Chevron Left
Back to The Ancient Greeks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Ancient Greeks by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,895 ratings

About the Course

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

Top reviews

AS

Apr 22, 2018

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

GL

Oct 15, 2015

Well presented, wonderful insight into the world of the ancient Greeks. I learnt a lot, and it has whetted my appetite for more. I really loved this course, and enjoyed it very much indeed

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 549 Reviews for The Ancient Greeks

By Desfossez

Apr 9, 2018

The ton of the professor is a bit monotonous, but the facts are interesting and we were able to discover a part of history that is quite unknown to most people

By Kaitlin H

Sep 1, 2017

I loved the information and the structure of the course. The supplemental readings were fantastic. I wish there was more content to this course.

By Claudia K

Aug 10, 2016

Great course, but the quizzes are not quite there yet. They focus too much on minor details and the questions are sometimes awkwardly phrased.

By Nevena D

Dec 6, 2015

I enjoyed this course. It was very interesting, the teacher explained each topic well. A very informative journey through the Ancient Greece.

By Robin W

Jan 27, 2019

Manche Kursmaterialien (Links) sind nicht mehr verfügbar und sollten aktualisiert werden. Ansonsten war der Kurs spannend und lehrreich.

By Murena S

Aug 23, 2017

Fue un curso estupendo, fue largo y todavía quedaron muchas cuestiones por abordar, entiendo que el tema es muy extenso. Felicidades.

By Richard T

Sep 22, 2017

Good teacher, great range of topics, great reading. Only problem was that allot of the external links didn't work and sometimes.

By Fabian F

Dec 28, 2017

Excellent content, but - in my opinion - too much additional reading as it took up a lot of time to get through the literature.

By kouassi n c

Sep 20, 2017

le cours était instructif et enrichissant dommage qu'il n'y ait pas de sous-titres en français sinon il n'y a rien à redire

By Caelyn M

May 28, 2017

Good course, lectures dragged a little; but really coherent picture of Greek history. I felt like I learned a great deal.

By Ghadeer N

May 1, 2020

This was such a good course. The material was rich and the instructor was very informative! I enjoyed and learned a lot.

By Jose A M

May 30, 2018

One of the more challenging and wonderfully thorough Cousera courses that I've taken. I truly enjoyed it. Well done!

By Angel G

Aug 18, 2022

Good course and I appreciate the work done in relation to the subtitles in Spanish that has made my task easier

By Margreta V d L

Apr 9, 2019

I enjoyed the course. I studied Ancient Greece in high school so the course brought back some memories.

By Frederick L V

Jan 20, 2018

Excellent coverage of the rise and fall of Ancient Athens, particularly Pericles and Alcibiades details.

By David P

Oct 4, 2015

I knew nothing about ancient Greece before. Excellent course. Thanks. David Pearsall, Greenville NC

By Priscila P G d M

Nov 25, 2015

Um excelente panorama da história dos gregos com a indicação de boas leituras complementares.

By Kousay a

Oct 4, 2015

It is a great educational experience that opened the door to the ancient Greek history.

By Johann Q

Sep 5, 2015

The course is ok. But we need really less lectures and more application based courses.

By Daniel S

Apr 3, 2020

Very complete, but could use more multimedia resources to make it more enjoyable.

By Swaroop K

Jul 11, 2018

there could have been a couple of videos on gods and some of the mythic heroes

By Varun N

May 26, 2020

Course offers amazing insights into the lives and times of the ancient Greeks

By Wadah

Dec 27, 2020

I think it is an amazing start for those who wish to learn more about Greeks

By Luis M X d C

Aug 15, 2016

A good starting point to learn more about the "Ancient Greeks"