Chevron Left
Back to America's Written Constitution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for America's Written Constitution by Yale University

4.8
stars
397 ratings
111 reviews

About the Course

An introduction to the main themes of the American Constitution—popular sovereignty, separation of powers, federalism, and rights....

Top reviews

SG
Jan 6, 2017

Awesome!! Even for a History major like myself it was incredibly thought provoking and extremely well taught. I only wish every American received this level of instruction on The Constitution.

MA
Jun 23, 2020

I highly recommend this course, specially for people keen on law and history. The lecturer makes the lessons very easy to follow, and the content is interesting and very relevant nowadays.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 107 Reviews for America's Written Constitution

By 孙哲君

Oct 26, 2016

A very wonderful course.

By Акимов О

Sep 20, 2017

Very interesting course

By Quanchai K

Jun 8, 2021

It's very good course.

By JHEFRI R

Dec 12, 2020

very good course.

By João P D

Jul 10, 2021

Excelente curso!

By Deleted A

Aug 31, 2020

Excellent course

By Bruna F L

May 18, 2020

Curso muito bom!

By Vatsal P

Sep 9, 2019

AMAZING TEACHER!

By Charlene E C

Oct 2, 2015

Best Instructor!

By Gonzalo J B B

Sep 8, 2020

Very engaging

By Abdulaziz S B

Jan 14, 2020

Excellent .

By Behram S R K

Jun 9, 2020

Enriching!

By Suelen S D

Jun 17, 2016

Excelente!

By vanderson r b d m

Aug 21, 2019

Excelente

By Ramon M M

Sep 4, 2016

Great!

By Arman R

Jun 7, 2019

Nice

By Bob S

Dec 18, 2016

G

By Peter G

Mar 31, 2016

A

By Carl W

May 7, 2020

The course was excellent in developing the ideas that shaped US history. The idea that the constitution is an inter generational project and that yes, there were problems, and people. particularly blacks and women were treated unfairly, but that over time these problems were fixed. Note: Nothing was said about native Americans.

On the negative side: Instructor was very long winded, every lecture started with a too detailed review, often going back to the Revolution. The worst example of long-winded discussion of the 22nd amendment where the instructed listed all the presidents who did not opt for a third term. All of us know that FDR was the first to choose a third term. He also said that there was not much to say about the prohibition amendment, then spent half a lecture on it.

it was difficult to navigate through the course. It said I had completed the course when I did not

By Douglas P

Jul 10, 2021

A well constructed programme, marginally dated, but none the worse for that. Delivery is very traditional, what mind be termed "full frontal teaching". The ongoing mini-questionnaires are useful and the Mastery Quizes quite challenging. You need to pay careful attention to the lectures and be prepared to apply your acquired knowledge to successfully complete them. The peer group review of the two essays and the requirement to review six essays from other students is novel. Some may miss review of their work by a professional. Overall the course is well up to the standard of a University-provided programme.

By Telêmaco B

Nov 24, 2016

It is not five stars for just one reason: it think it could be better if having not so long video. Please, professor Amar split the 22minutes/31minutes videos in small portions.

Notwithstanding, it was amazing and inspiring to know how democratic the American Constitution creation process was. Unfortunately, because the socialism and communism influence in our country we do not have much information about everything which have to do with American history and culture.

You American people would be proud their history and take care to things go on at the same way.

By Rick B

Jul 12, 2017

Very informative. The professor's knowledge and enthusiasm shines through; however, I wish he would work a bit on his presentation, which includes too many ums and ahs and other speech habits. Once you get used to it, after a couple of lectures, you can kind of block them out. Other than that, I enjoyed enhancing my understanding of the constitution, its development, and transformations.

By Richard L L

Jun 8, 2021

This is a very informative course. My only issue is the amount of time spent reviewing previous lessons. I beleive the time could have been better used to continue the expansion of the subject instead of all the review which got tedious.

By Joseph E B

Nov 14, 2015

This course was a great introduction to the United States Constitution. The material was given sufficient lecture time to allow you to grasp the information and it was not rushed through.

By Neal G

Oct 24, 2016

excellent review of the content, intentions, and context behind the language of the Constitution, including the amendments. I really enjoyed it.