Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution by Duke University

4.8
stars
1,553 ratings

About the Course

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

Perfectly designed course. Really interesting videos and tests that are actually fun to take part in. Highly recommended for everyone interested in Biology. Cheers Darwin and Wallace.

VL

Invalid date

I really enjoyed the classes and the supplemental materials available. I loved how the lessons were taught and explained by Dr. Mohamed Noor and I really enjoyed the content of the classes.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 407 Reviews for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

By Roger P

Apr 22, 2020

This was a superb course and Prof Noor was brilliant in explaining complex material in an understandable way.

By yomna d

Jun 11, 2023

i liked the course so informative but its more about animal not too much stuff about humans like i hoped for

By Mateo Z P

Apr 30, 2022

Great overview of the genetics. Easy to understand and great explanations. Thanks Dr. Noor por this course!

By HyunJong K

Aug 11, 2020

The course is very thorough and instructive. I really enjoyed this course, and the professor is very nice!

By Avisha M

Jul 24, 2023

Course material was presented in a concise and easy to understand manner. I enjoyed the course very much.

By Edward J

Jan 29, 2021

This course is interesting and informative. Professor Noor does an excellent job of teaching this course.

By Chandrasekar R

Jun 23, 2020

A very detailed course. I loved Dr. Noor's way of explaining things to us. I feel like I've learnt a lot.

By Spiridonov A

Apr 12, 2020

Really enjoyed this course. So thought provoking, enlightening and even funny! Thank you Dr. Mohamed Noor

By Kaviya K

Sep 29, 2020

It was an wonderful opportunity for me to learn a lot in the field of genetics and evolution. Thank you

By Baker J M

Aug 16, 2021

Very awesome, the instructor explains things very carefully and slowly that anyone could unnderstand.

By Franz M

Aug 17, 2016

Great course. I had no biology background at all. I learnt a lot. Thank you for making this course.

By Kim H

Jun 11, 2018

This is really good course to understand the main point of Genetics and Evolution in a simple way.

By Keerthivasan A

Sep 2, 2020

Very good with practical approach...

Enjoyed lectures from Dr.Noor.

Regards,

Keerthivasan Anandaraj.

By Shun T

Dec 22, 2022

Amazing and informative! Inspired me to continue pursuing evolutionary biology for my Master's.

By Leah S

Dec 17, 2018

Thank you! I feel very prepared to take Introduction to Genetics next semester at my college.

By Ant W

Oct 13, 2017

Amazing, amazing, amazing course! Super clear and I've learned so much. Thank you Prof. Noor!

By David M T

Jul 20, 2020

Great Course! Great professor teaching beautifully diverse aspects of evolutionary genetics.

By Aushini D

Apr 5, 2020

Sir is very good. He explains everything un details. And his way of teaching is marvelous !

By Paula A B G

Dec 10, 2016

Dr. Noor makes the course and the topics unforgettable, amazing teacher and amazing content

By Mark C

Jun 16, 2024

Probably the best online course I have taken. Good pace and a nice spread of information.

By ZEESHAN A

Jul 2, 2020

The Best course of genetics and evolution .

Typical concepts explained in relatable way.

By Alon D

Sep 16, 2018

Dr. Noor is a gifted teacher, and the exciting topics are presented in an absorbing way.

By Lafni S

Oct 15, 2017

This course is fascinating! I have learned a lot from this. Thank you, Professor Noor!

By sagar g

Dec 27, 2020

One of the best course for students wishing to learn evolution on the basis of genetics

By sadra s

Nov 24, 2020

It Was Fantastic course that Was Very Amazing Information about Genetics and Evolution