Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution by Duke University

4.8
stars
1,553 ratings

About the Course

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

Perfectly designed course. Really interesting videos and tests that are actually fun to take part in. Highly recommended for everyone interested in Biology. Cheers Darwin and Wallace.

TN

Invalid date

Very good course that prepared me for Genetics at Pima Community College in Tucson. I am able to follow the lectures and actually understand what is being presented. I am glad I took this course.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 407 Reviews for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

By Tania G A

Jul 31, 2017

Wonderful course! Beautiful topic, but most importantly for this kind of teaching platforms, very very dynamic!. Dr. Noor really nailed it, he totally masters every subject of the course and puts in a easy-to-learn and motivational way. I would happily go over this course or any other given by Dr. Noor! Congratulations and thank so much!

By Martin S

Aug 8, 2016

Probably the best explained course I have ever taken in Coursera. Professor Noor makes the material easy to understand making it seem like it is a straight forward class. It is not until you try to explain to others what you have learned that you realize the material is complitaced. at making a science class simple and fun!!!

By JOYDIP M

Nov 9, 2020

Awesome Course. It is not only for beginners but university students with genetics background can also take up this course. I really enjoyed this course. Dr. Noor explained everything in an easy to understand language.

Few concepts taught in this course were according to the latest research. Highly recommended course.

By Samuel A

Aug 25, 2019

The teacher is amazing, and videos are short, easy to understand and overall fun to listen to and learn new things if you're really interested in genetics. I just finished my AP Biology class my junior year of high school and got A's both semesters and still felt there was a ton to be learned by taking this class.

By Aaradhya S

Aug 15, 2020

This is the most brilliant introductory and intermediate course on genetics and evolutionary biology it is brilliantly taught by Prof. Noor in a way that has a effect everlasting I recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning the concepts and ideas of the field rather than marks or certificate . thank you

By Ellaheh G

Jul 29, 2021

Dr. Noor was very informative and explained the concepts in a reasonable and easy to understand way. He provided supplemental material so I could expand my knowledge and understand more about genetics. This course inspired me to continue exploring and showed me how interesting this topic is. I highly recommend.

By Jingtian Z

Dec 26, 2020

Well, for me it's everything from scratch, I'm having fun in this course and for me, it was very hard at first, but easier towards the end. At first, I am failing, but toward the end, I am handling everything with genetics and evolution. I now kow that mutations are very often, how species evolute, and so on.

By AP

May 12, 2016

Dr. Noor is a gem. He shows enthusiasm both for his subject, and for teaching. I felt the course was well organized, and provided a good foundational understanding of genetics. Importantly, it was enjoyable. The forum moderators responded promptly, and their answers were well-informed. An excellent course.

By Asante T

Aug 14, 2020

It was Professor Mohammed Noor that really made this one for me. While the content was most certainly fascinating, it was also complex, at least for me. But Professor Noor's elegant explanations blended with down to earth humor made this course not only deeply informative, but fun and engaging also!

By Helena B

Jan 14, 2021

I started with very little knowledge of the field (high school was 20 years ago) but I was able to follow the lectures well. Prof. Noor explained everything clearly and made the lectures entertaining and engaging. This is not a field I work in, I just had an interest in and am very glad I found it.

By Anagi S K

May 29, 2020

This course provides a great overview touching every aspect of genetics and evolution. Prof. Noor is a skilled and friendly lecturer. His teaching methods made this educational journey enjoyable. As a medical student, I believe this course provided additional skills and qualifications to my career.

By Konstantinos L

Feb 9, 2020

An exceptional course. I loved every minute of it! Definitely everyone who's interested in Genetics and Evolution -and of course their interaction in understanding better life on Earth- should give it a try. A big thanks to Dr. Moor, an excellent professor. I'm going to miss his teaching.

By Geetanjali S

Sep 5, 2021

I am super happy to have been able to learn so much from this course. I did my masters in INTERNATIONAL COMMUNICATION but genetics was always something I knew i wanted to study. Grateful to have completed this course with an amazing understanding of how evolved we all actually are! l

By Philippos D

Jul 8, 2018

The best course i had in coursera!! I have learned so much and in an such enjoyable way. I recommend it to anyone looking for some insight into genetics and evolution ( even if it states that is an introduction in covers many topics which are introduced in a simple comprehesive way).

By abhishek k

Jun 16, 2020

My experience through course era is so good and knowledgeable. I am especially thankful to Mahmood Noor sir. his teaching way is so good and I feel he is a so grateful personality and I wish to will do further online courses on the course era in the future. Thanks a lot, course era.

By Saman K

Mar 20, 2024

Such An Amazing experience and so much to learn in 10 week course and tests . Thank you to the Duke University team and Mentors for such hard work, and for conveying us such strong concepts on genetics which is not only helpful for my academic career but also in my research work

By Tanya L J

Sep 12, 2019

This course is very interesting. Professor Noor has presented the lessons in a simple manner, which enhanced me to understand the main concepts very easily. The questions in the quiz is also very good which is mostly application level questions. I really enjoyed learning.

By Daria M

Nov 11, 2021

A very interesting course that will make your brain work hard. I took some tests for several weeks, but it was a very interesting experience. And I would like to thank Professor Noor for his very interesting lectures and presentation of the material. Thank you so much!

By Alma D

Feb 24, 2016

It's one of the hardest more joyful courses I have taken. I suffered so much with the so well designed exams, but that pushds me to study harder and read more. I enjoyed it very much and I think the better way to say THANKS to Dr. Noor is don't give up and keep trying.

By S M J

Oct 6, 2018

I have found the explanation in this course very intuitive and well suited for making me understand basic genetic topics that is very important for further complex studies of genetics. Really well put together and would highly recommend everyone to try the course.

By Karolina M

Dec 4, 2018

Such a good course. My background is ecology and nature conservation and i am trying to get more into phylogenetics. This course was a nice introduction and coherent summary of important topics tying together evolution and genetics as an intro to phylogenetics.

By JOY M

Aug 28, 2022

This course is one of the best course I have taken in coursera. Professor Noor is a great teacher ,he uses the simplest terms for explanations.

I enjoyed the course and will still continue to enjoy the course even though I have completed the course.

By Darlyn G

Jul 13, 2016

Although this class was challenging, Professor Noor's happy personality made going to virtual school fun! His quizzes are somewhat challenging but if you work at it enough you will pass the course. I look forward to any future classes he may have!

By #VIVIAN H X H

Apr 14, 2024

The professor is extremely clear and engaging during his presentations! It was very fun learning about different aspects about genetics, and it was also interesting to see the world in a Biology perspective. Thank you for your lessons, prof! :)

By Sylvain M

Nov 27, 2021

An excellent Mooc, the instructor is crystal clear and the homework provides just the good amount of challenge for someone who, like me, takes this course to improve his of her knowledge on the subject without considering majoring in biology.