Chevron Left
Back to Game Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Game Theory by Stanford University

4.6
stars
4,576 ratings

About the Course

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind," game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Beyond what we call `games' in common language, such as chess, poker, soccer, etc., it includes the modeling of conflict among nations, political campaigns, competition among firms, and trading behavior in markets such as the NYSE. How could you begin to model keyword auctions, and peer to peer file-sharing networks, without accounting for the incentives of the people using them? The course will provide the basics: representing games and strategies, the extensive form (which computer scientists call game trees), Bayesian games (modeling things like auctions), repeated and stochastic games, and more. We'll include a variety of examples including classic games and a few applications. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-Syllabus.html There is also an advanced follow-up course to this one, for people already familiar with game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/gametheory2/ You can find an introductory video here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

SC

Invalid date

I would have preferred a more mathematically rigorous treatment of the subject. Nevertheless, this was a great course — the instructors expounded all concepts with exceptional clarity and engagement.

RC

Invalid date

The course is generally good. The exercises however are not very well explained. Furthermore, it would be nice to have a pdf from the course in order to be able to study independently.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 917 Reviews for Game Theory

By Tobin H

Apr 4, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed the course, and I learnt alot. My only caveat is that I am a historian, so I would benefit from more explanations of the mathematical logic behind some questions. It would be most helpful if all the correct answers and explanations are available, once I have passed the course, as there is no longer an incentive to take old quizzes.

By Korsakov P

Nov 9, 2018

I've found it extremely useful IRL, I really mean it: now I'm the best strategy table games player among my friends; girls, tremble before my mighty "The fastest arm in Moscow" dice.

Jokes off: I'm excited that such unexpectable at the first view thing as human game was shifted from the "Mystery box" to the shelf with solved puzzles and Rubick's cubes.

By Om A

Nov 15, 2022

this was an amazing course. i started off with just a prisoner's dilemma in my head as whole game theory as suggested by our lecturer in the college. but now I know much much more than that. now i'm able to apply this knowledge in my general surroudings , and can think systematically that why one decision had been made in certain circumstances.

By Maziyar T A

Apr 2, 2022

The course isrealy brilliant and well-designed, lecturers are great, you can feel the quality of teaching. You learn a lot doing the practice exercises and assignments, they are a part of learning which deepen your understanding of the topic. I highly recommand it to whoever needs to learn about Game theory without any prior knowledge.

By Abi A G

Jun 10, 2021

A fantastic course that helps you conceptualize the core concepts of games and decisions perfectly. Even for anyone who is looking to not delve deep into the derivations and mathematical notations of games, you can easily go through the course and understand the concepts through the logic which the professors explain fabulously.

By Lion F P d S

May 31, 2017

This game theory introduction is really good to understand the mathematical basis of the Theory. Also, there is a second course, to expand the knowledge taken from here. Once doing this, you can even put in your curriculum, because it is from a really respectful university. I will study this field in mathematics, in the future.

By Matea G

Jun 28, 2017

Very informative, the professors explain the material in a very thorough, yet understandable way. The best introductory material to Game Theory I've seen so far. The book recommended was very helpful towards gaining the maximum knowledge out of the course. I would suggest everyone read it while keeping up with the lectures.

By M. C O

Jun 4, 2020

The content of this course is wide-ranging, clear and well-structured; hence I would definitely recommend it to my colleagues.

I would rate the performances of all professors as excellent; they have definitely made me quite easy, a first approach to Game Theory.

Thanks to the Stanford and congratulations on this course

By Shubham M

Sep 27, 2019

The course is great for people wishing to venture into the world of strategic decision making and provides a base for the same. Although the course is a bit mathematical, the ideas are fairly intuitive. I would recommend supplementing the course with Ben Polak's Yale open course as well as Martin J Osborne's textbook.

By Ning L

Sep 23, 2016

Great course for introduction. Actually, the course itself does NOT tell detail enough for fully understanding of Game Theory. Extra studies are needed, such as the reference book, the article mentioned in the first week and also Wikipedia.org. But the lecture is good enough for us to know what we should search for:)

By Albert W

Jan 26, 2017

This course is very recommended for people who tries to understand more about strategies and how we should react to a problem. It explains many kinds of problem we usually encounter in real life. Most of them are simplified but still gives us insight about the theory in giving our best response to the problems

By See W N

Jul 26, 2021

this course established by stanford uni and british culumbia uni is a whole new challenge to me as a not math person🤣lecturer provide the crucial point and the essential of each lesson to us, surely we have to do the further research by our own.Thanks for bringing me a new domain of possibility .❤️😁

By Vlad S

Apr 10, 2020

Dear Sirs,

Honestly, it has been a pleasure working with you, even though we have not met in person. I truly feel like I have learnt a lot about game theory in a short amount of time. Very good structure, very good teaching and very good overall quality. I sincerely thank you for the experience!

By Chetna B

Oct 16, 2018

Through this course, I have gained conceptual clarity regarding game theory. Its practical applications highlighted with the help of numerous examples make this course all the more interesting. I am now in a position to apply this sort of thinking and logic to real-life strategic interactions.

By August A J

Dec 3, 2016

Beware, if you're not mathematically inclined, this course will be a struggle. It is a great course with very valuable theory and practice. If you haven't taken a statistics course or able to take account of every variable, take this and keep track of your notes, rewatch videos, and have fun.

By Rajeev R

May 31, 2018

This course serves as a good introduction to game theory. However I would have liked for the exercises to be more challenging, by making them all multiple choice the quiz was a very easy. It would be good if the exam would be something where you need to solve the questions with explanation.

By zbh2047

Mar 20, 2019

This course is great, but I have some suggestions: I think the content is a little bit easy and it doesn't go deep into game theory but only provides some basic concepts and also the questions are all simple calculations. Thus the name of the course should be introduction to game theory.

By Stefano E

Dec 4, 2022

Good course overall for an introduction to game theory. Some lectures on computation techniques to work out Nash equilibrium are a bit void, in the sense that they list all algorithms (with a lot of fancy naming) but not usage whatsoever is ever done of them during the rest of course.

By Giovanni P B

Feb 4, 2017

Amazing course. Taking the same class at my university here in the U.S and this is way more in depth, better explained, and resourceful. I really like the concept of cooperation between universities as well to teach a class and provide students with the best professors in the subject.

By 김정민

Aug 9, 2019

It was very beneficial for me, one of Korean foreign languauge high school student. I used to listen to some videos such as game theory or strategy things. Now I find the best one I've ever heard. It was a bit hard for me but the professor explains them so nicely that I could underst

By Rafael C

Aug 6, 2021

Excellent content and clear explanations. I would have liked to see more examples explained by the professors, especially in the more complex parts like Bayesian and Cooperative Games, but for an in-general complicated course like Game Theory I find this online excellent. Thanks!

By Vipul V

May 14, 2020

It was an amazing course. I wanted to learn game theory since my undergrad but it was not offered in my college. I am glad that I could learn this beautiful subject from experts belonging to prestigious universities like Stanford University and The University of British Columbia.

By Lillian D N

Mar 16, 2021

Hard concepts but made really easy by the instructors. My background is in Engineering, but I was able to grasp the economic concepts easily. In addition, we were treated to a good demonstration of the practical application of these game theory concepts. A worthwhile 8 weeks!

By Anastasiya P

Dec 4, 2017

I am very grateful for this course and its positive influence on my learning. The only thing I'd add to the comments about the course is the list of maths skills necessary to read and understand all the formulae mentioned in the videos. Thank you for your work and commitment!

By Zouhir E m

May 14, 2024

It's not just games, it's a good way to try to understand and learn some basics and knowledge rules and acquire a lot of skills such as statistics, hypotheses, mathematics, problem solving and some algorithms, but many thanks for the explanations and high technical guidance