Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.8
stars
5,439 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC

Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,137 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Johry L

Mar 4, 2019

This course provided me a thorough understanding of Financial Market. I would recommend all of those wish to get thorough financial market understanding, should enroll for this course.

By Neeraj J

Sep 18, 2016

I am very happy that I took the course and completed it. It was very insightful and the Michel was amazing in his lectures. I look forward to taking few more courses Thank you to all.

By Juan R

Jun 12, 2016

Incredible Course! Thumbs up! Finance is a fundamental aspect of our lives and we would all do well understanding how we can use the markets to improve our future. Thank You very much

By Venkatesh A

Jan 15, 2018

As a beginner into world of finance, find this module completely intriguing, informative and a peek through of what generally is what. Moving onto to module two for more learning :)

By Lenara M

May 11, 2016

Absolutely great course both in terms of content and delivery. A big thank you to the lecturers and course organizers and especially to Michel (loved all his interactive examples)!

By Luca F

May 2, 2021

Michel Girardin is a great professor, good examples and clear graphs. Course is well weighted. Please review subtitles; there are so many errors ( year instead of yield and so on)

By LUIS G

Nov 16, 2020

This course is really amazing and funny. Made it easier to understand complex concepts that I struggled at University. Once I started the lessons I could not stop. Just amazing.

By Jason E

Nov 8, 2020

It was the perfect combination of lecture, real life examples, and testing of knowledge. I love the self paced approach and the readings that accompany the course. Very well done!

By SUMAN K

May 7, 2019

Fantastic course on the basics of financial markets. Concepts have been explained in a very interesting manner, keeping the interest of the participant high throughout the course.

By Erjon

May 1, 2019

I enjoyed every minute of this course. The course is structured perfectly and the professors are very professional and the best i have ever had the pleaser to listen to.

Thank you

By Wilson D J

Mar 25, 2018

I like this course as it is perfect for beginners like me. I was able to learn a lot of concepts. It helps that I can retake the course again and again so that I would not forget

By Ralph H

Mar 29, 2020

I am very happy with the course material and the presentations by Michel, in particular for the practical examples which help a lot to understand the underlying concepts better.

By Liya C

Nov 6, 2017

This class review Essential concepts of investment- risk & return, within the framework of Macroeconomic. It's the first listen teaching what to put in a diversified portfolio.

By Parth D

Nov 9, 2020

Got to learn a lot about Finance in this course , seemingly complicated topics related to investment management were made very easy in this course . I love Professor Michele .

By Evan B

May 20, 2019

The instructors present many concrete examples for highly conceptual material. This approach makes learning and extrapolating easy. I recommend the course without reservation.

By Syed A

Oct 21, 2020

Very Informative Course. Contained practical information which is applicable in modern day scenario. Faculty we explained the concepts crisp and clean with suitable examples.

By Aman J

Nov 6, 2021

One of the most well crafted course on this website the complementary readings were really helpful and the examples professor Michel used made the course really interesting.

By Tay Y M

Mar 11, 2020

Awesome lecturers and contents. Lively presentation with many examples. I find it useful for a beginner like myself to understand the financial baisics. Highly recommended!

By Akmaral A

Dec 31, 2020

Thanks for an amazing course! I didn't like finance that much cause simply I didn't undertand it. Now with that Coursera course it got really comprehensible.

Thanks a lot!

By Dharma K

Mar 22, 2021

I am very impressed with knowledge of all the faculty from various backgrounds. All professors are great, special thanks to Michel for making the class very interesting.

By Mukesh A

Dec 24, 2018

Dr. Michel has an extremely intuitive and easy way to explain complex topics. Highly recommend even if you have been working in financial industry for a number of years.

By Suthakhar P

Dec 10, 2018

It was a great course for beginners like me. Professor Michel was fabulous with his explanations and examples. Looking forward for the second part of the specialization.

By Ben W

Apr 14, 2017

This course has been an amazing experience that broadened my understanding of financial markets! I recommend it to anyone interested in this area and wants to pursue it.

By Diana Z C A

Oct 4, 2016

Great course for those who want to better understand how main financial markets work. Lessons are short but precise and the readings for each module are worth the time.