Chevron Left
Back to Discrete Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Discrete Optimization by The University of Melbourne

4.8
stars
584 ratings
136 reviews

About the Course

Tired of solving Sudokus by hand? This class teaches you how to solve complex search problems with discrete optimization concepts and algorithms, including constraint programming, local search, and mixed-integer programming. Optimization technology is ubiquitous in our society. It schedules planes and their crews, coordinates the production of steel, and organizes the transportation of iron ore from the mines to the ports. Optimization clears the day-ahead and real-time markets to deliver electricity to millions of people. It organizes kidney exchanges and cancer treatments and helps scientists understand the fundamental fabric of life, control complex chemical reactions, and design drugs that may benefit billions of individuals. This class is an introduction to discrete optimization and exposes students to some of the most fundamental concepts and algorithms in the field. It covers constraint programming, local search, and mixed-integer programming from their foundations to their applications for complex practical problems in areas such as scheduling, vehicle routing, supply-chain optimization, and resource allocation....

Top reviews

SK
May 29, 2019

Exceptional coverage of optimization fundamentals. Learning of practical applied methods. Real university level course, no water down "data science". Absolutely love it! Thank you professor Pascal.

JB
Jul 21, 2017

Great course, the teacher is very clear and often goes into sufficient depth for the student to understand concepts.\n\nAssignments are challenging and help understanding course content.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 131 Reviews for Discrete Optimization

By Tiago d O J

Jul 3, 2020

The best optimization courser I had.

By Shawn

Apr 13, 2020

excellent and amazing experience

By Adam K

Nov 20, 2016

Great course, enjoyed each hour.

By Josep d R

Nov 15, 2016

Really interesting and engaging

By Lê B C

Oct 2, 2018

useful for optimize researcher

By Meytal L

Nov 21, 2017

Great course! Very challenging

By 臧泽林

Aug 1, 2017

good, good, but some difficult

By Blas R M

Feb 10, 2021

Very interesting and useful

By Zibo C

Mar 9, 2021

Difficult but fulfilling!

By ANKUSH K

Apr 26, 2020

This course is very good

By Shinny H

Oct 16, 2016

Great course!! Love it!!

By Kamen P

Oct 18, 2017

greatest course ever

By Xushegndong

Apr 17, 2018

I love this course!

By Roberto p g j

Jul 29, 2017

Very good course.

By Анисимов М И

Apr 26, 2020

Nice hats though

By Serhat G

Jan 23, 2020

Extraordinary...

By Marcin K

Oct 9, 2017

superb !!!!!!!

By Priidik V

Aug 13, 2020

Pretty cool

By Yury G

Apr 30, 2017

Wonderful!

By Bjarki Þ H

May 19, 2020

Very good

By KALLURU B T R

Apr 11, 2021

good

By Jabez T W

Aug 31, 2020

The content was very useful and very well presented, but I thought I needed more help with the assignments. An indication of how long each program should run should also be made clear. My MIP programs took a few hours for each problem to solve.

By Cheyenne P

Apr 13, 2021

Really interesting course, it took a while to understand what I was doing as I'm new to coding. I'm glad I was able to solve the assignments. Really happy with outcome. Will be useful for personal projects I'm working on

By Yury K

Nov 12, 2019

Pascal is highly engaging lecturer. The course is superb, but is indeed advanced. Not very suitable as an intro to a topic (the way I tried to use it). Scraped through though, and rather proud of it :-)

By Baltasar B R

Jan 25, 2017

I've enjoyed a lot this challenging course. To get a 10 in all the assignments is very hard. But 7 is achievable.