Chevron Left
Back to Conspiracy Planet

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Conspiracy Planet by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.4
stars
17 ratings

About the Course

This course is for anyone interested in conspiracy theories. Millions of people around the world believe in conspiracy theories like The Protocols of the Elders of Zion, or that AIDS was deliberately created by governments and pharmaceutical companies, or that on September 11, 2001, the World Trade Center complex was downed not by airplanes, but by a “controlled demolition” masterminded by the United States national security state. What are we to make of these claims? What do they say about our societies? How do they impact history, or reflect larger historical trends? How do we understand the context of these ideas? And how do we understand them in relation to objectively confirmed conspiracies, of which there are at least as many? How do we know when a conspiracy has really happened, and cannot simply be dismissed as a ‘theory’? We will grapple with these questions together through short videos, quizzes that will help you check your understanding of the material, discussion, and a final project in which you will create your own conspiracy theory....

Top reviews

Filter by:

1 - 8 of 8 Reviews for Conspiracy Planet

By Kathy C

Jan 1, 2023

Very interesting, fast-paced, light-hearted course! . The Professor and his videos were great, I highly recommend this course.

I didn't know anything about any conspiracy theories, until the pandemic changed everything. (Right now it's Jan 1, 2023, in the USA). Unfortunately, now it seems like a good idea to know some of the most prevalent and violent ones out there. :(

After taking this course, I'm not sure I feel better about the conspiracy theories circulating here in the USA! But I do strangely feel relieved that conspiracies have always attracted a certain audience, and have been around for a long time, and the world didn't end, so we might all be ok after all.

Peace, and hoping 2023 is better than 2022 for everyone!

By EK K

Mar 26, 2023

ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS! What a wild ride across the wave of conspiracies! Well done, thorough and told with a bit of snap. The professor is a delight. Wish he would teach another one!

NOT JUST THIS COURSE, HOWEVER: All Coursera courses I have ever taken have horrid transcription errors in spelling and grammar and often do not match what the instructor is discussing. Amy instructor interested in a better transcription need to reach out. Very poor transcribed material.

By Erica W

Mar 22, 2023

very fun class And really helps to learn how to sort through ral news and made up news.

By Greg H

Jun 16, 2022

very good thank you University of California, Santa Cruz and Matthew Lasar

By Kip B

Dec 17, 2022

Excellent content and presentation. Truly gifted professor. Would have given it 5 stars had he not been so liberal with his leftist views on the Palestinian issue

By Joseph G

Jan 20, 2023

Did much to clarify the national ambiguity caused by these heroic and tragic passages.

By Elaine H

Feb 9, 2022

interesting...i just took it for interest and it was definately different