Chevron Left
Back to Customer Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Customer Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
9,700 ratings
2,152 reviews

About the Course

Data about our browsing and buying patterns are everywhere. From credit card transactions and online shopping carts, to customer loyalty programs and user-generated ratings/reviews, there is a staggering amount of data that can be used to describe our past buying behaviors, predict future ones, and prescribe new ways to influence future purchasing decisions. In this course, four of Wharton’s top marketing professors will provide an overview of key areas of customer analytics: descriptive analytics, predictive analytics, prescriptive analytics, and their application to real-world business practices including Amazon, Google, and Starbucks to name a few. This course provides an overview of the field of analytics so that you can make informed business decisions. It is an introduction to the theory of customer analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform customer analytics. Course Learning Outcomes: After completing the course learners will be able to... Describe the major methods of customer data collection used by companies and understand how this data can inform business decisions Describe the main tools used to predict customer behavior and identify the appropriate uses for each tool Communicate key ideas about customer analytics and how the field informs business decisions Communicate the history of customer analytics and latest best practices at top firms...

Top reviews

ND
Jan 30, 2019

Though I have worked on Customer Analytics with my previous work experiences and also on Surveys etc at George Brown College Canada, this module was more than insightful. Lots of learning to learn eh!

MA
Aug 4, 2020

This course includes a comprehensive overview of the all the basic models that are used to analyze data concerning customer behavior. The real-life examples made it easier to relate to those theories.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 2,090 Reviews for Customer Analytics

By Jose B

Jul 18, 2018

Great intro to descriptive, predictive and prescriptive. Good simple excel examples. Quizz questions are convoluted at times IMHO and I am PhD. (not talking about the anti-regurgitation questions. I liked those.) It hard to make quizz questions to really test knowledge... KEY concepts RFM, NPS, regression. missing: correlation matrix perhaps. would like to see a full case such as capital one or UPS. review of industry tools in descriptive was useful. Cool that you show the campus... This is my desk, this is my backyard where I had this aha moment, here is the cafeteria... :)

By Shari O

Mar 27, 2020

Really enjoyed this course, the interactive scenarios were most helpful in digesting the information and making it tangible. It’s a great managerial course! Not a math fanatic, and so pleased this course isn’t about performing the math, it’s about evaluating the story the data tells and making data driven decisions. Amazing to have the opportunity to be taught by world renowned scholars at a price I can afford! Can’t wait to get through the rest of the courses and receive my UPENN certificate! Might even get the hoodie to match ;)

Thanks for making this accessible!

By Sammam S

May 23, 2020

This course was an amazing experience. It was very interesting to know how our small activities can have a much larger effect on the company's decisions and product policies. It was given a fundamental idea about the science behind marketing and how data analytics is coherently related to the business decisions. This course has encouraged me to start my learning on data analytics and data sciences too. Thank you all the instructors for coming up with such interesting content with relatable examples and explanations. I hope to complete the specialization.

By Vishal S

Apr 24, 2020

The course was great. It gave me real great insights that how the data that we have in today's world and in the times coming can positively impact our customer lifetime value, profits, sales, and the overall business just by exploring it properly and then predicting accordingly to optimize and take important decisions. It also taught me the importance of the right model. It gave me a new point of view towards our world by the everything is connected. I got this course on financial aid and I am very thankful for it because this was very beneficial.

By Girija N

Feb 8, 2016

Excellent course material and very simply put together lecture. The pdf continuity is incomplete without listening to the AV of the lecture. It is very akin to physically attending a live lecture. Excellent resources with indepth and professional approach, suiting the SOP s in the real commercial world.And can be immediately adapted to practice. A well thought blend of the current SOPs with the course material can bring about customized solution for all the sectors, especially the service sector where customer satisfaction equals to quality

By Ricardo M L R

Jun 6, 2020

Great Course, even though some of the videos have some year now. I would be an added value if could add some case of studies in deeper development of the Predictive model, Optimization and Decision to make. I find the extra material (as the paper "probability model for customer base") outstanding even those material has awakened of my desire to look into the predictive model refresh calculus and statistical for better understanding. still, a have some problem to implement the CLV formula ... looking forward to the next course

By Koey H

Sep 27, 2015

I really enjoyed the module. It was brief but opened up new perspectives nonetheless. I love the flow and structure of the course. Every professor was concise and great teachers - I personally found the summary at the end of each week's module particularly useful. I also want to say thanks to Prof Fader and Prof Bradlow for their impassioned lecture modules. It was such a great privilege to be able to be part of this Customer Analytics module on Coursera offered by the Wharton School.

Cheers, Koey, from Singapore.

By JAVIER D L R A

Jul 5, 2017

This course of customer analyticis is very useful for all those involved in the decision making of a company, as it allows you to solve problems from the calculation of optimal prices, determine the cancellation of a membership among other practical cases.

For this it is based on a methodology of five points and is based on subjects such as economics, marketing and statistics.

As an economist I highly recommend this course if you wish to learn how to analyze and solve a problem in the information age.

By Suriyakandhan

May 7, 2020

This course was phenomenal which gave overview of exploratory, descriptive , Predictive and Prescriptive analytics. Learnt Different way of survey's and top companies which can do for you. Regression, Importance of RFM, CLV and probability models and Customer analytics scenario from 1960 to till date. How data will be monetized and Top companies uses advanced analytics for data collection and analyze using NLP's and so much. Best course if you are keen on analytics and marketing.

By Gabriel R d S

Oct 5, 2019

Great content, besides week one, all the tests are challenging. The only problems I see is that the last time the staff answer a question was three years ago, the peers/network aspect could be better and also some of the more difficult part of the content was not really explained (they actually give you directions if you want to have a deeper understanding, still some question on the quizzes were about those subjects). Nonetheless, i found it amazing and quite practical.

By K R A

May 26, 2020

The course Customer Analytics is really helpful in understanding and exploring how a customer is merely not a customer but a lot of data points connected together. The applications discussed in the course are really an eye-opener and helps you relate to how customer lifetime value and advertisements are targetted. I would strongly recommend this course for anyone who would like to start a career in the field of analytics as this helps in getting the applications right.

By Miss S K T

May 20, 2020

This has been a very interesting course and I recommend it to all who are in any field of business as in the end its about your customers or consumers, getting to know how to track customer behavior and how firms use this data to analyze predict and re-target is the today and the future of business and consumer loyalty! Great methodology and curriculum of teachers!

Thank you, every minute spent on this course was worth it!. I will continue my research...

Suzie K.T.

By Carlos M B B

Jul 6, 2020

Hello everyone, taking this course at Wharton Online has allowed me to become aware that, in reality, here in Peru our service companies does not been aware of the importance of organizing the information that is available about the habits and preferences of customers, ignoring the value that it will bring to our return on investment, translating into low profits and low profitability. Only with good training and listen to their customers, improvement can be started.

By Goldi T

May 7, 2020

The course provides a good overview of various analytical methods used in Business. The course instructors did a very good job of formulating and delivering high-quality content. I especially liked the references from various academic research on the topic. The study material and powerpoints were very well organized. However, the addition of some assignments on basic analytical problems using excel/R/SPSS, etc. could have added to the effectiveness of the course.

By Wang D

Nov 6, 2016

It is a inspiring course where people get some ideas on where to start on analytics in marketing. The idea provided in the course is also interesting. Good for those who are new to marketing with analytics. Upon completion, I would like to get some statistics courses to bring my ideas into real testable experiments. Besides, the session introducing the study on measure corporate value with their customer values is also inspiring. I do love this course! Thanks!

By Todd L

Aug 8, 2018

Last lecturer was the best -- most engaging and exciting. Regression was easy (but also glossed over) much more could be said there.

The dean lecturer (with the Mary/Sharmila example) was good too, but there was a little racial bias at making Sharmila (the black female sounding name) the customer who was likely to churn.

This seems to me to be the most exciting all the 4 types of analytics. I would definitely take a whole course based on just this topic alone.

By Honey S

Jan 6, 2019

Right now, I'm working on how to apply this to our company which is a re-seller of mostly corporate needs such as laptops, switches, routers down to the office supplies needed using telemarketing method of sales. With a family-run management, it is difficult to get the management on board about the benefits of data gathering and data exploration as of the moment but I hope to present a way so I could let them see the benefits of data analytics

By Dustin C

Oct 26, 2020

Content is excellent and the most important aspect, the teacher, was exactly what you want. What do I mean? Well, we’ve all had the terrible teacher who reads from the slide in a monotone voice. This course has none of that. All the presenters move, use gestures, tone, and inflection. I found it very easy to stay engaged. I am simultaneously taking another course that is extremely boring and the contrast is very apparent. Highly recommend.

By ARKA P P

Sep 7, 2018

Although this is my first course with Coursera, But this the best online course I have ever taken, Not only the faculties are great, But also their passion for the subject is very contagious( makes a student equally passionate), Loads of thanks to coursera for the extremely user-friendly interface of their website and making this excellent course accesible. I would definitely recommend Coursera to anyone looking to upskill themselves.

By Alan R

Oct 24, 2019

It is a great course if you want to learn how to prepare your mind in order to think better regaring customer anaytics cases. I just would like to find a better support documents, since right now you only can download the slides of the course and that means that you need to take notes rather than just to re-read some concept, or go playback the video if you want to get the complete information of the topic you are interested in.

By Emily P

Sep 5, 2020

Topic coverage was very good for a month period. The only thing with online, I am not able to ask questions in real time. I wish there was a TA if professor is unavailable for questions. Discussion forum is fine however if you post your question, you are not certain you will get an answer from your peers, or if answers are correct.

Enjoyed the course. Will continue with the next module for the Specialization completion.

By Hai V

Apr 6, 2020

I came with the expectations to have more "models" (some coding or some excel instruction or something I can apply directly), but like Peter said, this course will introduce me more tools in the toolbox and I am looking in the wrong place if I want to "code" or model. It was not what I expected at first, but with a few adjustments, I found this course really beneficial and helpful, especially if you are a business owner.

By Luis B

Feb 18, 2016

Outstanding. I am currently enrolled in an EMBA program and much of marketing has been based on very old cases, although educational for the purposes of figuring out the foundations of segmentation and break even they did not touch on the new ways of analyzing customer behavior today. I plan on continuing with Wharton for future specialization courses. I wanted to thank all the Professors for their superb lessons.

By Suhaimi W C

Oct 3, 2020

What an awesome course. It explains customer analytics from beginning to the end with some analytics application examples. It explains different methods each week that built up on top of the previous weeks, so you can easily follow the materials and lectures. I really learned a lot from just this first course of business analytics. I really look forward to next courses in this business analytics specialization.

By MANNI Y

Oct 23, 2017

it is a good and excited online class to help me, who haven't any experience in data analytics, to know some relation between business and data analytics. And the most important thing is that it also introduce to me on how those big firms had use that kinds of models to solve actual problems.

Hope that Wharton online school will have more new classes on deeper content in this field.

Thanks to all of you!