested in the interpersonal dynamic of influence and persuasion vs the logic of arguments.

By Fabio C S

Apr 20, 2020

This is a wonderful basis to understand how can the arguments are made and what are the most basic element to take into account !!

By Delamon R

Jul 9, 2017

great course! but would have been fun if every example throughout had been from a real historical argument (no made up examples).

By Jacquelyn C M

Oct 19, 2020

Much more difficult than I anticipated. Confusing. But I did learn a lot and took tons of notes, so I will review. Thank you.

By 李保燃

May 1, 2017

The course is related with language and logical analysis , so it's a little hard to learn because my English is very poor.

By Fabio D B

May 19, 2020

It's very well-thought. The examples are clear and the explanations are simple.

It lacks more practice exercises, though.

By Karen M

May 18, 2020

An exciting course. This one focusses on the importance and impact of interpretation and language in a conversation.

By Joe B

Apr 17, 2020

I learned a lot about making concise, effective arguments and how to dissect others. Very informative. Thank you.

By Bilal M S

Jun 5, 2020

A well-rounded course. Got bored during some lectures due to the monotonous delivery by the instructor.

By Sarah D

Feb 5, 2019

Interesting and helpful in becoming more analytical. Also helped to raise awareness of language usage