Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution by Duke University

4.8
stars
1,553 ratings

About the Course

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

Perfectly designed course. Really interesting videos and tests that are actually fun to take part in. Highly recommended for everyone interested in Biology. Cheers Darwin and Wallace.

TN

Invalid date

Very good course that prepared me for Genetics at Pima Community College in Tucson. I am able to follow the lectures and actually understand what is being presented. I am glad I took this course.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 407 Reviews for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

By Sanjay b

Jun 2, 2021

super course sir but i recommened to extend it to 11 weeks to 12 weeks. very useful course.very tough course. week 7 and week 10 mcq are veryvery tough.

By Vidya D

Jul 26, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed this course :)

Even though my major is computer science, there was a lot I learnt about which I can use during the pursuit of my major.

By Nur S B Y

Jun 9, 2020

Lecture are easily understood and the supplementary notes is also helpful for students to understand the lecture and answer the quiz with flying colours.

By Riddhi B

Jul 1, 2020

Thank you, Coursera and Prof Mohamed Noor for this amazing course. It gave me a deep knowledge of genetics and evolution. Thoroughly enjoyed the course.

By Nicla A C

Nov 17, 2017

Dr. Mohamed Noor is a fantastic teacher and with simplicity he was able to make me understand complex topics and discover the great wolrd of evolution.

By Manish G

Jun 20, 2017

A really interesting course on genetics and evolution. Clarifies the basic concepts and has thought provoking quizzes. Very well presented by Dr Noor.

By zhouli

May 17, 2020

Broad introduction with some specific detail introduction, I like especially the introduction to read many kind of figures, which are really helpful!

By LANG X

Feb 18, 2020

It's an useful course for me. As a non-professional student, it's easy for me to understand, at the same time, that improve my oral-english in a way.

By Nadia N A

Aug 12, 2020

Its more than I could Imagine, the course was rich and highly organized. Dr. Noor did a spectacular work. I enjoyed every lecture and learned more.

By Casey M

Mar 24, 2017

I totally adore this course! Every lecture is amazing. Many thanks to our brilliant professor for such interesting activities! I`m really enjoy it.

By Samonee R

Oct 15, 2020

This course is very interesting and well explained. I think the beginners must go through this course to enhance their knowledge about genetics.

By Xinyuan G

Jul 14, 2023

Very interesting concepts are introduced in quite plain English accessible to beginners. Plenty of examples from research and for exercise.

By Sebastian B

Sep 20, 2021

Excelente curso en donde se aprenden los conceptos de la evolución y genética. Clases entretenidas y muy bien explicadas. 100% Recomendado.

By Franklin K

Apr 3, 2020

It is fun. It is very informative. The professor is great. I enjoyed the lessons so much. And, it is really a college level course. Great!

By Juan L

Jan 9, 2023

The whole lectures are extremely understandable and intuitive. Finally got a clearer clue of basic concepts about genetics and evolution.

By Deepti S

Dec 7, 2020

This course was indeed very educational and inspiring for anyone who is interested in evolution and genetics, thank you so much coursera

By Anastasia

Mar 29, 2017

Prof. Noor rocks! This is really the best genetics course. Cool, challenging and super-exciting! I've completed it with great pleasure.

By Афанасьев И А

Sep 27, 2021

Fascinating course, provided me with the most valuable insight for the research of my own. Difficult enough, very well understandable.

By Michael M

Oct 6, 2017

An exceptionally interesting course, which is very knowledgeably presented, and with a huge deal of interest, warmth and engagement.

By M. C

Jan 26, 2018

I've learned a lot from this course! Each week can be handles well and the quizzes are actually pretty humorous sometimes. Awesome!

By chenyuanying

Dec 2, 2016

Very interesting, explain theory in simple language. It is really easy for someone who have no biological background to understand.

By Luying Q

May 20, 2020

thank you so much Dr. Noor, your lecture made genetics knowledge intersting and easy to accept, that's exactly what I want !!!!!!!

By Yara A

Jan 16, 2024

It was very useful and fruitful. I learned a lot and helped me understand many questions about the evolution of living organisms

By Babek S

Aug 28, 2023

This course was very helpful for learning evolution and genetics. Thank you Mohammed Noor for making this amazing course for us!

By Tamaiya A

Mar 6, 2017

The professor properly explains information and gives exceptional facts and sustainable facts to back up claims. Best class yet.