Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
61,842 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

KK

Feb 23, 2020

Terrific introduction to the Data Science course. Never expected but was extremely excited with the quality of content, speakers and a very honest attempt to making this course interesting.

Krishna

BB

Feb 21, 2019

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

Filter by:

9151 - 9175 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Runar O

Dec 11, 2019

This course could be week one of a larger course, as it only took a few hours or so to complete. In addition, a lot of the questions were based on what someone said, or some random fact, but not necessarily anything useful.

By jesus m

Nov 1, 2022

i dont consider it necessary to be so textual in questions referencing the readings. in my case the main value of the course is not on memorizing the name of google's cfo or the exact expected\ number of data science jobs

By Michael A K

Sep 10, 2020

This orientation course is not what I expected. I was expecting a deep dive into Data Science and its tools. However, it was very informative about the skills needed by the Data Scientist to perform in this field of work.

By Jose B

Jan 20, 2020

Overall, a good introduction to what data science is and what is not. A good eye opener before taking the plunge into the overall program.

Having said that: The lesson could be shortened a bit and achieve the same result.

By Juan J I F

Feb 16, 2019

it was a nice experience to have actual data scientist telling you their own definitions and experiences regarding this subject. It may have lacked a little of on hands assignments, but was overall a rewarding experience.

By Tom H A L

Nov 29, 2019

Informative course, that describes what a data scientist is and provides a background to the topic. As part of the specialization it is fine, but certainly not worth paying for on its own. Completed in 2 days after work.

By David E

Oct 18, 2020

This course was a great introduction to what data science is all about. I wish that the course went into a little bit more depth. It would have been nice to see more case studies with examples of the methodologies used.

By Dante C

Aug 3, 2020

It is the perfect introduction for anyone who does not know anything about Data Science, if you have experience under your belt it's gonna feel boring, although if your main language is not English it's a nice practice.

By Nitin U

Feb 26, 2020

Videos and reading material is good especially from Dr. Haider and Prof. Norman White.

Need more examples or scenarios about data science and implications of data science at various fileds by respective data scientists.

By Paul S

May 26, 2022

So far so good. I really enjoyed the first module, 'What is Data Science' and it was good to here what many students, professionals and lecturers define as Data Science and examples of how they are using these skills.

By Alan J

Feb 22, 2020

It was a good introductory start to peaky and huge field. The advises shared by senior and experienced people in the field was very enriching. Also IBM has instilled a strong hope for Data Science through this course.

By hassan

Apr 16, 2019

It was only theory it would be alot better if there was hands on practice material or something like that. Overall if you want general idea of what is data science and how it works it might be a great start for you.

By Bruno B V

Mar 7, 2022

O curso é muito bom, porém as avaliações (testes) focam em aspectos pouco conceituais. Chegamos a ter perguntas sobre datas de acontecimentos. Isso, a princípio, não testaria a absorção de conhecimento pelo aluno.

By Jasmine N

Mar 18, 2021

Learned a lot from the videos and interviews of these best in class thought leaders. However, the reading seems a bit disjointed from the course, without a mental map of sort to connect the videos and the reading.

By Jose I L T

Apr 7, 2020

This is only the introduction. It is great for someone who knows nothing about the industry. A bit tedious for how long it takes for those a bit more knowledgeable of the field. Great structure and lots of detail.

By Umakant

Dec 21, 2018

Many-many thanks to entire team.

I would like to add one point - "While introducing Hadoop my expecting was to have some more graphs to explain its concept although story telling was excellent and very much clear.

By Miguel S S

Oct 20, 2021

Me parece que el curso esta bastante bien para una primera toma de contacto con Data Science. Un poco espero y con pocos ejemplos pero realmente, a nivel teoorico creo que es una buena base por la que comenzar.

By Jaymin M

Sep 10, 2021

Very well explained course. Everything was explained beautifully. But I didn't like few questions of quiz where instead of testing our knowledge and understanding they tested our memory. Other than that spot on!

By Hong W

Dec 4, 2019

Good to new learners without business or research experience. The professors' points are very clear and solid. For the people have some business sense, it may be a bit simple while good to be a refresh material.

By Mehryar Y

Jan 17, 2021

Through this course, you can achieve some basic but important comprehension of Data Science. This is a good course especially when you have not any ideas about what is Data Science and what Data scientist do.

By Deep M

Sep 13, 2021

Got a good idea of data science. I was expecting a little bit of hands on.

The part where IBM cloud account was created and Watson Studio was provisioned felt incomplete and didn't seem to serve any purpose.

By Maanit S

Jan 23, 2021

Great basic course. A lot of basic and important aspects of data science is covered in it. If you want to have some Q&A for placement and your specialization is data science i highly recommended this course.

By Ivan B

Jun 6, 2019

Provides some good background and definitions about elements of Data Science without being intimidating or going into too much detail in any 1 area. Good interviews with qualified professionals in the field.

By Christina M

Feb 12, 2020

A good introduction to data science. I love how the videos do not simply only contain facts but relates them to real individuals experiences. This was so easy to understand! I loved the IBM Watson exercise!

By Sachin M P

Jan 23, 2020

Best Course and Coursera is a great platform to learn when i started it was a 3 week course but it was so much interesting that i just loved it and kept on doing the courses continuously.Best Place to Learn