Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
4,385 ratings
916 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC
Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 897 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Mario I

Feb 29, 2016

Excellent course, covering an ample field in finance and economics. Most importantly, top quality educators.

By Alex B

Feb 27, 2016

Educative content. Very good for people who want to have a better understanding about the financial markets.

By Rodolfo J H

Jun 29, 2020

Thanks for the general overview to financial markets it will be very helpfull for my career. Merci beaucoup

By Elly M

Apr 4, 2018

The course content was easy to follow and the instructors were very good at explaining the concepts clearly

By DR I C

Mar 28, 2017

I found this to be a very well put together Course. If I do not offend may I comment on the verbal delivery

By Ayasha A

Jul 7, 2019

This course me helped me a lot to learn new aspects related with financial market term. Thank you courser.

By Ana L C d M

May 5, 2016

Superb course! The topics are beautifully explained. Very pragmatic and systematic approach to the issues.

By Nikolaos S

Nov 9, 2020

Excellent content by true professionals trying to explain complex financial matters as simple as they can

By Gustavo B F

Sep 7, 2020

Curso sensacional. Dá uma visão sensacional do mercado financeiro, não deixa passar nada, super completo.

By Sabine K

Oct 31, 2017

good course on basics of bond and equity markets, incl link with monetary policy and macroeconomic state.

By Solomon A

Oct 5, 2017

Great course. Very practical with many guest lectures who give great insights in their respective fields.

By ANIBAL H B

Oct 3, 2017

EXCELENTE CURSO, MUY BUENA DIDÁCTICA Y MUY COMPLETOS LOS MATERIALES. ME GUSTO MUCHO EL ABORDAJE DE TEMAS

By Brandon R

Nov 13, 2016

Learned a lot in this course. Will definitely review it a second time to fully understand all concepts!

By Leonardo C d J

Sep 17, 2020

An incredible course taught by excellent professors from a fantastic university! I highly recommend it!

By Apurv s

May 17, 2020

The course is really helpful in learning the financial market with great content and engaging questions

By Eric L

Apr 29, 2020

Very well done. No complaints. I recommend this to anyone looking to educate themselves on this topic.

By Mike

Feb 29, 2020

This course gives a great baseline insight into how financial markets work alongside government policy.

By Ricardo B M

Oct 18, 2019

Good complete view of the financial market for beginners, with an easy to understand and fun approach.

By Jeronimo

Nov 30, 2017

Excelente curso. Recomendado para todo aquel interesado en aprender sobre el mundo de las inversiones.

By WASIU A A

Sep 5, 2017

This program has reformed me completely; I am now feeling like a pro admist my feloow analyst at work.

By Francisco J S L

Jun 25, 2017

Very simple and understandable explanations. Perfect learning pace and driven by really nice teachers.

By SHITULISA P

Jun 10, 2020

I earned so much knowledge from this course and now I have a vast and clear idea of financial market.

By Mohamed A E M Y R

Jun 11, 2020

Step By Step Enrolls you into the markets world with detailed examples and numerous

simulation cases.

By Lusine A

May 3, 2020

I'm excited to complete this amazing course. Very good both for beginners and professionals. Thanks!

By Anas M M A

Apr 27, 2020

A very beautifully constructed course, with vast information comprehensibly reduces to few sessions.