Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
5,658 ratings
1,116 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

SC

Jun 04, 2018

Course is having ultimate content regarding the understanding of Quantitative modeling and its applications. Having great explanation with examples of linear, power, exponential and log functions.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 1,096 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Nicholas J C

Jan 28, 2019

Should have short sets of practice problems to work through between the lecture and the quiz. While I can often go back and just find the answer from my notes, drilling is the best way to learn stuff like this imo, and at least optional problem sets would be hugely helpful.

By Daniel d G

Jun 30, 2017

It was great learning. This kind of subject matter has always been difficult for me to understand, and it still was to a certain extend. However, in this course complex concepts are broken down into more easily digestable chunks illustrated by clear examples. Great course.

By Ankit G

May 26, 2020

Course content was good, however I feel that the concepts should be explained with examples having large data. There should be database based assignments for practice and evaluations. This would bring in more confidence while using these concepts in the real world.

By ricardo h

Sep 18, 2019

Good overview of fundamentals of Quantitative model, yet most is theoretical and lack the part where it shows some actual practice. this would be detailing software used for each methodology. So that it gives a glimpse of what other skills one needs to develop,

By Ana L P d S

Jul 24, 2017

This course is really good, but it would be nice of the professor would explain a little bit better the formulas of the course. I did buy the book written by the professor but still find it hard to solve some of the problems in the tests. Overall, great course!

By Jesús L B M

Jul 08, 2018

The content of the course is clearly explained by the instructor. I would say it is a nice introduction to the topics, but lacks practical exercises on spreadsheets. Overall is a good course, that allowed me to refresh some concepts about modelling.

By Sankalp S

Nov 10, 2019

More practice problems could have been incorporated for students apart from quizzes. Apart from this, my experience with the course was good. The instructor was precise in delivering the content and was able to explain all the concepts effectively.

By R V K

Jan 20, 2018

it was a brief but useful introduction to data modeling techniques and interpretation. The structure and course materials was easy to follow and the video tutorials were excellent. clear for non native english speakers to also follow. Thank you.

By Md. S B

Oct 18, 2019

The course is well-structured to have clear understanding of Quantitative modeling fundamentals. Learned the implementation of Probability distribution, Linear & multiple regression analysis & some others very crucial Financial analytical tools.

By Karl S

Jan 24, 2018

This is a good course that gives you an idea of how to use basic modeling ideas in a business setting. It does not get very deep into the mathematical concepts, but is still very useful and should help you perform the skills it teaches at work.

By Adeline 苡

Jun 24, 2017

suitable for beginners and people who wants to revise what they have learned in quantitative modeling. I took a level further maths and Ive learnt something quite similar before so this course wasnt very hard for me. Spent 6 days to complete it

By chen p h

May 14, 2020

Using numerous examples and theories to explain probability and statistical models. Very intuitive and helpful for understanding basic quantitative models, the purpose of using them and what should be noted during the process of building them.

By Jayesh K R

Mar 27, 2018

would like a suggestion of reference books and some more solved examples to master the technique. Amazing videos, very interesting and won't let you turn away for a second. Overall a very good course for finance learning aspirants.

By Fernando M

Sep 02, 2017

Quite interesting to improve your skills to modeling financial information using proper skills. It is a bit theoretical, but hopefully will be the ground for using excel for proper modeling in next phases of the course.

By Daniel W

Mar 01, 2016

Very practical and clear explanation of statistical and modeling concepts. Would be great to include some practice problems aside from the quizzes, but as a low-intensity, accessible introduction this course is great.

By Ali W W

Dec 26, 2019

Just like the title, this course mainly teach you about the fundamentals. It's enough for you to learn the basic, and leave you curious for more. Although I think this course could teach a bit deeper about the basic

By AbdulRahman M

Apr 30, 2017

The material is very simple to follow. I hope to get more hands-on practice in using the concepts introduced so that I can more easily relate them to everyday life but also further internalize and understand them.

By Shahan A L

Feb 02, 2020

It was a great course for beginners like myself, though in Week 3 and 4 I would have preferred if the videos were longer, and would have had a more dynamic style of teaching especially while solving equations.

By Khanh-Huyen P

Nov 04, 2018

Very good refresher for fundamentals of statistics and probabilities. M.Waterman is a great lecturer who is able to explain complex concepts in simple terms and give good intuitions for quantitative models.

By spencer r

Oct 24, 2016

This course has a great over view of these subjects. I the course as a refresher as well as additional insight into regression topics. I liked the course and I would advise this to somebody else as well.

By SIYUAN Y

Feb 01, 2019

The lecturer is awesome. The content and the assignment of the course is too easy. It will be better to add some details of these modeling approach. For example, more mathematic materials will be good.

By Chester L G

Aug 19, 2016

This is business and financial modeling. There were not enough examples of business related content. THis hindered my ability to comprehend function and modeling concepts as well as I would have liked.

By Murugan M K

May 11, 2017

The Course was easy to understand and pretty demonstrative as well. Although if the mathematics behind the equations derived were squeezed into the course briefly, it would have been of great value.

By Justin R N

Jul 04, 2019

The material is very helpful to get you up to speed quickly. If there could be more emphasis on walking one through the calculations and giving more examples, the course would be a perfect 5 stars.