Chevron Left
Back to Database Design and Basic SQL in PostgreSQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Database Design and Basic SQL in PostgreSQL by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
180 ratings
34 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn more about the historical design of databases and the use of SQL in the PostgreSQL environment. Using SQL techniques and common commands (INSERT INTO, WHERE, ORDER BY, ON DELETE CASCADE, etc) will enable you to create tables, column types and define the schema of your data in PostgreSQL. You will learn about data modeling and how to represent one-to-many and many-to-many relationships in PostgreSQL. Students will do hands-on assignments creating tables, inserting data, designing data models, creating relational structures and inserting and querying relational data in tables....

Top reviews

OT
May 31, 2021

Dr. Chuck is the best! I was waiting for this course quite a long, since 2015. To be honest, I was expecting Sqlite for everyone, but this one even better! Come with working hours to Dubai!

RM
May 20, 2021

An awesome and great introductory course to SQL and PostgreSQL, this course had made all the complex and tedious task into fun and gamification thing.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 39 Reviews for Database Design and Basic SQL in PostgreSQL

By Cleydyr A

Apr 12, 2021

Chuck is a very experienced teacher and his explanations are clear and he seems to really be passionate about what he's doing. That passion is contagious and the learner is likely to be eager to learn as well. The video classes are very illustrative and the pace is perfect for me. The quizzes always have to do with material covered in the classes and the exercises are as hands-on as it can be with PostgreSQL. That should be a good benchmark to what a MOOC and an instructor can be. Congratulations to Chuck and the University of Michigan.

By Alexander T

Jun 1, 2021

Dr. Chuck is the best! I was waiting for this course quite a long, since 2015. To be honest, I was expecting Sqlite for everyone, but this one even better! Come with working hours to Dubai!

By Raj G M

May 21, 2021

An awesome and great introductory course to SQL and PostgreSQL, this course had made all the complex and tedious task into fun and gamification thing.

By Shashwat D

Jul 6, 2021

Excellent course by Chuck Severance Sir

By Glenn

May 8, 2021

Great learning. I only gave 4 stars because I feel the queries could have been introduced more gently. I had no issues as I already have some experience with SQL, but I can see how someone who comes into this course with zero knowledge of how to write SQL queries could struggle.

By Jonathan L

May 31, 2021

Really great course in understanding SQL and Relational Databases in the abstract. Charles Severence goes into detail about the history of Relational Databases and why and how they are used, and provides lots of knowledge around using the tools and best practices for them. Highly recommend along with his course Python for Everybody - which also touches on SQL (using SQLite).

By Mahdee M K

May 19, 2021

If you have done the python for everybody specialization, this course would be very easy for you. One to many relations, many to many relations, CRUD concepts were already taught there. I felt like I am watching the same video. Assignments were easy, so recommending this course.

By John C F

May 31, 2021

This course is diffidently a 5 star, Dr. Chuck will explain the concept behind it. From the Quiz and Autograded assignment will challenge you on what you learn in this course. The references will also be given from pdf files to sample code.

By Gabriele N

Jun 5, 2021

A wonderful introduction to PostreSQL and, more in general, to the beauty of SQL! Thank you so much Dr Chuck for another great course: new technologies and learning challenges become easy and even funny having you as professor.

By Mark S

Jul 16, 2021

Good introductory course. Feel like just starting to get interesting when completed though and now looking for next level course - hopefully Coursera has the next course mentioned by Dr Chuck at the end of this one.

By Shreya K

Jun 20, 2021

The course is well paced and the assignments are easy to follow. Help is available in the forums whenever needed. an overall great experience. Thank you, Prof. Severance, Michigan University and Coursera!

By SADIQ T

Aug 2, 2021

Unfortunately I don't have much time to learn and I am enrolled in other courses. I will work to finish this as soon as I finish the rest of the other courses

By Julieta F

Jul 31, 2021

Doctor Chuck was an amazing professor, explains very detail all the content. Thanks you so much. I recommend this course very much :)

By Petter N

Jun 16, 2021

This is amazing course. In my opinion, the content of course is very concise and I can remember the important things easily

By Javier E T

May 26, 2021

love it!!!! second time in my online learning experience in that i just did't got sleepy (LoL). The instructor is great.

By أحمد م ف م س

Apr 5, 2021

Excellent but I need more assignments with less details to practice and need more question to grasp the idea.

By Cheng Y W

Jul 7, 2021

Great course, interesting content, and helpful assignments! Glad to come back to Dr. Chuck's class.

By A P

Jul 20, 2021

Great course and instructor. Great introductory course. Don't expect anything too deep

By vignaux

Mar 30, 2021

Great course about PostgreSQL. Thanks to dr. Chuck, always the top!

By leprecon73 l

Jun 2, 2021

Excellent course! Excellent lecturer. You gonna love it.

By Amit P

Jun 18, 2021

Fantastic introduction to database design and SQL.

By Shantanu A

May 30, 2021

great sir, i have brushed up my basics very well

By Tan Y Z

Apr 14, 2021

Really gained a lot of new insights. Love it!

By Fabio B S D R M

Jun 1, 2021

Very good Intro to SQL and PostgreSQL

By Ayush S

Apr 3, 2021

Great instructor and very informative