Chevron Left
Back to Game Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Game Theory by Stanford University

4.6
stars
4,584 ratings

About the Course

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind," game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Beyond what we call `games' in common language, such as chess, poker, soccer, etc., it includes the modeling of conflict among nations, political campaigns, competition among firms, and trading behavior in markets such as the NYSE. How could you begin to model keyword auctions, and peer to peer file-sharing networks, without accounting for the incentives of the people using them? The course will provide the basics: representing games and strategies, the extensive form (which computer scientists call game trees), Bayesian games (modeling things like auctions), repeated and stochastic games, and more. We'll include a variety of examples including classic games and a few applications. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-Syllabus.html There is also an advanced follow-up course to this one, for people already familiar with game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/gametheory2/ You can find an introductory video here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

RC

Invalid date

The course is generally good. The exercises however are not very well explained. Furthermore, it would be nice to have a pdf from the course in order to be able to study independently.

AB

Invalid date

I enjoyed learning about Game theory. The course syllabus was extremely interesting and pushed me to read and research more about Game theory. It has helped me a lot with my personal growth.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 918 Reviews for Game Theory

By Anindya T

Jun 12, 2017

This course is very informative and helps us in defining our normal logical understanding, reasoning and common sense in formal terms.

By Michael F

Feb 24, 2018

Excellent introductory course to game theory. The problem sets are well chosen and do a great job of reinforcing the concepts taught.

By Madhura J

Jun 6, 2020

Had a great time learning! Perfect way to deal with the lockdown. A big Thank You to all the professors for the wonderful content!!!

By YEDAVELLY S R

Jun 17, 2020

I am sponsored by Kommuri pratap Reddy Institute of Technology. Kindly issue certificate. I am Associate professor at this college.

By Aju A J

Nov 26, 2019

It was extremely insightful, and has gotten me interested in game theory and it's implications in real life and business scenarios.

By Karan C

Jul 11, 2017

Good Introduction to Game theory. Although a lot more is needed, this proves to be useful for understanding the jargon pretty well.

By Peter G

Nov 27, 2016

Very clear lectures and well-made quizzes. Contains a lot of different definitions, but I think that's how it must be. Recommended.

By 2K19/EE/184 P J

Mar 22, 2021

Amazing course. So informative and interesting, hands down one of the best courses on Coursera especially for Mathematics lovers.

By Haotian H

Oct 9, 2022

amazing course, instructors were all very thorough in explaining all the topics, and the quality is top-tier for a free course!

By Anshul V

Aug 21, 2020

It's an interesting course, really got an insight into what game theory is. Content is good and professors have done a great job

By Priyanjal J

May 3, 2020

Really nice course. It starts out simple but slowly and systematically gets tougher. The three instructors did a marvelous job.

By Anita P

Sep 28, 2019

Was an amazing class along with amazing professors and learnt a lot of new ways to understand and apply game theory concepts.

By Raghav A

Apr 4, 2020

Excellent Course, can be a bit difficult to follow at times, but an incredible opportunity to learn the basics of Game Theory

By Sukeerti K

Aug 14, 2017

The course is really worth pursuing. The concepts taught are general but interesting unlike other domains of microeconomics.

By Jc

Aug 10, 2017

at first it seems a little daunting, but the instructors used concrete examples and it became much easier. love this course.

By Sarit A

Jul 10, 2017

Very coherent introduction to game theory. Examples used are really helpful in understanding various aspects of game theory.

By Yuly K

Oct 26, 2022

Very in depth, a lot of tricky maths, but I learnt a lot and enjoyed the journey. I'll be studying my notes for a while :)

By Zhenzhong X

Oct 30, 2016

Overall, it's pretty good. Some coursework are difficult, because they are quite different compare to those in the lectures

By NICKSON M

Jul 3, 2022

I love the enormous examples annd detailed explainations in this course. Thanks to my the instructors and all contributors

By chitrangda j

Mar 23, 2020

loved the course. great for beginners as well for advanced. would like to pursue in the same field. definitely recommended

By YINGUANG Z

Mar 16, 2019

Some lecturers just read through their ppts. Overall, it is an insightful intro course. Only simple math skills are used.

By Michael W

Mar 3, 2022

Good and Interesting Insights as well as doable Exams, the mathematical background should be refreshed before starting.

By Yash P

May 18, 2020

It was a very well played course, and it helped me learn and get the skill ready for a better use in the academic field.

By Khanh P L

Oct 8, 2017

nice introduction and easy to comprehend the very first definition of game theory. love games included in each session.