Chevron Left
Back to Building Database Applications in PHP

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building Database Applications in PHP by University of Michigan

4.9
stars
848 ratings
186 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we'll look at the object oriented patterns available in PHP. You'll learn how to connect to a MySQL using the Portable Data Objects (PDO) library and issue SQL commands in the the PHP language. We'll also look at how PHP uses cookies and manages session data. You'll learn how PHP avoids double posting data, how flash messages are implemented, and how to use a session to log in users in web applications. We'll then build the first 'complete' application that has multiple screens to Create, Read, Update and Delete (CRUD) our data. This brings all the previous concepts together and will form the basis for all later web applications. It is assumed that learners have already taken the Building Web Applications course in this specialization....

Top reviews

AA
Jun 29, 2018

Awesome course, I think anyone who wants to do web app stuff should try this. Although it would a little difficult to go through the autograder, but believe me, It's worth it. Dedication is the key.

KA
Apr 29, 2020

The best online course I have done. Very thorough and possibly a little bit challenging for begginers. You have to put in some work and follow carefully. Very well made assignments. Thank you!

Filter by:

176 - 183 of 183 Reviews for Building Database Applications in PHP

By Vasani K d

Oct 28, 2020

nice course

By Alexander B

Jan 27, 2021

Charles is great and the course is too! Sometimes I feel that we're not being challenged enough; the code for the assignments is basically handed to us.

But the thing that really takes points off this course is the AUTOGRADER. Please to the kind staff, make that thing slightly smarter, at least not case-sensitive or, at the very least, be EXTREMELY specific about the names that the forms and so need to be called.

There are, at times, a few annoying discrepancies between the assignment descriptions and the actual assignment for the AUTOGRADER. The assignment descriptions are at times lacking in clarity (not code wise because that is easy enough if you pay attention to the lectures) and could use a re-write.

By Matt O

Feb 20, 2020

Good course. Don't do much with cookies after a lot of time spent discussing them. The project descriptions are not fantastically written and often unclear. With most assignments I spent the majority of the time addressing the foibles of the auto grader (e.g. Log in v. Log In) or rewinding big chunks of work due to the assignment description.

However, Dr. Chuck is a passionate, energetic, and easy going instructor. This in infectious and you really do develop a working bond with him through the courses. Left me with a good foundation on PHP for sure.

By Michael J

Apr 28, 2019

The assignments were very difficult and required a lot of outside resources to be used. If I had a question specific to an assignment I couldn't ask it in the discussion forums because no code is allowed in there. It took me probably 2 or 3 times longer than it should have been to completed this course.

On a positive note, Dr. Chuck is a great and passionate teacher.

By Ramy T K

Oct 2, 2019

there was something off in this course, the assignments was a bit confusing, assignments' requirements can be revised, simplified or both.

By Mili M

Jun 26, 2020

I'm not getting how to perform its lab. There should one video for that. moreover, after entering the correct id n password...I'm still getting an error

By Priyanka P

Jun 22, 2020

pleasei dont understand about assignment dont do assignment and your complax web side

say clearly assignment and topics .....

By Nasreddine G

Jul 15, 2020

There is a problem with the autograder I can't pass the first assignment, so I decide to stop this course