Chevron Left
Back to Giving Helpful Feedback

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Giving Helpful Feedback by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
1,097 ratings
339 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches you the simple principles expert managers use to improve and motivate employee performance. You’ll never have to avoid telling an employee “the truth” again, because the seven techniques we teach will not make employees defensive or afraid. As a manager, or someone who would like to be a manager, you’ll also learn specifically what feedback is, how negative feedback is weighed more heavily than positive, and how positive feedback can super-charge behaviors such as creativity and teamwork. Giving feedback is a skill which develops over time. We give you a process you can use to improve your feedback skills and deliver it with confidence. You will find that there is a scientific basis for many of your observations and intuitions about feedback—such as, it is hard to give correctly, people don’t like it, and more. This will be reassuring as you learn how to overcome these difficulties. We hope you have a fantastic time becoming a better manager!...

Top reviews

NN
Apr 30, 2021

This course was short but very informative and very helpful for an aspiring leader like myself. It also helped me understand how to view or understand when I receive feedback. I highly recommend it!!

LL
Apr 18, 2021

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot from it. The content is well organised and focused on practical situations. I particularly enjoyed the bits of psychological research shared in the content.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 339 Reviews for Giving Helpful Feedback

By María d L L Z

Sep 3, 2020

Me encanto!!

By Johnny K

Jun 8, 2020

very helpful

By Supat B

Aug 6, 2019

Great course

By Ankur S

Jan 15, 2020

good course

By Suphanich S

Nov 21, 2019

Very useful

By Ailynn B

May 11, 2017

Very useful

By Natalia

May 10, 2021

Excelente!

By Sonia S

Aug 27, 2020

Excellente

By Valérie W

Jun 11, 2020

excellent!

By Naresh K

Apr 30, 2021

Stunning

By GALARZA F S

Mar 23, 2021

Exelente

By Abdallah M S

Jun 6, 2020

T

h

a

n

k

you

By Ayoyemi A

Apr 25, 2021

Awesome

By Gazi M S

Oct 16, 2020

Great!

By Dinesh G

May 26, 2021

Good

By Parandaman M

May 14, 2021

Good

By Kamlesh Y

Mar 8, 2021

NICE

By VINAY S

Oct 1, 2019

nice

By Deleted A

Nov 5, 2019

OK

By فاطمة ع ع ا

May 4, 2020

-

By Ursula L G B C

Jan 23, 2020

r

By Prawira H S

Sep 27, 2019

m

By Karen S

Apr 19, 2021

This is a very important subject & should be widely taught & brought into the education system so that we can learn this in school already & be set for life. It is well taught but the way it is presented here is only on a weekend seminar level & not a university class. This class needs to get up-graded adding assignements per week from easy to challanging situations so that one gets to practice since this subject needs practice so that one remembers what to do when under pressure & for the long-term. It needs reflective journaling entries that other students can read and give feed-back on. I don't want to be told go & get help from a coach after taking a university class. I expect that I can apply this rather well after taking a university class. Also the test questions should have the correct answers after the marking so that one can understand what is meant in this context since some of it could be also seen differently. Coursera has all of that set up for instructors to make use of. Please work this course over making use of all of these features. The e-mail that was sent out by the instructor after finishing this course has only 6 of the 7 skills listed. Skill 5 is missing. As a real university class it needs some literature references of this subject and of the mentioned research. I am sure that this senior instructor is fully capable of improving this class to a real university class.

By Md. M M C

Dec 22, 2020

A very important aspect of performance management is giving feedback, I re-learned a few things and came through new practices and concepts in some cases... However, I have the following improvement suggestions: 1. The lecture delivery could be better, lacked personal touch as clearly it was read from another sceen... 2. The quizzes should be designed in a more intellectually challenging manner more focusing on understanding of concepts... 3. If the answer is incorrect, the feedback should mention why the answer is incorrect and also hint what the right answer can be, as a point to think for the trainee... 4. The final test consisted of 35+ questions (so far I remember), which means failing this test would require a trainee to repeat the whole questionnaire as well... also, without the proper answer hints, it will be too difficult for him/her to understand what was wrong in his answer.

Nonetheless, I enjoyed doing the course and look forward to apply these techniques at work more frequently.

By Marta L

May 20, 2020

Thanks so much for this opportunity. It has been a great experience for me to learn about this topic. I believe it's really helpful to apply it not only in our working places, but in our daily live as well. The videos for the course are done in a very clear way, so you can follow them from the beginning until the end. For me it's just the right amount of material to be done while people are working. I would appreciate if you would post the reading materials so we all can benefit from them. Thanks again