Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for HSK 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for HSK 1 by Peking University

4.9
stars
1,722 ratings
548 reviews

About the Course

Nǐ hǎo! 你好!Welcome to Chinese for HSK Level 1 - a Chinese course for beginners. My name is YU Bin. I am very happy to meet you here! HSK stands for Hànyǔ (Chinese) Shuǐpíng (level) Kǎoshì (test), which is the most important Chinese proficiency test in use today. It assesses non-native Chinese speakers’ abilities in using Chinese in their daily, academic and professional lives. Chinese for HSK Level 1 is the first part of the 6 levels and assesses test takers’ abilities in the application of everyday Chinese. It is the counterpart of Level 1 of the Chinese Language Proficiency Scales for Speakers of Other Languages and the A1 Level of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. You will learn:  30 video lectures with dialogue role plays by PKU students;  More than 150 commonly used words;  Around 50 key grammar points;  New words and texts via audio;  Quizzes for each lesson and HSK test papers;  Videos for 70 basic Chinese characters (optional);  Supplementary materials about China (optional). In short, the course covers the four skills although only listening and reading are tested in HSK. At the end of the course, you will be able to understand and use simple Chinese phrases, meet basic needs for communication and possess the ability to further your Chinese language studies. Have a fantastic journey of Chinese learning. For more information about HSK please visit: http://english.hanban.org/node_7581.htm....

Top reviews

AG
Jan 4, 2019

finally an online course that delivers, great way to kickstart or reboot your chinese. the formula of the lesson is simple and easy to follow, a fantastic way to start, definitely moving on to HSK2

TR
May 22, 2019

Excellent course, Yu Bin explains the material very well and the content is well organised. I would have liked further explanations on the grammar and additional practice exercises beyond the quiz

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 540 Reviews for Chinese for HSK 1

By Sonya D

Jan 2, 2019

I found this course very useful. The way it is set up worked well for me. The only difficulty I had was that the videos and soundtracks were "too heavy" for my internet connection here in China.

By Muhamad A B A B

Jul 12, 2020

Thorough content as it covers a lot of basic topics.

However, the explanation video isn't loud enough - I need to adjust volume every time different videos played.

By Cindy J

May 15, 2020

Fantastic course to review the HSK 1 material and get started onto learning Chinese. Would love to see more culture notes though in future versions of the course!

By Ana I C

May 8, 2020

This course is best fit for beginners who know nothing about Chinese yet. It's also a great refresher course for students who already know a bit of Chinese.

By Emmanouil T C

Dec 2, 2016

Very nice and instructional. Some minor mistakes here and there (it had two lectures with the videos in the wrong order). Looking forward to the next ones.

By Eike R H

Nov 3, 2020

Guter Kurs für die Vorbereitung auf den HSK 1 Test, allerdings könnte er didaktisch etwas aufbereitet werden (Langsamere Dialoge, weniger Überforderung).

By David M L H

Jun 5, 2017

It follows the basic structure of teaching a foreign language, with the expected "My name is ...". The will help candidates memorise the key phrases.

By Cappy B

May 29, 2017

I signed up for this course because I'm going to visit China. It is a great class for people like me who have never studied Chinese before.

By Arjun S

Jun 21, 2020

Maybe the tests can be redone to make them less confusing? But good course overall, study the particles and vocab in between lessons!

By yvon l

Sep 10, 2020

Pretty good for beginners

There was work put behind the dialogues and the acting

Nice job from Peking U for this first course

By Fernando S

Oct 30, 2017

Is very good if you have a previous knowledge of chinese, if not, it will be very difficult to get the pronunciation.

By Nil

Nov 18, 2020

Great course, maybe too much information to asimilate each day. But, with a bit of effort you can pass it.

By Arifah A R

Jun 28, 2018

the instructor speaker word by word. It is easier for me to find the tone.

By Laura W

Feb 7, 2018

A well-organised course that provides good preparation for the HSK 1 exam.

By Angela Y S L

Sep 5, 2020

great course , they just need to improve the volumen of some videos

By Travis M

Mar 26, 2021

Accomplishes the goal of getting you to pass the HSK Level 1 exam

By Angeline I F O

Dec 28, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course in just 6 weeks. Amazing!

By Daniella M

Mar 4, 2019

Great learning for a beginner . Teacher is clear and helpful

By K S S d S

Feb 15, 2019

very good with a lot of practice embedded into the course

By Ricardo B

Jun 11, 2019

I would like if they insisted more in the writing part.

By Ankita S

Oct 19, 2020

Well planned course and teaches the basics of Chinese

By Sai K S

Jul 31, 2020

I am enjoy learning Chinese with you.

By Naomi C G

Feb 11, 2021

Great course and very useful ;)

By Azzah R A

Apr 1, 2020

Thank you, Coursera and Yu Bin!

By Ildar A

Aug 29, 2019

A very-well structured course