Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution by Duke University

4.8
stars
1,221 ratings
314 reviews

About the Course

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

Top reviews

AT
May 28, 2020

I recommend this course for someone who is interested in learning of basics of population genetics and evolutionary processes. Prof. Noor is a very good teacher and I like his explanation of concepts.

YH
Jul 3, 2017

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 310 Reviews for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

By Sanchita S

Jul 10, 2020

Dr. Noor taught this course exceptionally well with properly explaining each topics with various examples.This course gave me insight into some new concepts as well and the quizzes were challenging making me understand the topics thoroughly.

By Zorimar V

Apr 29, 2020

A fantastic course for beginners! Prof. Noor explains evolutionary forces beautifully in a way that is easy to understand. You can tell that the course was put together carefully for students to understand complex concepts and enjoy learning.

By Aparna P

Jun 13, 2020

Just gone through few lectures..it is interesting..science is amazing always.Being a science background postgraduate student this topic is totally related to my field and is helping me in understanding genetics.Sir,you are a great teacher.

By Eirini-Maria P

Feb 15, 2021

The course is really informative. Professor Noor has done a great job organizing and teaching this course. He facilitates understanding of key complex concepts, even for those of us who have not been previously trained in this field.

By Zhengmao H

Jul 12, 2019

Besides just "knowledge", the course also focuses on the application of statistics and probabilities, as well as the humanilty aspect. Very well balanced! Highly recommended to people who already have some background in statistics.

By Maria E P M

Aug 12, 2018

I wish I had done this months earlier! I have spent a lot of time just trying to read and synthesize things on my own, but nothing beats a great lecturer that can just help you focus on the key things to understand and remember.

By Fabiano O

Jun 5, 2020

The course is excellent! I learned a lot about genetics and evolution. The tests are a little challenging, but it wouldn't be funny if they weren't. I am very happy to complete it! PS: I'm a biology student from Brazil

By Pranab M

Mar 6, 2019

Thank you for the course. If you are taking the course, it may be a good idea to take some notes during the lectures, and pay attention to the mathematical parts (which are not difficult at the college freshman level).

By Hannah D

Jun 17, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. As a complete beginner I was unsure how much I would be able to follow, but the videos were incredibly well-structured and explained really well in a clear and entertaining manner!

By Mohamed B

Feb 4, 2016

The course is fantastic and very smooth.

Professor Mohamed is very energetic, very enthusiastic and very knowledgeable of the course.

I loved every single thing about the course, best course i have ever taken (Y).

By Mikkel M

Feb 19, 2021

One of the best courses I've done. Great course planning, inspiring instructor, and interesting topic!!! Also, I loved that the forum was so active. Definitely recommend this course. It's as good as they come.

By Heer A

Jun 22, 2020

Amazing course. Despite being from a non-biological educational background, I was able to understand all concepts easily. It has been explained very clearly and in an interesting manner. I loved the course!

By Jenny M

May 5, 2016

The lecture materials are interesting and informative. And the quizzes require an understanding of the material. I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot about genetics and evolution. Thank you again.

By Clare H

Sep 13, 2017

Excellent course taught me exactly what I needed to know! The lecturer is fabulous, really engaging and entertaining, and clearly has a very in-depth knowledge of the subject material. Highly recommend!!

By Ambar N

Jun 27, 2020

My first completed course on Coursera. Dr. Noor was engaging and inspiring. I would highly recommend this course to anyone curious about Genetics and Evolution even if they have no background in Biology.

By Rohit S

Apr 26, 2020

Very good course so as to give an insight into the field. Personally, I do not have any relation with this field of science, I easily understood the concepts as taught by Prof. Mohammed Noor. Thank you!

By Yomna S

Aug 18, 2018

Dr. Mohamed Noor

I really appreciate your way of teaching, you're the reason why I loved Genetics . Thank you for every thing. I really recommend this course for every one, God bless you, Dr Mohamed

By Abidet R A

Aug 29, 2020

This course is amazing, it really helped me understand the core concepts of genetics and evolution.Dr. Noor presented them in an extremely clear, and easy way, hence, I totally recommend this!

By Frank F

Jun 28, 2021

First-class introduction to genetics and evolution. Dr. Noor's lectures were very clear and well organized. I especially liked that Dr. Noor was available for questions through the "Forum."

By Sophia A

Apr 23, 2018

Very helpful course on the introduction to genetics and evolution, with both general concepts and specialized terminology. I highly recommend it to anyone who's interested in this field!

By Eric H

Feb 24, 2016

If you are taking this course for a GT project, I recommend that you stop now. If you are taking this course for your own benefit (implying that they are not mutual), I rate it 5 stars.

By Shyam S

Jul 6, 2020

Perfectly designed course. Really interesting videos and tests that are actually fun to take part in. Highly recommended for everyone interested in Biology. Cheers Darwin and Wallace.

By Teresa R R

May 9, 2020

I loved it. It explained complex concepts in a way that was easily understandable. I also liked that it showed lots of real life examples of the concepts. The instructor was amazing.

By Manjunath H B

Jan 15, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. Prof Noor Mohamed is certainly an excellent teacher. I would like the Professor and the staff for the most enjoyable learning experience I have had.

By Matt B

Mar 28, 2019

Very thorough introduction to the subject. As someone who comes from a math background, the biological terms and theory were explained very well. Dr. Noor was an excellent teacher.