Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
7,546 ratings
1,480 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP
Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

S
Nov 30, 2020

for the beginer like me i have experience in banking of 8 years still for me this fundamentals are new specially quantitative modelling.Kindly provide banking related examples in here too.\n\nthanks

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,457 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Lai K C

Feb 29, 2016

The learned instructor Mr Richard Waterman is great in explaining sophisticated mathematical/statistical terms or concepts in simple, concise and easy-to-understand way. Great and useful for mature working professional who are out of touch with mathematics/statistics.

By Pawan

Jul 18, 2018

A wonderful way to learn the fundamentals of modelling, specifically if one is new to the subject. The best part is that the explanation is very crisp and its easy to understand even complex fundamentals. Go for it guys and you will not regret the investment of time.

By Joswa A

Apr 7, 2017

The course is really comprehensive yet very simple to understand. I like how he explains every lessons with examples on how to use this functions and formulas in modeling. Hope to finish this whole specialization courses to further understand financial modeling! :)

By Samik D

Jun 6, 2020

This course was delivered succinctly, and with a great explanatory way. I was going back to Statistics after many years, and also learning some new things in terms of basics of Regression Modeling, and this course has definitely rekindled my love for Statistics!

By Eduards G

Apr 12, 2020

Perfectly summarized key concepts of quantitative modeling in an easy to understand manner. Professor very articulate and the learning modules very well structured. Great real world examples.

Quizes allow for broader understanding of the obtained knowledge.

By J F

Jun 7, 2017

Great introduction to modeling techniques. Regression was covered the most in-depth, but it would have been nice to see this coverage extended to the probabilistic graphical models discussed briefly in the beginning. Still a great short course to take.

By Rob P

Sep 26, 2017

The tutor for this case is great. Everything explained thoroughly with real world examples throughout that help to ground the more abstract mathematical concepts. For anyone looking to get their head around modelling for Business I'd highly recommend.

By Sahil T

Aug 21, 2019

The course is well structured and easy to understand. The instructor of the course was very enthusiastic and knew the subject thoroughly. I recommend all those who are planning to understand quantitative modeling from the basic to attend this course.

By S S

Aug 3, 2017

I have studied the same subject in my MBA program with a different teaching method, the study materials of this course is designed based on the need of the students, I have learned so many things after the completing the first portion of this course.

By Ashutosh S

Apr 11, 2020

This introductory fundamental course if properly designed to provide a broad understanding of the quantitative models used in business. The method of teaching and the usage of various practical examples by the instructor is very good. Recommended.

By Lucia C B

Jan 11, 2021

I took the course as a refresher, and for my purpose I rate the course excellent. The written materials were clear, and the lectures were interesting, clear, and of good length. The course covered the fundamentals well and provided good examples.

By Myat-Hsu " M

Jun 26, 2018

Lecture is taught in a clear and precise format and the majority of quiz questions come straight from the corresponding lecture. As a result, I was able to receive above passing grades with a good amount of effort and knowledge learned in class.

By Kamran W

Jul 22, 2017

Learned a lot about quantitative modeling. Much better understanding of regression modeling including the insight on how sometimes a residual could be a good indication of an opportunity of an underpriced asset. Very clear explanation of E(Y| X)

By Emre B

Jun 7, 2020

This course paved the way for me to understand the basis of quantitative modeling, not only conveying the statistical features of modeling but also explaining how this core knowledge could be very practical when applied to real-life situations.

By Vishal N

Apr 24, 2017

Videos and PDF notes are excellent - brief, direct, to the point. Current and good use of timing. Good quiz questions that test your understanding. Really enjoying this course compared to others attempted. would definitely recommend. thank you

By Jose L R C

Nov 15, 2019

You learn the essential concepts needed to understand an apply various models to your data.

I like the fact that it wasn't very immersive about calculation details, but focused on the importance of each type of model, when and how to use them.

By Shubham B

Apr 15, 2020

The course offers you a learning edge in Quantitative Modelling and also makes one understand the basics as well as the interpretations, the valuation techniques, the predictors, etc. which plays an important role while modelling a scenario.

By ARAVIND A

Sep 18, 2018

This is a great course to get the basics of quantitative modeling. It's wonderfully taught by Prof. Richard Waterman. Thank you Sir. I would also like to convey my gratitude to Coursera for making such wonderful courses accessible to all.

By Susan H

Oct 10, 2021

It's a well structured introductory course and the instructor offers very clear explanation and useful guidance. It's of great help to me. The course will be even more helpful if practical regression tools are introduced and explained.

By Rogelio F N

Aug 12, 2021

I did enjoy very much this course, Dr. Waterman shown a different approach to this subject making it more exciting, I came to appreciate more this important tool that is useful in any business setting. I do highly recommend this class.

By Akshay K

Mar 7, 2016

I took this course as I wanted to discover the Quantitative side of Business Modeling. And Thanks to Sir Richard Waterman, I loved the concepts and understood them easily. I look forward to associate myself with UPenn in near future :)

By Karan S

Nov 26, 2019

A fantastic course with an excellent instructor Richard Sir. This course has enhanced my analytical ability and thinking process. I am really grateful to Coursera as well as University of Pennsylvania for coming up with such a tie-up.

By Jafed E G

Jul 6, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

By Carlo D R

Oct 13, 2019

I appreciated a lot a new way of presenting mathematical funcions, I found a very pragmatic approach to data interpretation, without losing depth in theorical contents. Many thanks toProfessor Waterman for his clear presentations.

By Ralish R

Jun 8, 2020

This course has literally changed my career. It has galvanised me in the right direction. I am so happy that I found this course. Thanks to the professor. Thanks to University of Pennsylvania. And lastly thanks to Coursera for this.