Chevron Left
Back to Game Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Game Theory by Stanford University

4.6
stars
4,584 ratings

About the Course

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind," game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Beyond what we call `games' in common language, such as chess, poker, soccer, etc., it includes the modeling of conflict among nations, political campaigns, competition among firms, and trading behavior in markets such as the NYSE. How could you begin to model keyword auctions, and peer to peer file-sharing networks, without accounting for the incentives of the people using them? The course will provide the basics: representing games and strategies, the extensive form (which computer scientists call game trees), Bayesian games (modeling things like auctions), repeated and stochastic games, and more. We'll include a variety of examples including classic games and a few applications. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-Syllabus.html There is also an advanced follow-up course to this one, for people already familiar with game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/gametheory2/ You can find an introductory video here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

RC

Invalid date

The course is generally good. The exercises however are not very well explained. Furthermore, it would be nice to have a pdf from the course in order to be able to study independently.

AB

Invalid date

I enjoyed learning about Game theory. The course syllabus was extremely interesting and pushed me to read and research more about Game theory. It has helped me a lot with my personal growth.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 918 Reviews for Game Theory

By Nicholas L

Mar 22, 2020

Great class to learn to basics of game theory and introduction into the more advanced concepts. Excellent professors!

By 吴一凡

May 10, 2022

This is really a good course for the person who's mother language is not English to study in a English environment!

By Saurav P

Jun 23, 2019

Awesome course that allows you to adjust the learning period as per your convenience. Very useful for busy scholars.

By Anderson T

Oct 2, 2016

Excellent course from top researchers of this field. Classes are concise and lecturers' teaching skills are strong.

By Anshak P

May 5, 2023

Great opportunity to learn from reverred professors. Indeed a very insightful course on Game Theory and strategies.

By Adriana

Aug 6, 2021

the majority of professors gave pretty clear and well-organized lectures. great course for broadening my horizons.

By Queenchiku N

Jul 3, 2020

I learned so much. It was very challenging and I will continue reviewing in depth of the various games. Thank you!

By Yuan C

Feb 23, 2019

It shows me what courses could look like for Graduate students. It is a very challenging and enriching experience.

By NIJDAT H

Nov 21, 2019

the content offered by coursera for Game theory is very imformative and helpful ,

5 stars for the course and quiz.

By taoism_wang

Aug 26, 2018

I like this course although it costs me a lot of extra time to digest what teachers taught in the course. Thanks.

By Deleted A

May 1, 2017

Lecturers are great. They really explain clearly what is it all about. The structure of the course is also great.

By Vlad 1

Oct 3, 2021

Even though it was recommended to me, I had no idea how useful this course would be for me. Thank you very much!

By Michael K

Sep 29, 2018

Excellent course. The instructors have designed a thoughtful course which should help anybody learn game theory.

By wuxiangting

May 29, 2017

Thanks for the excellent course. It is better to add more example in the reference materials to help understand.

By Gilles W

Jul 20, 2017

Great initiation course. I was totally ignorant before and now I feel I have a good understanding of the basis.

By Pablo P S

Jan 8, 2021

Excellent course, I would say it's a graduate level course covering the most important topics in game theory.

By Chenchen L

Jan 18, 2019

This course has helped me a lot and is my introductory course on game theory. I have benefited a lot from it.

By Siripong M

Oct 15, 2017

Very useful knowledge. Thank you for contribution from professors and future meaningful work to come. Cheers!

By Rishi V

Sep 25, 2022

Great course. Short and concise. Instructors were clear and provided good intuition for the subject matter.

By Dhrithi I

Jun 27, 2021

this course was very useful and understandable for someone who has no idea about Game Theory. Solid course!

By Aditya S

Mar 23, 2021

Only the audio sometimes so small and inconsistent. But, the other is awesome I really understand the study.

By Sharath K

Nov 15, 2018

In depth intro to Game Theory. Its gonna take some time and effort to fully comprehend and that is worth it.

By Mahdi F

May 27, 2023

It was great and educational for me. Thank you for the opportunity you have provided for everyone to learn.

By Emmanuel O

Jun 26, 2019

Great Course! Though it requires patience and constant study if you have no prior knowledge of Game Theory.

By Johnnie B

Jun 14, 2023

Probably the most challenging course for me as the concepts are practical but require applied mathematics.