Chevron Left
Back to Game Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Game Theory by Stanford University

4.6
stars
3,732 ratings
773 reviews

About the Course

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind," game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Beyond what we call `games' in common language, such as chess, poker, soccer, etc., it includes the modeling of conflict among nations, political campaigns, competition among firms, and trading behavior in markets such as the NYSE. How could you begin to model keyword auctions, and peer to peer file-sharing networks, without accounting for the incentives of the people using them? The course will provide the basics: representing games and strategies, the extensive form (which computer scientists call game trees), Bayesian games (modeling things like auctions), repeated and stochastic games, and more. We'll include a variety of examples including classic games and a few applications. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-Syllabus.html There is also an advanced follow-up course to this one, for people already familiar with game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/gametheory2/ You can find an introductory video here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

WY
May 16, 2017

Great ! Interesting and abound at the same time. Hope Professors will clarify the strategic utility function more clearly because it's hard for students with poor math basic(forget most><) right now!

AS
Jan 26, 2019

Excellent course for beginners. Problem sets are very creative. No more further resources needed. I found this course specially useful if the purpose is to apply Game Theory in other disciplines.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 759 Reviews for Game Theory

By Sarit A

Jul 10, 2017

Very coherent introduction to game theory. Examples used are really helpful in understanding various aspects of game theory.

By Zhenzhong X

Oct 30, 2016

Overall, it's pretty good. Some coursework are difficult, because they are quite different compare to those in the lectures

By chitrangda j

Mar 23, 2020

loved the course. great for beginners as well for advanced. would like to pursue in the same field. definitely recommended

By YINGUANG Z

Mar 16, 2019

Some lecturers just read through their ppts. Overall, it is an insightful intro course. Only simple math skills are used.

By Yash P

May 18, 2020

It was a very well played course, and it helped me learn and get the skill ready for a better use in the academic field.

By Khanh P L

Oct 8, 2017

nice introduction and easy to comprehend the very first definition of game theory. love games included in each session.

By Nick L

Mar 22, 2020

Great class to learn to basics of game theory and introduction into the more advanced concepts. Excellent professors!

By Saurav P

Jun 23, 2019

Awesome course that allows you to adjust the learning period as per your convenience. Very useful for busy scholars.

By Anderson T

Oct 2, 2016

Excellent course from top researchers of this field. Classes are concise and lecturers' teaching skills are strong.

By Adriana

Aug 6, 2021

the majority of professors gave pretty clear and well-organized lectures. great course for broadening my horizons.

By Queenchiku N

Jul 3, 2020

I learned so much. It was very challenging and I will continue reviewing in depth of the various games. Thank you!

By Yuan C

Feb 23, 2019

It shows me what courses could look like for Graduate students. It is a very challenging and enriching experience.

By NIJDAT H

Nov 21, 2019

the content offered by coursera for Game theory is very imformative and helpful ,

5 stars for the course and quiz.

By taoism_wang

Aug 26, 2018

I like this course although it costs me a lot of extra time to digest what teachers taught in the course. Thanks.

By Deleted A

May 1, 2017

Lecturers are great. They really explain clearly what is it all about. The structure of the course is also great.

By Vlad 1

Oct 3, 2021

Even though it was recommended to me, I had no idea how useful this course would be for me. Thank you very much!

By Michael K

Sep 29, 2018

Excellent course. The instructors have designed a thoughtful course which should help anybody learn game theory.

By wuxiangting

May 29, 2017

Thanks for the excellent course. It is better to add more example in the reference materials to help understand.

By Gilles W

Jul 20, 2017

Great initiation course. I was totally ignorant before and now I feel I have a good understanding of the basis.

By Pablo P S

Jan 8, 2021

Excellent course, I would say it's a graduate level course covering the most important topics in game theory.

By Chenchen L

Jan 18, 2019

This course has helped me a lot and is my introductory course on game theory. I have benefited a lot from it.

By Siripong M

Oct 15, 2017

Very useful knowledge. Thank you for contribution from professors and future meaningful work to come. Cheers!

By Dhrithi I

Jun 27, 2021

t​his course was very useful and understandable for someone who has no idea about Game Theory. Solid course!

By Aditya S

Mar 23, 2021

Only the audio sometimes so small and inconsistent. But, the other is awesome I really understand the study.