Chevron Left
Back to Consonants of American English Pronunciation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Consonants of American English Pronunciation by University of California, Irvine

4.8
stars
663 ratings

About the Course

In this first course of The Pronunciation of American English specialization, you will learn and practice all of the consonant sounds of American English, including some pairs of consonants that are especially tricky. Each week you will receive practical advice from successful English learners and practice an effective technique called shadowing to improve your pronunciation of consonant sounds. You will also have opportunities to record yourself and to respond to the recordings of other learners. Only learners who pay for the course will be able to take the graded quizzes or submit assignments for feedback. The free version provides access to the lectures and practice activities only....

Top reviews

RP

Dec 8, 2020

I enjoyed the class very much! It has given me extensive review of consonant sounds of English and challenged me to hone my fluency through shadowing exercises. Thank you so much Professors!

JD

Jan 19, 2021

The course strengthen the pronunciation skills that is a good start prior getting in the USA.

Congratulations to have professionals Instructors on board.

Cheers,

John Paco Dradria

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 247 Reviews for Consonants of American English Pronunciation

By JENNIFER O

Jan 27, 2021

This class is very informative. we speak English as a second language in my country, and thought that I have most of this down but, there's always room for improvement also, I learned a lot about the IPA.

The videos are just right, its not too short nor too long. and they're easy to understand. love the shadowing activity.

Great course. I hope to complete the specialization in the future.

By Cora M S

Jul 4, 2020

Excellent. This course is so awesome and the teachers are brilliant and skillful, I love the way they speak it sounds music to the ears. I really learn a lot from this course and it help me build my self-confidence in talking to someone. I'll never stop learning - I love to learn more and I will enroll to the 3 more courses under this specialization.

By To E

Jan 30, 2021

I think it's a great opportunity to learn this course. Apart from the speaking skills in American English accent, you would get a listening skill too. And you will understand it totally that why people kept saying those word in that way. Moreover, you will speak more like a native. The most important thing is to persevere and be punctual. GOODLUCK

By Qamar A

Feb 7, 2023

This course is very helpful for L2 learners of English. It is reliable source for speaking English. it makes easier to understand every bit of course with videos lecture and practices again and again. It includes helping material like text reading material. In simple words, it is an amazing course for L2 learners.

regards Qamar Abbas

pakistan

pakis

By Karollina A d O

Mar 3, 2023

The classes are extremely amazing! This was the most amazing way I've learned english and it changed my way to think and to study the language. To everyone that wants to enroll the course, you're not going to regret at all.

Congratulations to all the teachers and everyone that helped this course to exists.

By Fabiana R d R

May 10, 2021

The course is great! The material is well developed, clear and the pdfs have a LOT of important information. Even for those who had never seen phonetics and phonology before, the course will be understandable. For those who wants practice and continuous learning, the course is very good as well.

By Deborah T C

Feb 18, 2021

I would like to say that taking this course was an excellent learning experience. The course is very well organized, the videos are very clear and the exercises are very well devised. It is my intention to go on to the course, Vowels of American English Pronunciation.

By Ariane C S

Feb 12, 2021

I can say that this was a fun and helpful course. My English is Intermediate, but I still have some things that I need to work on in my pronunciation, so, even though I think I just learned so many things. Thank you to the staff and team. You guys were the best.

By Nestor S R D

Feb 25, 2021

I really loved this course, because I've learn too much, I've learn the difference between many words that I even don't knew, I've improve my english pronunciation and I always be thankful with Coursera and UCI, you all are really great Teachers and plattform.

By Md H R

Jan 23, 2021

I am really happy to have completed this course successfully, Many thanks to the coursera authorities and the creators of the course who worked tirelessly to create this course. Through this painstaking course was able to learn American English Pronunciation,

By Miriam L

Dec 18, 2020

During this course I learned the difference between the consonants ends and consonants clusters pronunciation. It will help me to improve my listened, because I read and write better than I can speak and listen. I will keep practicing, Thank you.

By ALEJANDRA T

Jul 18, 2022

I highly recommended this course!! This course helped me identify and understand my pronunciation flaws and provided me with guides and tools to overcome my pronunciation issues. I loved the videos, easy to understand. I love this course!

By Prof I

Nov 8, 2020

Thank you for this course that is well structured, interesting and helpful! I also thank all the instructors for their professionalism I highly recommend this course to everyone who wants to improve their American English pronunciation.

By Vanessa R

Apr 16, 2021

I had never taken a course to learn English pronunciation, only grammar, vocabulary, and other skills. Therefore this course has helped me improve my pronunciation as well as my understanding of native American English speakers.

By Mohamed S E M

Nov 9, 2022

This course will be your fisrt step in your American pronounciation journey. you'll learn new techniques like shadowing which will help you to imitate Native English speaker.

So i wanna say thank you UCI for this great course

By Cesar S

Jan 2, 2021

This course is the best, especially for non-native speakers. However the diagrams of pronunciation can be a little confusing, I think you should use colors to differentiate the position of the tongue, and the mouth.

By Amitpal K

Jul 4, 2021

wonderful experience ,excellent course which is must for teachers to broaden their horizon .Aboveall lectures delivered by teachers are marvellous. Practice and assignments help to prefect our pronunciation.

By Jorge L V P

Feb 5, 2023

This course is very helpful. I've been studying English for a while but I've never paid attention to pronunciation. Now I have a much better overall understanding of spoken English.

By MUHAMED E

Aug 10, 2021

Correct pronunciation of American English good listening

I am very grateful for taking part in this course And of course, I thank all the teachers for their interesting explanations

By Victor N

Aug 22, 2022

I would love to express my gratitude to all instructors and support, and my fellow students in the course. This experience is precious to me. Many thanks! Wish You all the best!

By Joseline D H

Oct 7, 2022

excellente lo que no aprendi en años lo aprendi en algunass horas ,muy buena la tecnica de enseñanza ,definitivamente mi pronunciacion de ahora en adelante sera diferente.

By Raina D

Jan 15, 2022

I really enjoyed the course. It was very easy to follow through the entire time. The instructors, teachers were very elabrorate and descriptive about the lessons.

By thiago b d a

Aug 19, 2021

I think this course is very useful for all that wish learning about sounds or learnig about sounds of consonants in (on?) words . i am very happy with my results.

By Wender R d S

Jun 12, 2022

The course offers a unique opportunity to focus on American English pronunciation. The teachers are very didactic and provide an integrated learning experience.

By Priscila G V T

Jun 25, 2021

Excellent course. It helped me understand grammar and phonetics. And by "shadowing a conversation" lets you know how you are doing it according to the criteria.