Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,690 ratings
527 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 509 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Jay A

Apr 17, 2017

Excellent!

By David G

Dec 13, 2016

great

By Ting Y M

May 09, 2016

It's a good review of concepts for people who already have some financial background knowledge. The professors are very clear in conducting the course in English and have used very innovative demonstrations of examples to illustrate abstract concepts.

By Alex B

Feb 27, 2016

Educative content. Very good for people who want to have a better understanding about the financial markets.

By Ana L C d M

May 05, 2016

Superb course! The topics are beautifully explained. Very pragmatic and systematic approach to the issues.

By Marcio O

Jun 09, 2016

Great overview of how the Financial Markets work and connects to your life.

By Miona B

Mar 26, 2016

I finally understand all the basics about Bonds and Equities and how they react to changes in markets. Great course for all people who are interested in financial markets and their functioning.

By LINUS L Y A

Jun 17, 2016

clear and easy to follow

By Matias C

Jun 02, 2017

Excellent. Learned a lot. Appreciate all the time and the good advice from professors.

By Dimitri C

May 13, 2016

This specialization is great! I really enjoyed discovering the basics of financial markets through the internet, it's a (not so) new way of learning, and it was completely adapted to my learning methodology. This way of teaching and transmitting informations is very intuitive, so you don't get all the inconvenient of a normal class. But my opinion might be biased, as I am currently studying Economics at the University of Geneva, and therefore Dr. Girardin Is my teacher every week!

It's strange to see your teacher face to face Monday morning, and later on your computer when studying!

Can't wait to complete the next ones!

By Sujnani G

Jul 03, 2016

If a person new to finance then its good to refer here.

By Aditya J

Apr 22, 2016

very good material as well as way of presenting it . :) :)

By Mario A L G

Jun 09, 2017

I like how the course is intended to be short, descriptive, but very thoughtful!

By Jinglei G

Aug 11, 2016

ver

By MALIK A O B

Jan 26, 2018

I got a broader understanding of the financial markets, especially from the practical side, and that's what I looked for.

thanks..

By Abanob R

Dec 27, 2016

very useful to help you in understanding how financial markets work , and how they react to number of variables especially Economic and monetary variables

By DR I C

Mar 28, 2017

I found this to be a very well put together Course. If I do not offend may I comment on the verbal delivery

By Jonathan M

May 29, 2017

I

By Luciano M

Apr 08, 2018

Excellent course with well-prepared professors.

By Shrikant S

Jul 31, 2017

I strongly recommend this course. The course material is great and various investment concepts are thoroughly explained with simple examples. The course is very resourceful for getting basic understanding of how financial market works.

By Mrinmayi M

Aug 28, 2016

This course has helped me a lot in deep study regarding the understanding the financial markets.

By David K

Aug 28, 2017

Very good introduction to Financial Markets and the economic instruments that dictate market conditions/environments. This a solid introductory framework that is necessary before getting more involved with complex investment vehicles. The class has excellent supplemental readings as well.

By Duke N

Sep 02, 2016

Very informative course

By Kim J

Aug 10, 2016

Great course with good instructors.

By bwendelele d

Jul 30, 2017

Good teachers and very interesting lesson