Chevron Left
Back to Consonants of American English Pronunciation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Consonants of American English Pronunciation by University of California, Irvine

4.8
stars
662 ratings

About the Course

In this first course of The Pronunciation of American English specialization, you will learn and practice all of the consonant sounds of American English, including some pairs of consonants that are especially tricky. Each week you will receive practical advice from successful English learners and practice an effective technique called shadowing to improve your pronunciation of consonant sounds. You will also have opportunities to record yourself and to respond to the recordings of other learners. Only learners who pay for the course will be able to take the graded quizzes or submit assignments for feedback. The free version provides access to the lectures and practice activities only....

Top reviews

RP

Dec 8, 2020

I enjoyed the class very much! It has given me extensive review of consonant sounds of English and challenged me to hone my fluency through shadowing exercises. Thank you so much Professors!

JD

Jan 19, 2021

The course strengthen the pronunciation skills that is a good start prior getting in the USA.

Congratulations to have professionals Instructors on board.

Cheers,

John Paco Dradria

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 245 Reviews for Consonants of American English Pronunciation

By ISMAIL C T

Dec 3, 2021

I am really grateful for this experience. Especially, Miss Meg Parker for her clear instructions and Miss Marla Yoshida and Helen Nam for their fun practices.

By Shahzad A

Mar 9, 2023

The Instructor At UCI Is very Amazing , They Did a Great Job Teaching me English Pronunciation to very great detail. Thanks Cousera for this Amazing Course.

By Sudheendran M

Dec 25, 2022

Excellent and activity oriented as we had to record the conversation and upload. Plus lots of quizzes ensured conceptual clarity. Thank you UCI and Coursera.

By Katia V P

Aug 24, 2020

A very helpful course, especially because my native language (spanish) don't have a lot of this consonants or we pronounce these a little bit different.

By Sonia L T

Dec 5, 2020

I liked the course. I think is really complete including tips for English learns, visuals for the position of the mouth and tests to score your skills.

By Carolina M B E

Aug 19, 2020

This course is amazing. Everyone who wants to learn English needs take this course. Excellent. Congrats to the teachers and to the people who make it.

By Yasmine A

Sep 22, 2021

It's a really useful course I learn more and more from it . How I can improve my pronunciation in English and be understood by another native speaker

By Olivia P

Nov 17, 2021

Un muy buen curso verdaderamente me ha ayudado a mejorar mi pronunciación y con todos los tips que nos dieron podré hablarlo de forma mas fluida.

By Juan D R

Sep 6, 2021

Excellent! I have learned a lot and my pronunciation have improved so much that I sound almost like another person now haha Thank you so much.

By Courtney T

Oct 11, 2021

Excellent. I recommend it for anyone wanting to improve their American English pronunciation. I am recommending it to my ESL students.

By Andrés M

Jun 30, 2020

I am a TEFL/TESL teacher, and I am very glad with all the material provided on this course. It is clear and can help so many learners.

By Leandro R Z S

Oct 26, 2020

Very good course ! I learned so much types of consonants and ways to pronounce , it help you with speaking as well as listening.

By Meet M

May 5, 2022

First, I would thank my teachers and Coursera, who contributed to my life with milestones and helped me a lot with the course.

By Phung N

Nov 3, 2022

It's a worthy course. Thanks to the course for the first time I really listen "14" or "40" clearly and so many other things

By Gelyn d G

Oct 31, 2020

I love this course. It helps me better understand and pronounced the different sounds of the american english pronunciation.

By Sharim Y V P

Aug 4, 2020

Well structured. It provides useful and interesting information that can be applied by ESL teachers around the world. 10/10

By Manuel

Aug 7, 2022

The course helped me correct many issues with my pronunciation, as well as identify some I was not aware of! Thank you!

By Isabel S

Apr 11, 2022

i really liked this course. Thaugh me many special tips for to be more fluently in my communication with other people

By Karina S

May 27, 2021

Muy bueno, lo recomiendo. Dinámico, didáctico, práctico. Integra contenidos claves para mejorar tu pronunciación.

By Maryna V

Apr 10, 2021

Thank the teachers for this course. The videos were short and clear. Tips was helpful. Studying was interesting.

By lois m

Mar 17, 2021

Very good course with lots of examples and practise exercises. Thank you teachers, I really enjoyed this course!

By Raisa D

Apr 11, 2021

Es una herramienta excelente para mejorar el ingles. Me gustaria que hubieran muchos mas cursos de pronunciacon

By Rafaela M d S

Oct 17, 2020

É um curso muito bom. Aprendi muito ! Fiquei surpresa com os diferentes tipos de sons das vogais em inglês.

By Andrea J S R

Oct 19, 2022

My English is B2 and this course helped me to know more about some sounds that we do not have in Spanish.

By Lívia C

May 17, 2021

This course helped me a lot, I could feel that my pronunciation skills are clearer and look natural now.