Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
61,706 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

KK

Feb 23, 2020

Terrific introduction to the Data Science course. Never expected but was extremely excited with the quality of content, speakers and a very honest attempt to making this course interesting.

Krishna

PD

Jul 18, 2018

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

Filter by:

9201 - 9225 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Christian N

Aug 24, 2022

That was a good introduction to the concept of data science, data scientist and every other concept used in data science. I spent good time learning here and i'm in a rush to meet next steps!

By Kishore T

Feb 18, 2021

It is a good introduction to Data Science. Short but informative. Sometime I felt like the Quiz questions were very specific to the excerpt and outdated info but overall it was a good course.

By Edwar J L C

Jan 28, 2020

I liked how the course introduced many concepts, and the methodology made the learning process smooth, however, I would have expected a bit more depth to give it 5 stars. Still, I enjoyed it.

By Avula V K R

Nov 28, 2019

It was a good course for getting an idea about what is data science and what do data scientists do. The IBM Watson studio example provided in this course is outdated and needs to be reviewed.

By Hassen S

Aug 20, 2022

The course enriched my knowledge of Data Science and I am happy to be introduced to such intresting field of study.Also it gave me a good idea of what career i should persuade in the future.

By Padma P

May 16, 2020

This is a very good course for beginners. It gives a good understanding for those just stepping into the big varied world of data science. Must take course to orient oneself into this space.

By Justin P

Dec 24, 2019

Wasn't a fan - pretty basic, but I guess necessary. I would have given a 5-star rating because I don't know how else this could have been accomplished but my personal experience was 4-star.

By ANUJ G

Apr 22, 2020

it was an amazing experience with this course. I learned a lot about data science and i got motivated by this introductory course. This will help me in further getting deep into the course.

By Emily-Rose E

Sep 2, 2019

This course is a great introduction to what Data Science is. It is not super hard or very long. It could be a little more involved or a little more detailed, but otherwise is a great start.

By Megan L

Jul 29, 2020

I gained a lot of the introductory level skills and knowledge of data science from this course. The exams were based on the videos and lectures in each section which was a great refresher.

By Himanshu B

Dec 19, 2020

The course gives you a good introduction needed to enter the field of data science. It explains the basics of data science from the professionals. It is insightful. It is worth your time.

By Barry H

Oct 3, 2022

I had some issues with getting access to IBM Cloud but, other that this. I found this course very informative and, it gave good insights into what I can expect in the Data Science field.

By Nischal S

May 3, 2020

The course was really great but the quizs were related to the reading of the book material. The quizes could have been more about the data science rather than about the person's opinion.

By Pradnyapal M

Mar 4, 2020

I am Pradnyapal Meshram i like this course too much it clears all fundamentals of data science and how data scientist works in industry in diffrent technology like R, Python Apache spark

By jagadeesan s

Feb 27, 2023

It is an introductory course of what is data science and data scientist. With this we can know what is the role of data scientist and tools and techniques can be used by data scientist.

By RT B

Aug 1, 2022

Some of the questions on the tests were a tad confusing, but overall great subjects and all the subject matter expert commentaries were very interesting and certainly held my attention!

By Oseluole E

Jun 28, 2021

I learnt a lot of useful information such as important personality traits for data scientists, what is data science, history of data science and much more. I will definitely recommend.

By keith e

May 3, 2021

While I appreciated getting some information on what Data Science was I would have liked more of a deep dive into the topic rather than the testimonial style videos that were available.

By Manan G

Feb 20, 2023

The course was really very helpful for me as I was a beginner in the field of data science and I have learned many concepts through this very first course in my journey of Data science

By Ramakant D

Aug 2, 2022

serves as a good starting point for anyone curious to know about data science. As of 2022, this seems a bit outdated. experienced DS aspirants or industry folks can skip most of this.

By Michael R G

Aug 29, 2020

It's a good introduction to Data Science, but one course just for that? I felt dissapointed. I will continue with the next course because I really want to learn how to do Data Science.

By Annamaria M

Feb 16, 2020

The course is an introduction to data science with multiple examples of data science tools and fields of application. I suggest it for people who never had any experience in the field.

By Esther L

Sep 14, 2019

Un-intimidating introduction to basic data science definitions and backgrounds to data science professionals. Bite-size videos, solid speakers, helpful quick checks for understanding.

By Deleted A

Aug 28, 2019

its very helpful for me as its my first course for data science.This course is having a lot of good expert interviews on different topics of data science and it is really very helpful.

By Grace A

Jun 24, 2021

Good intro to data science! One star off because there were times I was left wanting more information or felt activities weren't very engaging, but for the most part, I learned a lot.