Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution by Duke University

4.8
stars
1,553 ratings

About the Course

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

Perfectly designed course. Really interesting videos and tests that are actually fun to take part in. Highly recommended for everyone interested in Biology. Cheers Darwin and Wallace.

VL

Invalid date

I really enjoyed the classes and the supplemental materials available. I loved how the lessons were taught and explained by Dr. Mohamed Noor and I really enjoyed the content of the classes.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 407 Reviews for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

By Suryansh S

Feb 18, 2022

Such a great course, covering topics in depth only within such a short time span regarding complex topics such as genetic variation, evolution, natural selection, genetic drift and heterozygosity. Currently writting this review, I am a junior in highschool and have found this course both challenging and intriguing. Thank you, Dr Noor for putting so much time into this great online learning experience and I hope i am able to revisit this topic as an undergraduate in univeristy.

By Beatrice B

Dec 7, 2022

An essential course, very instructive to understand and assimilate the biology that surrounds us and of which we are an integral part, while we are at the heart of major environmental changes. This thanks to Professor Noor, an outstanding scientist and pedagogue who, with the help of concrete examples, exhaustive explanations, quizzes that help us to surpass ourselves, but also by diligently answering our questions, allows us to acquire this valuable knowledge.

By Dhanuka D

Sep 3, 2020

This is the best course I did up to now. I love it. My ambition is to become a genetic engineer and I hope this course is my first step. Professor Noor is one of the best teachers I had in my life. I'm a university student and some theories were hard for me to understand in the university lectures but Professor Noor explained all those things in a simpler way. Even though the evolution part was bit hard I enjoyed this course so much.. Thanks Professor Noor..

By Taim N

Feb 11, 2017

I have just finished this course. This course was a wonderful experience. I would strongly suggest this course to anyone who is interested in the field of evolution. There are many interesting topics that are discussed in this course which will increase your appreciation for evolution. The professor's explanation is excellent. He will keep you interested in the course. The only thing that is wrong about this course is that it didn't last longer.

By Sarthak N

Dec 3, 2019

Extremely insightful, the way he transitioned from the knowledge that I, as a high school senior am aware of, to ideas that I hadn't ever encountered before was extremely impressive. The instructor was charismatic and insightful. The quality of the course was commendable as well but it has to be noted that the audio quality was a bit off in a couple videos from weeks 1 and 2. Nevertheless, the course remained gripping and exciting throughout.

By DAVID A

May 21, 2022

Completing this course is an addition to my knowledge. Every effort and time I invested in this course is worthwhile. I love how Prof. Mohammed explained various concepts in genetics and linked them to health and diseases. The weekly quiz questions are not too easy, but they were able to make me revise the video lectures and supplemental materials more than once! Prof. Mohammed replies promptly on the discussion forum, and it is encouraging.

By Siddharth S

Jan 30, 2017

I absolutely enjoyed the course! The topics are well-explained and tie in together with each other, so you get a broad picture of genetics, speciation, evolution, and other concepts. The videos are backed with interesting supplemental material to read and ponder. Also, the lecturer is really interesting, not like most online courses where they simply read off notes. It's an informational and interactive course, and I highly recommend it!

By Zaneta P N N

Mar 23, 2016

Dr Noor's enthusiasm and relaxed teaching style makes even the more technical subject matter seem interesting. Although not always easy I have been compelled to keep pushing forward as I feel I am learning a great deal about myself and species around me. By far one of the best courses I have taken on this platform. I hope to continue studying the area of genetics as a result of this course. Thanks and keep up the good work!!!

By Vasfi İ

Nov 29, 2020

The course was perfect, and I can promise those who just enrolled, that you will not regret. As a medical student, I really had hard times to connect things to each other which almost led me to failing. But I can say that this course was the only thing I needed. I, now, can understand far better and it definitely increased my grades as I can see from the results, and I am sure ıt will also help me in my academic career.

By Yashaswi S

Jun 22, 2021

Absolutely brilliant course! It starts off by covering the basics of the subjects discussed and gradually progresses to advanced areas. Being a biology student and one who has always been interested in genetics and evolution, I frankly did not expect this course to enlighten me to such a high degree, and I was pleasantly surprised as that was the case. I simply cannot overstate the excellence of this course.

By Sikandar Q

Apr 19, 2020

A very interesting course that has taught me the basics of genetics and evolution and has given me a fair direction for carrying out research in future. Dr Mohammad Noor has a wonderful way of delivering the knowledge he has acquired through his research over the period of his brilliant academic career and I recommend this course to everyone who wishes to pursue a career in the research related to Genetics

By TAKHELLAMBAM M

Dec 5, 2021

Being someone who loves genetics, I really enjoyed this course. everything was explained by Sir Dr. Noor in an easy-to-understand way. The in-video questions and getting of new questions in retaking of assignments were quite helpful in checking myself how much I learnt. Importantly, I learnt a lot on evolution, for which I had a vague knowledge earlier. All Thanks to Dr. Noor for such a wonderful course.

By Maya Y

Aug 27, 2023

This course opened my eyes not only to the world of genetics and evolution, but also to what good instruction should be. The classes were engaging, built up topics one video at a time, and at times, were quite funny. This course also taught me a lot about myself; not only that I love genetics, but also that I have the ability of personal discipline, and I believe that it helped me to grow as a person.

By Piret V

Sep 6, 2020

Professor Noor is a great instructor and I really enjoyed the course! It gets into Genetics and Evolution on a deeper level and you should be ready to do some math! :D It was very interesting and I learned a lot. Can recommend to everyone who want some insight on this subject or for example don't know much about it and wonder if it is something they would like to study! Only positive feelings :)

By Hamid A

Jan 13, 2018

very interesting and full of knowledge course. I learn this course very much. and Dr. Muhammad Noor is a nice person and the way of teaching is very impressive. many of my concepts about genetics and evolution clear in this course within few weeks. I specially thankful to the coursera team which give this huge platform to the people who are the seekers of knowledge. thank you again team coursera

By Doğa D Ç

Dec 29, 2020

I found this course super fascinating and learned a lot from it. I believe, due to the pandemic, this is one of the safest ways you can spend time at home. Dr. Mohamed Noor has taught me a lot about Genetics. He is both a high profile researcher, a very gifted teacher. For anyone interested in the field of genetics, I highly recommend this course. I'm very pleased to have taken this course!

By black s

May 24, 2020

Very clear lectures requiring no background knowledge. Everything is super well explained. Now I'm able to read articles about related topics and understand them a little more. I wish the pace was a little faster but at the same time didn't want to skip ahead in case I would miss something cool. When professor Noor presents arguments supporting evolution, he can sound a little biased.

By Herman A

Apr 8, 2018

There are a lot of things to take away from this class, but what struck me the most was Dr. Noor himself. Certainly he is a role model to all his colleagues. His lecture style, slide and quiz designs all show hints of a pedagogic genius at work. He certainly makes learning easy, and I have learned a lot! I feel fully confident in my ability to delve deeper into evolution and genomics.

By Папышева А С

Jan 16, 2022

I can't believe I actually finished this course. It was quite a challenge for me as I've had basic knowledge in genetics and evolution before. But what I got here is indescribable! I can't thank you enough Duke University for giving me such an opportunity to take this course! And thank you Professor Mohamed Noor, you're the best! I loved all your explanations, examples and jokes!

By leslie l

Mar 1, 2016

Great course for all. I go into a coma when it comes to doing math. I hate it. I like science so was happy to find that this course explains concepts including the math in a clear concise and comprehensible fashion. And Dr Khan is a fun dude who conveys his love of the subject in a snappy interesting manner. I would like more courses in genetics that can do this.

By Ariel A

Mar 6, 2018

As of thus far (3 weeks into the course) the course is an excellent introduction to basic genetic and evolutionary processes. The videos are taught in a manner that is entertaining almost intuitive enough to be heard without watching the slides, sort of as a long audiobook. The quizzes are free and there is much supplementary material available for deeper diving

By Cenk T

Sep 8, 2021

An absolutely magnificent course! Dr. Noor's teaching technique helped me to understand the topics very well. He doesn't just read the information from slides, but he gives examples from real life and draws diagrams which boosts your enthusiasm for the course. It was an amazing introduction to the concepts of genetics and evolution. Thank you Dr. Noor.

By Arthur B

Apr 15, 2016

Provides information from basic laws of inheritance to understanding the field of Evolutionary biology and genome sequencing. Explained in a 'light and easy to understand' way! Not a course you can pass by knowing a few facts about the subjects. Tricky at times, which help you find out if you understood everything correctly. Would recommend to others!

By aishita m

Aug 5, 2020

Absolutely loved this course !! i learnt soo much and made me fall in love with evolution and genetics all over again. Very interesting , interactive , engaging , very well explained concepts and an amazing teacher! This was such a good learning experience . I thank everyone that made it possible for me to attend this fantastic course !!

By Mohnish S

May 6, 2020

I think this is one of the best online courses you would find related to genetics and evolution. It was a pleasure learning the basics and applications of genetics and evolution from Noor Sir. I got to explore so much and this study reconsolidated my basics. A big shout out to Dr Noor and the Coursera team for making my dreams come true.