Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Digital Marketing and E-commerce

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Digital Marketing and E-commerce by Google

4.8
stars
9,339 ratings

About the Course

This is the first of seven courses in the Google Digital Marketing & E-commerce Certificate, which will equip you with the skills you need to apply to entry-level roles in these fields. People who work in digital marketing and e-commerce help their organizations attract new customers, engage customers through various digital channels, and drive transactions like purchases and customer loyalty. In this course, you’ll explore entry-level jobs in digital marketing and e-commerce and identify the roles and functions that those jobs play within an organization. You’ll also learn about the marketing funnel and how it shapes the customer journey. Google employees who currently work in the field will guide you, providing hands-on activities and examples that simulate common digital marketing and e-commerce tasks, and helping you build your skills and prepare for the job. Learners who complete the seven courses in this program will be equipped to apply for entry-level jobs in digital marketing and e-commerce. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to do the following: - Define the fields of digital marketing and e-commerce - Describe the job responsibilities of an entry-level digital marketing coordinator and e-commerce analyst (and similar job titles) - Summarize how this program will help prepare you for a career in digital marketing and e-commerce - Identify the roles and functions that digital marketing and e-commerce play within an organization - Understand the customer journey and the function of journey maps - Explain the concept of a marketing funnel - Understand the elements and goals of a digital marketing and e-commerce strategy...

Top reviews

KA

Sep 28, 2022

This felt very useful as an overview/foundational course. The combination of different styles of learning (listening/reading/writing/quizzes) made the entire course feel less static and more engaging.

DM

Oct 23, 2022

Material was easy to follow, no issues loading content; the presenters first hand accounts and personal experiences as employees were relevant and engaging and I enjoy the idea of self-paced learning.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 2,470 Reviews for Foundations of Digital Marketing and E-commerce

By David C

May 6, 2022

Very well done course, and very educational. I'm excited to continue learning, and hopefully putting these new concepts into action in the next course.

By Kathaleen A

Sep 29, 2022

This felt very useful as an overview/foundational course. The combination of different styles of learning (listening/reading/writing/quizzes) made the entire course feel less static and more engaging.

By Jyoti R

Jul 18, 2022

Its really satisfing learning with google because they always try to makes you understand with detailed things examples and at the end they also try to help you to remember everything by recaps.

By DOLORES M

Oct 24, 2022

Material was easy to follow, no issues loading content; the presenters first hand accounts and personal experiences as employees were relevant and engaging and I enjoy the idea of self-paced learning.

By Utpal C D

Nov 8, 2022

I learned a lot about e-commerce business online and how to make it successful by digital marketing channels. Superb strategies to promote e-commerce businesses and increase their growth day by day.

By Dr. P S

Jul 27, 2022

Amazing course for the beginers who wants to pursue their career in Digital Marketing. The classes are engaging and the quizzes in between helps you to revise, also the trainers are great..

By Chami C

May 10, 2022

Exciting start to a long journey! This course was informative and well paced, and I appreciate the consideration for people with 0 experience and background knowledge.

By Sajida Z

Oct 16, 2022

Thank you for a great course. This has more than met my expectations. A wonderfully practical course - both personally and professionally and i learned so much about e- commerce and digital marketing.

By Thomas S

Jan 21, 2023

Very sleek and well organised intro to the world of Digital Marketing (and e-commerce).

Some concepts may already be known to some students, but this will work for anyone interested in the subject.

By Muhammad U

Aug 13, 2022

I great course that gives a detailed introdution to digital marketing and e-commerce to newbies without them losing their interest and also gives smooth, easy and detailed learning process.

By Kamalesh s

Jun 29, 2022

This basic course is the best in the industry, i have learned digital marketing in other platforms , but this is the best in basics. Going to Course 2!!! hoping for best!

By J N

Nov 11, 2022

Too repetitive and addresses the audience is if they've never been on the internet before. Surely, anyone taking a course on digital marketing has been on the internet. Why would you not develop a persona of a person who would take this course and create a course to match that persona ie someone with above average internet skills/knowledge.

It just keep repeating the same material over and over and then it will mention something more substantial and you'll expect to finally start learning something of substance - such as an example or instruction of how to utilize this technique - but no, it will just move on to the next subject (usually a repeat of an earlier subject)

This whole first part could have been a couple of hours instead of taking many hours.

The format is dreadful too; actors reading a script. There's no reason for a course to be read out by a person with no visual illustrations or examples of the material being read. What's the point of watching a video of text being read? Its like watching a UN summit.

The alternative to enduring the video is to read the text version but its not properly formatted with paragraphs or headlines - it's just a huge chunk of text which is cumbersome to read and keeps your eyes darting back and forth to find your spot. Theres no illustration, images, pictures or examples - nothing - just wall of text or video with script being read. Both suboptimal.

Also, it's unclear at the beginning how many courses are part of the program. It appears that its just one but then when you finish 1, it alerts you that you have 6 more. Each course is split into 4 weeks but you have no clue how long each will take. You're just going in blind with no sense of whether or not this course will take 6 weeks or 6 months. Its hard to plan or budget your time with zero indication of how long it takes.

It might look impressive on your CV/Resume to anyone who has no clue about digital marketing but anyone who knows this industry will be unimpressed. It won't get you hired and won't prepare you for doing any of the tasks, tricks and techniques it professes to impart. It teaches you 'about' this field but won't show you how to do it. It's a very superficial survey course that seem poorly constructed considering its such a specific niche.

By Qudsi H

Aug 17, 2022

Very slow, too much unnecessary talk and no practical examples nor drills. I was expecting to learn about tools, data collections techniques, how to promote an application.. and worse of all is the dedication of big part of the last part to finding a job and building confidence which serves nothing at all.

By Lia G

May 17, 2022

Wonderful instructor, key terms are simplified and explained, and a glossary is given also! Definitely recommend for anyone starting in the field.

By Raluca G

Jul 20, 2022

Very well organised and explained course. Recommended for anyone working in marketing or anyother field that wants to get in touch with digital marketing & e-comm concepts and terminology.

By Ankobia J

May 25, 2022

Dope! Easy to follow along, the practice tests, the moving between video and text...the Instructors were Great and presented extremely well and appeared engaged!

By ted s

May 28, 2022

It was a very good foundational course but one really needs to learn more advanced strategies after completing the intro course.

By Brian M

May 12, 2022

This course has something for everyone. It will fill in gaps that you may have in your marketing knowledge. For a beginner it will give you an arsenal to put to work. If you are new to e-comm this course will give you a competative advantage without getting robbed by some in the market who are not really looking out for your best interest.

By jack g

Aug 27, 2022

A very insightful lesson in E commerce and digital marketing. It provided me with the terms and tools I needed to understand what my businees or company needs to generate sales and keep customers.

By aditi G

Jun 20, 2022

thank you google for this course to know what is digital marketing , how it works , what are the definations to various tacts , various terms , types of marketing, marketing funnel and so much ...

By Bagambagye D

May 7, 2022

very Very informative and ideal for understanding basic principles

By Mila T

Jun 20, 2022

I'm really glad to have had the opportunity to take this course and start my career in Digital Marketing and E-Commerce. I've been indecisive as to what college degree I should pursue, and this course has strengthened my resolve to work in the Marketing/E-Commerce industry. This course has given me a better idea of how varied Digital Marketing and E-Commerce are, and which tasks I prefer (Social Media Marketing!)

Thank you, Google, for making this course! It was amazing :)

By Bhargav P

Jul 7, 2022

Couldn't have been possible without our instructor, and the google team working behind us. Before this course, I wasn't even aware of what does "Digital Marketing" mean. But now that I have this Google course pursued, I can definitely be able to highlight some ideas about all the related stuff easily.

By Rio E

Jun 8, 2022

It gives you a better understanding on how Digital Marketing works. Perfect overview that clearly defines the why's, what and how's of Digital Marketing. Best for those who are clueless in the digital marketing field, even for those who only have super basic knowledge.

By Kinou B

May 23, 2022

As a content creator this gave me a deeper insist into how marketing works and how i can use specific strategies to help me grow as a creator and help a business grow. I encourage other creators to try this course to help give them an edge in this ever growing field.