Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
61,954 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

KK

Feb 23, 2020

Terrific introduction to the Data Science course. Never expected but was extremely excited with the quality of content, speakers and a very honest attempt to making this course interesting.

Krishna

RS

May 11, 2020

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

Filter by:

9051 - 9075 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By James S

Aug 26, 2019

Overall it is a good class. I enjoyed the content and exercises. There were a few issues with navigation and quiz scoring. More than once, the "mark as completed" button did not work and quiz failed to load or save score. I like the videos in which multiple people with diverse background were interviewed.

By Nat P

Aug 24, 2019

Wonderfully structured overview. Interesting to hear form both aspiring data scientists and Professors White and Haider. I have a technology background and am interested in shifting my profession in this direction, and this course mapped out what that move would entail and what skills I need to develop.

By DEVULAPALLY A

Jan 23, 2023

This Course gives a total understanding of Data Science and Data Scientist roles and careers.

if you have the aptitude and desire to work with Data, enjoy coding, have no problem learning Maths and Statistics, and are a good storyteller. then you can certainly enter a Data Science field and excel in it.

By Chay M

Dec 13, 2021

I thought the course was well done and informative. The only thing I did not like was the fact that some of the material in this course was a bit irrelevant for me personally, such as the "Data Science in Highschool" section, but overall I thought it was a good overview of various aspects of the field.

By SANTOSO H

Dec 18, 2020

This course is similar to https://cognitiveclass.ai/courses/data-science-101 with number DS0101EN.

It was taken from Cognitive Class AI from IBM Canada. Mostly it is good Coursera content because more eye catching with Professional Certification, include with IBM badge. I learn a lot!!! Thank you IBM.

By Osayimwen E

Oct 7, 2020

Although I was expecting to start programming upon taking this course. However and discovered and learned a lot beyond the programming I envisaged for, as I was introduced to the theoretical framework forming data science and data scientist. I will highly recommend this course to potential aspirants.

By Josh H

Jul 21, 2020

A nice, simple introduction to what the field of data science is all about. Even though most of what is taught here is common knowledge for those somewhat well-versed in technology, it's good to brush up on the essential questions to remind ourselves why we want to pursue a data science career.

By Shivnaesh k

Feb 17, 2020

The knowledge about regression, neural network and data science, and tool like hadoop was really awesome and very clear to understand the things.

Now I can differentiate the real meaning between data science and data science and can grow up in this particular subject very efficientely I hope so.

By Cris P

May 21, 2019

Nice start. Give enough motivation to continue learning more after that course. One thing it could be better are the lectures in videos. The quality is OK, but I think it could have more videos, more details, I mean, more content in general. Overall, worth a lot.

Thank you IBM. Thanks Coursera.

By Olivier D

Mar 19, 2019

Very good content. Covered this stuff before but if I were a beginner it woudve been very helpful and easy to follow along. For that reason I give it a four. I cannot give it a 5 because truthfully speaking I just read the document and answered the tests so I cannot say everything was a five.

By Rebecca L

Sep 24, 2021

The material is great. However, the way the lecture demonstrate is a bit boring. There are just too many Q&A in the course. Also, the quizzes are sort of meanless and, personnally speaking, out of date to job market, and unrelated to specific job positions that our candidate are looking for.

By Joshua O

Aug 5, 2020

The information within the What is Data Science course was excellent. My issue is with the fact that I went through the entire class and after receiving the grade for my Final all but one of my quizzes lost their scores. I had to redo all of the quizzes before receiving credit for the class.

By Aravindhan V

Oct 10, 2021

The course did a decent job of introducing the field. But a lot of the tests and quizzes were pointless; they were testing the ability to remember meaningless facts (who said what etc) from the reading assignments, rather than evaluating the students understanding of what data science is.

By Atfy I Z

Apr 10, 2020

A great introductory course for those who are completely new to Data Science, Machine Learning, and all those related terms.

For those who have somewhat idea on the subject, or even have read a few elementary articles about Data Science and its trends, this course can be completed quickly.

By Marijn G

Oct 29, 2021

The course gives a really nice look into data science. If I should give some criticism at all it would be about certain common information which is provided and also tested in quizzes which contributes very little to the goal of the course.

Further more I'm really happy with the course.

By Aimee X

Mar 5, 2020

During this course, I have realized that data science is so important and it all around the daily operation of everyone.

Be better understand what is data science is the basic to learn and improve the efficiency and we could find more interesting in our work and life then can be engaged.

By Yedhu K V P

Oct 5, 2018

This is a more of an introduction to data science. I guess this helps absolute beginners to the field of Data Science. I was expecting more content in the first part of the specialization. But that doesn't mean I didn't enjoy it. It's really good for anyone who's stepping into the field.

By David M A

Nov 8, 2021

Un curso completo inicial para entender y conocer mejor el mundo del Big Data y la ciencia de Datos, no entra mucho en materia por lo que si de verdad quieres saber algo más en profundidad sobre la ciencia de datos te recomiendo que hagas otros cursos más prácticos como Hadoop o Spark.

By Alena P

Apr 13, 2019

It gives a good overview of the subject and helps you understand what, how and why you need to learn to pursue data scientist career. I would like like to have more extensive talks about application in different fields and what can vary among the industries for you as a data scientist.

By Andrea S

Mar 8, 2022

A clear and exciting introduction into Data Science and the role of data scientist. The course is an opportunity to better understand what you need to approach the subject, both in terms of skills and personal qualities. The definition of foundational concepts are simple but complete.

By JP C

Sep 12, 2020

Great overview of the field of data science. I found that some of the guided materials for the lab were outdated compared to the current version of what is seen on IBM cloud. Nonetheless, a really great and motivating start to pique anyone's interest in learning more about the field.

By Michael P

Jul 7, 2020

This was an excellent design for a course for an introduction. I couldn't help but feel there was more "academic" material forthcoming during the sections. These more encyclopedic, or lecture type learning items just never occurred.

I am glad I took the course, all things considered.

By Deleted A

Nov 9, 2021

Good general course for data science concepts and speakers had good insights that were relevant and practical about the topic. Would have like to have seen a few real world examples of mainstream analytical application tools, charts, and reports (Jira, PowerBI, Spark, Tableau, etc.)

By Suvam P

May 14, 2020

The Course was too fruitful in gaining insights into the field of Data Science, specially when you are a beginner and don't know where to start from. It helped in paving the path to the destination of my career. A heartfelt thanks to the Mentor of this course for guiding throughout.

By Known S

Nov 4, 2019

The course "What is data science" deals with the "Introduction to data science". By the end, I got a clear understanding between various concepts of data science and different applications of data science. And student gets to know whether data science is the field they want or not.