Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
60,860 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

BB

Feb 21, 2019

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

MG

Jun 26, 2020

I throughly enjoyed the course and the fact that everything was explained thoroughly. I always enjoyed Dr. White's personal experience with Data Science as well as other Data Scientists point of view.

Filter by:

8876 - 8900 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By JP C

Sep 12, 2020

Great overview of the field of data science. I found that some of the guided materials for the lab were outdated compared to the current version of what is seen on IBM cloud. Nonetheless, a really great and motivating start to pique anyone's interest in learning more about the field.

By Michael P

Jul 7, 2020

This was an excellent design for a course for an introduction. I couldn't help but feel there was more "academic" material forthcoming during the sections. These more encyclopedic, or lecture type learning items just never occurred.

I am glad I took the course, all things considered.

By Deleted A

Nov 9, 2021

Good general course for data science concepts and speakers had good insights that were relevant and practical about the topic. Would have like to have seen a few real world examples of mainstream analytical application tools, charts, and reports (Jira, PowerBI, Spark, Tableau, etc.)

By Suvam P

May 14, 2020

The Course was too fruitful in gaining insights into the field of Data Science, specially when you are a beginner and don't know where to start from. It helped in paving the path to the destination of my career. A heartfelt thanks to the Mentor of this course for guiding throughout.

By Known S

Nov 4, 2019

The course "What is data science" deals with the "Introduction to data science". By the end, I got a clear understanding between various concepts of data science and different applications of data science. And student gets to know whether data science is the field they want or not.

By Sridhar M

Sep 11, 2020

Although it is a good introductory course, In addition to the wonderful learning experience using Watson Studio , there should have been one more module that introduced the learner to simple "R" or Python coding . Overall the course met my expectations and I enjoyed the journey.

By Dam V

Feb 28, 2020

Could've been concise on how to implement the findings of a data scientist on a daily basis. Useful if you're thinking about a career change, will definitely give some insights if this is the right pattern for you to pursue as a next step in your professional career/development.

By Tony W

Feb 26, 2020

I like it as a general introduction to Data Science, but i think it is a bit too general to be a full fledged course on its own? It's more like an info session for Data Science. Still love it tho. Got some valuable information about the trend and general approaches in the field.

By Margot V

Oct 2, 2020

Great course to give you a full overview of what data science is and what sorts of projects you will work on. This course does not go in depth into any one topic so you will need to go elsewhere for more technical courses. The quizzes were a bit mindless but otherwise was good!

By Adapala S T R

Mar 28, 2020

excellent course for beginners , I recommend you to complete all the courses under this professional certificate ,the materials given are very useful ,you can download and review at any time . nice animated lectures . definitely you will get basics for data science foundations.

By Fernando S M

Feb 24, 2021

I think is a good introducción to all the wonderguls that you can do with the data science. Take this course motivate me to learn more and more aout the data science. I hope take all the IBM´s course about the data science. Qouting to Freddy Mercury and Queen Don´t Stop Me now

By Matheus C T

Jun 8, 2019

Bom curso. Bem introdutório, como acho que era a proposição dos criadores. Mescla experiencia de jovens e profissionais de mercado, passando suas vivencias quanto ao campo de Data Science. É um bom começo para entender um pouco sobre a profissão e os desafios inerentes a ela.

By Ahmad A

Sep 7, 2021

It is a good introductory course to data science, but I there are many questions in the quizzes and exam that depends on the information mentioned in the course which are not related to data science concepts, such companies names, numbers, and details about some examples.

By Necip F E

Apr 3, 2021

Generally it is an OK course. The best part of the course is where the instructors compare terms like Big Data, Deep Learning etc. Quiz questions in videos are weirdly based on memorization of the content which is not that important, because this is an introductory course.

By Ayaz G M

Dec 11, 2018

The course gives a clear understanding of what is data science, who are data scientists, what activities do they perform, and what are the essential characteristics one must possess in order to become a data scientist. However in terms of content, a bit less satisfying.

By Ryan R

Jun 6, 2022

The estimated time it suggests is complately wrong. It wouldn't take that long if you did the suggested amount of time. It was a quick course and informative. I was hoping it would have more programming and tools to show how a data scientist might manipulate the data.

By Krit P

Dec 24, 2019

This course give you an introduction what is data science concept. What the key component to be data scientist. Overall it is okay but for the supplement material should be more update since instructions have some key point missing. Overall it's a good class to start

By kenneth E s

Dec 2, 2021

A good overview class that presented many concepts and is a good introduction. The quizzes and and tests could be improved. They focused on very particular items in the reading, and could be geared to the actual intent of the classes versus a particular case study.

By Alma B M B

Nov 10, 2021

Un curso muy completo en relación a las definiciones y conceptos básicos en torno a la ciencia de datos. Sin embargo, no lo califico con 5 estrellas porque en ciertos videos explicativos introducen conceptos que no definen o el desarrollo de los mismos es paupérrimo.

By Kirti L

Jun 14, 2020

I love this course. It learn from the Basic. It will useful for Beginners also who does not have much knowledge about Data Science. It explain from Basic. It will help to understand easily. But have easy examination. It should be some tough question should be there.

By Jamaal N K

Jan 4, 2021

I enjoyed the course because the approach was as if you knew nothing. I am coming from an economics background and I've done data analysis in the past. I also liked how a lot of the speakers were experts in their field and provided many insights about "Data Science"

By Winnie C

May 21, 2020

Most of the content is a general concept that does not involve skill practice. The main propose is to help you understand what Data Science is and what Data scientists do. Personally speaking, I prefer to learn some new technology, therefor I only grade for 4 stars.

By NITISH K

Apr 27, 2020

excellent experience but not much thing about data science. really in this course i realize inner thinking of data science. to learn the basic thing of data science in this course my excitement is increase very huge to learn about data science. really great course.

By Mojtaba T K

Jul 20, 2019

As PhD student taking this course, I expected to see if I'm really fit to the field of data science or not. Although the course was good, it could be improved if it gives students some initial taste to this field by giving them some easy projects in different areas.

By Agustin B

Jan 6, 2022

Me parece un buen curso para orientar en la ciencia de datos, lo único que remarcaría es que en el ejercicio donde había que utilizar la nube de ibm para analizar ciertos casos me sentí muy desorientado ya que es algo que nunca había hecho y no pude encararlo bien.