Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
6,573 ratings
1,306 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP
Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC
Jul 30, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,279 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Ashutosh S

Apr 11, 2020

This introductory fundamental course if properly designed to provide a broad understanding of the quantitative models used in business. The method of teaching and the usage of various practical examples by the instructor is very good. Recommended.

By Myat-Hsu " M

Jun 26, 2018

Lecture is taught in a clear and precise format and the majority of quiz questions come straight from the corresponding lecture. As a result, I was able to receive above passing grades with a good amount of effort and knowledge learned in class.

By Kamran W

Jul 22, 2017

Learned a lot about quantitative modeling. Much better understanding of regression modeling including the insight on how sometimes a residual could be a good indication of an opportunity of an underpriced asset. Very clear explanation of E(Y| X)

By Emre B

Jun 7, 2020

This course paved the way for me to understand the basis of quantitative modeling, not only conveying the statistical features of modeling but also explaining how this core knowledge could be very practical when applied to real-life situations.

By Vishal N

Apr 24, 2017

Videos and PDF notes are excellent - brief, direct, to the point. Current and good use of timing. Good quiz questions that test your understanding. Really enjoying this course compared to others attempted. would definitely recommend. thank you

By José L R C

Nov 15, 2019

You learn the essential concepts needed to understand an apply various models to your data.

I like the fact that it wasn't very immersive about calculation details, but focused on the importance of each type of model, when and how to use them.

By Shubham B

Apr 15, 2020

The course offers you a learning edge in Quantitative Modelling and also makes one understand the basics as well as the interpretations, the valuation techniques, the predictors, etc. which plays an important role while modelling a scenario.

By ARAVIND A

Sep 18, 2018

This is a great course to get the basics of quantitative modeling. It's wonderfully taught by Prof. Richard Waterman. Thank you Sir. I would also like to convey my gratitude to Coursera for making such wonderful courses accessible to all.

By Akshay K

Mar 7, 2016

I took this course as I wanted to discover the Quantitative side of Business Modeling. And Thanks to Sir Richard Waterman, I loved the concepts and understood them easily. I look forward to associate myself with UPenn in near future :)

By Karan S

Nov 26, 2019

A fantastic course with an excellent instructor Richard Sir. This course has enhanced my analytical ability and thinking process. I am really grateful to Coursera as well as University of Pennsylvania for coming up with such a tie-up.

By Jafed E G

Jul 6, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

By Carlo D R

Oct 13, 2019

I appreciated a lot a new way of presenting mathematical funcions, I found a very pragmatic approach to data interpretation, without losing depth in theorical contents. Many thanks toProfessor Waterman for his clear presentations.

By Ralish R

Jun 8, 2020

This course has literally changed my career. It has galvanised me in the right direction. I am so happy that I found this course. Thanks to the professor. Thanks to University of Pennsylvania. And lastly thanks to Coursera for this.

By Anadi M

Apr 18, 2019

The basics of Modeling are very well explained, with sufficient examples which helps to really understand what is being taught (sometimes the theory can be overwhelming, and it is much easier to understand with the help of examples)

By Nojeem Y

May 18, 2020

The Professor explained a very technical subject with everyday language and always emphasized the interpretation of any calculated numbers in real life cases. I found that very impressive, and I think that made learning really fun.

By SHREYASH S B D

May 27, 2020

AMAZING COURSE TO START WITH QUANTITATIVE MODELING. I LIKED THE PRACTICAL EXAMPLES THAT WERE USED TO SHOW THE APPLICABILITY OF THESE MODELS IN REAL BUSINESS SCENARIOS. THE PROFESSOR ALSO EXPLAINED EVERY ASPECT VERY WELL.

THANK YOU

By Han L N

Mar 1, 2020

Awesome course! Not only it teaches me the knowledge I desired to learn, but it also supported me in my final year thesis especially on the multiple regression model. Love his explanation, clear and easy to understand. Thank you!

By Rohith S

Oct 14, 2020

Professor Waterman was extremely eloquent and clear. Previously, my understanding of regression was rather elementary and nebulous, but after this course, I am ready to start tackling probabilistic modelling questions head-on!

By Srinivasan K

Aug 20, 2019

Great delivery by professor and the referenced examples are quite easy to understand and interpret internally to reinforce the concepts in mind. Really enjoyed the learning experience . Thank you WHARTON ONLINE and COURSERA.

By Nemani S K

Aug 21, 2018

The course covered the fundamentals pretty well. But a little more analytical question sets and more mathematical problems would have been much more helpful.

eg: an assignment or project based on montecarlo simulations etc.

By MODI V K

Jan 2, 2020

After finishing this course to be honest I just felt why can't we replace our boring lectures in the colleges with the interesting and challenging courses in coursera :) . Thanks alot for this :) I will keep learning now

By Akmal A K

Oct 18, 2016

This course provides an introduction to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling. It's also been a pleasure to master the course materials through lectures of professor Waterman, who made them easier to grasp. Thanks a lot!

By Brian T R

Aug 7, 2017

I have not been in school or class for many, many years but the instruction here was great. Still very difficult to recall many terms from 20 or 30 years ago and others I had to still learn, but well worth the effort.

By William M

Apr 27, 2016

Great course that introduces all the various topics in modeling and gets you to started thinking about how to process information, in addition to giving you the tools and skills needed to succeed. Well worth the price.

By Falowo O A

Jun 23, 2020

The modules are easy to follow and the instructor does a good job by teaching in clear language with many illustrations to drive his points. Well done Prof, I would definitely recommend others to this online platform.