Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
4,982 ratings
1,223 reviews

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

BB

Mar 31, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

TM

May 23, 2021

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 1,246 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By Lyuba R

May 30, 2020

Excellent, comprehensive and thorough class covering the basic fundamentals of UI/UX, with a concentration on UI.

By Layo R

Nov 11, 2019

A great and insightful approach and very inline for people with a graphic design/ visual communication background.

By John M

Sep 28, 2019

Michael is a gifted sherpa, leading us through the precarious terrain of graphic design in its sundry expressions.

By Muhammad A

Feb 23, 2021

it covers basic stuff very nicely. Has changed the way i used to look at the stuff!! awesome job Mr. Worthington.

By Kwok Y X N

May 30, 2020

Good instructor, enjoyable hands-on activities. Learnt a lot about UI in this course, would definitely recommend!

By Lauren P

May 18, 2020

This was a really nice course for beginners. I really enjoyed the project and getting to see other students work.

By Mayank A

Aug 28, 2019

The course was amazing I got to learn many new things about UI/ UX Design which will help me in future endeavors.

By Ricardo M

Feb 23, 2022

V​ery good course, it has a good pace and even though it is for beginners, doesn 't feel like it is for dummies.

By Dariia S

Mar 18, 2021

It was very helpful course! We did a lot of practice but in same time it was not to much complicated! I love it!

By Dominika C

May 4, 2020

Very good for beginners, a great way to understand what UI/UX Design is and to try a simple hands-on assignment.

By Tosique A

Jun 11, 2021

Thanks a lot CALARTS and the instructor course was very helpful and fun and thanks to all the mates for review.

By trung n

May 10, 2021

I really like how the instructor explain, teaching us about UI design, the knowlege is detailed and good for me

By Maryam A M

Mar 2, 2021

Awesome course! Really enjoyed it. I've done various online courses and this was probably one of my favourites.

By Manuela B

Oct 28, 2020

Excellent, it is a great idea to start from a interface design centered idea. Then you can expand you horizons.

By Katie P

Sep 28, 2020

This was an excellent start to understanding UI design. I can't wait to complete all of the courses in this set

By Raj R S

May 31, 2020

The course structure is very well designed for any beginner to get a solid foundation in User Interface Design.

By RAHUL T

May 7, 2020

This course explains the fundamentals of UI/UX Design in a very easy to learn way. I enjoyed doing this course.

By Maham B

Sep 29, 2019

I enjoyed the course! The instructor instructor really well. I loved how assignments were linked to one another

By WIRA A S

Mar 14, 2021

So happy for this course, because i gained so much basic knowledge about visual elements on design. Thank you!

By perky l

Feb 25, 2021

Thank you for the amazing lectures and discussions! I learned a lot and benefited from your course! Thank you!

By Nicolas B

Jun 9, 2019

I learned how useful and practical User Interface has become.

It has multiple application to almost any product

By Francisco R

Jun 11, 2021

I am very happy to have completed the course and to have carried out a real project to apply to my portfolio.

By PAULO C

Jan 7, 2019

It is being amazing to be part of this course. The classes are very structured and the content is very clear.

By Marco C

Nov 23, 2020

Very well explained, I learned a lot about UI UX design and probably will continue the rest of the courses.

By Dijup T

Jul 4, 2019

this course is helping me to be on structure and to follow a simple rules to add more meaning to our UI/UX.