Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
2,860 ratings
569 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

SA

Feb 01, 2020

All the instructors were very knowledgeable and used lots of real life examples to explain the theory. They were also kind of funny and turned a "stiff" topic into a lively and fascinating story.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 554 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Ana L C d M

May 05, 2016

Superb course! The topics are beautifully explained. Very pragmatic and systematic approach to the issues.

By Sabine K

Oct 31, 2017

good course on basics of bond and equity markets, incl link with monetary policy and macroeconomic state.

By Solomon A

Oct 05, 2017

Great course. Very practical with many guest lectures who give great insights in their respective fields.

By ANIBAL H B

Oct 03, 2017

EXCELENTE CURSO, MUY BUENA DIDÁCTICA Y MUY COMPLETOS LOS MATERIALES. ME GUSTO MUCHO EL ABORDAJE DE TEMAS

By Brandon R

Nov 13, 2016

Learned a lot in this course. Will definitely review it a second time to fully understand all concepts!

By Michael H

Feb 29, 2020

This course gives a great baseline insight into how financial markets work alongside government policy.

By Ricardo B M

Oct 18, 2019

Good complete view of the financial market for beginners, with an easy to understand and fun approach.

By Jeronimo

Dec 01, 2017

Excelente curso. Recomendado para todo aquel interesado en aprender sobre el mundo de las inversiones.

By WASIU A A

Sep 05, 2017

This program has reformed me completely; I am now feeling like a pro admist my feloow analyst at work.

By Francisco J S L

Jun 25, 2017

Very simple and understandable explanations. Perfect learning pace and driven by really nice teachers.

By Stanislau A

May 21, 2019

Sometimes suggested additional materials are too difficult and does not relevant to particular topic

By Ling G

Nov 17, 2017

perfect for the learner who want to have a basic understanding of the financial market. Thank you!!!

By Maxim S

Sep 05, 2016

Great course! Clear, structured and useful. Very nice instructors make it interesting and enjoyable.

By Vedang

Jan 05, 2020

I want to revise this course again and again as it is very essential for new entrant in this field.

By Mishaal A

Mar 28, 2020

An excellent course - very well explained with quiz questions that really test your understanding.

By Panagiotis D

Jun 05, 2019

Covers pretty much all the basics. The material is organized and presented in an efficient manner.

By Devang S

Jun 18, 2017

Enriching experience. Kudos to the teachers for making the session very interesting and lively. :)

By Deleted A

Feb 26, 2016

This course has really helped me to better understand financial markets, especially bonds market.

By Kamal A

Dec 02, 2018

Great Course, I learnt many things. This course gives us insights of broad level economics also.

By Mayank A

Feb 08, 2018

A very informative learning where concepts were explained with ease and very understandable way.

By Sylwia D

Oct 25, 2017

I have enjoyed every single lesson a lot! Very interesting course and very well done! Thank you!

By Phuong N

Aug 24, 2017

Wonderful course. I can consume basic concepts with eases and i am confident to move on. Thanks!

By ANOUTHANONG X

Jul 16, 2017

it is a good course to create the awareness and specific skills and techniques to the investment

By Mrinmayi M

Aug 28, 2016

This course has helped me a lot in deep study regarding the understanding the financial markets.

By Disha P

Mar 19, 2020

Very relevant content and delivered with relatable examples to cement the concept in your mind.